Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2017, 06:35 AM   #1
geraintluff
Human being with feelings
 
geraintluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: mostly inside my own head
Posts: 279
Default (resolved) JSFX: provide factory-presets (linked from effect)

EDIT - you can apparently already do this using matching filenames! (Justin's answer)

---------

I would really like to include "factory presets" in my JSFX effects. Without this, it's difficult to give new users a quick impression of what your effect/synth can do.

Currently, I provide separate RPL files which have to be downloaded/imported by hand - and I have already had one person get in a mess by importing RPLs into the wrong effect.

---------

I think the best way to do this is specify an RPL file in the effect header, to be loaded from the same directory as the JSFX source (in the same way as PNG files are), like:

Code:
desc:My Effect

slider1:5<0,10,1>slider description

presets:my-effect.rpl

@init
// etc.
These effects would not be modifiable by the user, they would only change if the RPL file were changed.

VSTs already have different groups of presets, and REAPER displays them like this:

Attached Images
File Type: jpg screenshot cropped.jpg (59.5 KB, 33 views)

Last edited by geraintluff; 06-09-2018 at 03:32 PM.
geraintluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 08:30 AM   #2
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,439
Default

Nice idea !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2018, 05:05 PM   #3
timbralzoom
Human being with feelings
 
timbralzoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Turkey/Istanbul
Posts: 1,603
Default

+1 nice idea!
timbralzoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 06:31 AM   #4
citizenkeith
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 652
Default

+1 This would be great for developers and users.
citizenkeith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 05:25 PM   #5
Obitheincredible
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 146
Default

+1 This would help make better use of JS effects in general. Many people don't know what a lot of these effects can do and it'd be awesome to create and include them with tons of JS effects.
__________________
ObiAudio.com
Obitheincredible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 05:59 PM   #6
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,800
Default

You can save the preset library with the name <jsfxname>.rpl, and it will be auto-imported by REAPER on plug-in load (no manual import necessary, just place it with the jsfx). The only place this is used in the stock install is remaincalm_org/paranoia_mangler.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 06:01 PM   #7
James HE
Human being with feelings
 
James HE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm in a barn
Posts: 4,414
Default

if you make a gui you can certainly already do this. You just have to serialize the values. I've done similar in the past... I'll dig something up.


easier than that... you can do it without making a GUI.

you just need to define tables of values for each preset in @init.

Create a slider for each preset. in the @block section you make code such that the parameters changes to whichever table of values is selected when the slider changes. You do need to serialize the values I believe so that the changes are saved when you reopen the project.

Last edited by James HE; 04-30-2018 at 06:32 PM.
James HE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 06:19 PM   #8
vdubreeze
Human being with feelings
 
vdubreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 1,522
Default

I always thought "why is it these JS programmers never put at least a few presets in?!"

And now I know : )
__________________
The reason rain dances work is because they don't stop dancing until it rains.
vdubreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 03:28 PM   #9
geraintluff
Human being with feelings
 
geraintluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: mostly inside my own head
Posts: 279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
You can save the preset library with the name <jsfxname>.rpl, and it will be auto-imported by REAPER on plug-in load (no manual import necessary, just place it with the jsfx). The only place this is used in the stock install is remaincalm_org/paranoia_mangler.
That's fantastic!

Thanks for letting me know about this - I've added presets to my bundle, and I think it makes such a difference.

Geraint

Last edited by geraintluff; 06-09-2018 at 03:46 PM.
geraintluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 07:51 AM   #10
citizenkeith
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 652
Default

This is great! Thanks Justin.

Two things:
1) I wish more JS developers used Reapack
2) That was an easy update, thanks to Reapack
citizenkeith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.