Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > MIDI Hardware, Control Surfaces, and OSC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2020, 07:19 PM   #9921
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,353
Default

You know...that reminds me of an issue I haven't seen in a while, but a few of us have run into weird issues here and there where a plugin would stop working with CSI after like the xth track. So like, you'd have a plugin and it would work on track 1, but by the time you got to track 29 that same plugin wouldn't work. I always suspected that CSI just stopped working if you threw too many VST parameters at it. Like a dodgy plugin with too many parameters would blow up CSI so FX in the project after it wouldn't work.

Just a random thought. Might be totally off-base. Definitely talking out my ass. Never could figure out the exact scenario that led to this when I did see it, so just a guess.

Here's what you could try:

1. MPL has an import session data script here: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=233358

2. Install that, figure out how to use it

3. Try to recreate the problematic project by importing it into an empty project a few tracks at a time

4. After each new set of tracks, insert Neutron. Does it work? If yes, go to the next set of tracks. Does it stop working after a certain point? If yes, what was going on right before it stopped working? Was it a plugin with a ton of VST parameters? Can you recreate the issue in other projects? Anything else sticking out?

Alternatively, you could try this...

1. Take that same project that's acting up and move the track with Neutron to Track #1 in Reaper

2. Save As - give it a new name

3. Close the project

4. Reopen the project

5. Open the Neutron instance in track 1. Does it work now? If yes, what other plugins are in the project?

Let OCD guide you. There's a mystery afoot here.
Funkybot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:15 AM   #9922
Cragster
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Quakertown PA USA
Posts: 445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot View Post
You know...that reminds me of an issue I haven't seen in a while, but a few of us have run into weird issues here and there where a plugin would stop working with CSI after like the xth track. So like, you'd have a plugin and it would work on track 1, but by the time you got to track 29 that same plugin wouldn't work. I always suspected that CSI just stopped working if you threw too many VST parameters at it. Like a dodgy plugin with too many parameters would blow up CSI so FX in the project after it wouldn't work.

Just a random thought. Might be totally off-base. Definitely talking out my ass. Never could figure out the exact scenario that led to this when I did see it, so just a guess.

Here's what you could try:

1. MPL has an import session data script here: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=233358

2. Install that, figure out how to use it

3. Try to recreate the problematic project by importing it into an empty project a few tracks at a time

4. After each new set of tracks, insert Neutron. Does it work? If yes, go to the next set of tracks. Does it stop working after a certain point? If yes, what was going on right before it stopped working? Was it a plugin with a ton of VST parameters? Can you recreate the issue in other projects? Anything else sticking out?

Alternatively, you could try this...

1. Take that same project that's acting up and move the track with Neutron to Track #1 in Reaper

2. Save As - give it a new name

3. Close the project

4. Reopen the project

5. Open the Neutron instance in track 1. Does it work now? If yes, what other plugins are in the project?

Let OCD guide you. There's a mystery afoot here.
Hey thanks again very much for all you guys help. That project im working on i was just starting to mix up so i dont really have a ton of plugins loaded yet. Pretty much just recorded tracks. A few instrment plugs. About 18 or 20 tracks. Not at my computer so cant remember exactly. Some volume automation on the vocal trks The first instance of Neutron was on track 3.had another around track 12ish.so theres not much there yet so it shouldnt be too much to trouble shoot. Ill get to work on it soon as i can. Thanks again you guys !!!! Let you know what i find
Cragster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:49 AM   #9923
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,749
Default

Issue report
v2020-05-05, Windows10, x64, Reaper 6.13 x64.
TrackSendMute only works for the non-automated send mute. It does not work on the automated track send mute.

I remember Klinke talking about track send volumes and automated track send volumes being a different thing he didn't support as the automated version didn't exist when he was writing his csurf plugin.

So, the track send mute command only works on the trim/read version, but not on the one controlled in read/latch/touch/write/latch-preview modes.

This is easy to reproduce. The track send mute command even works in Read mode when the send mute is automated, so it's the trim/read mute. The same exists for track volume actually.

Nothing records on the activated and armed envelope lane for the track send mute.

But track send volume works fine, handling both trim/read volumes and automated volumes .
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview - Faderport16CSI
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:28 AM   #9924
poetnprophet
Human being with feelings
 
poetnprophet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1,300
Default

track send automation breaks a lot of things. I stopped using it as soon as I learned (the hard way) that SWS Snapshots doesn't save that, which is I think the only thing it doesn't save as a snaptshot.
__________________
https://www.kdubbproductions.com/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpC...2dGA3qUWBKrXQQ
i7 8700k,4.9Ghz,Win10,Reaper 5,Motu 828es,MJE Hulk 990,GAP Pre73/EQ81
poetnprophet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.