Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2019, 02:05 PM   #1
K8ch
Human being with feelings
 
K8ch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 271
Default 2 Reaper problems (probably operator error)

Hi all,


There are 2 different problems I'm having, re: Reaper.
They're happening on 2 different computers.


Issue #!:

I believe I may have reduced the buffer size (or something like that) to allow me to hear less latency, as I record.
Well, maybe I didn't "undo" that properly because now, when I hit "play", it will play for a moment, then it sputters and freezes up.

What's going on??
I put the buffer back to 512, but it still crashes the same way.
(There are only 6 MIDI tracks. 2 effect sends and an arpeggiator...so, it's shouldn't b a CPU strain)




Issue #2:

I have Reaper on another machine...and when I hit "play"...it doesn't do anything.
It's a blank MIDI track, and the cursor doesn't even move.



Suggestions are welcome!
Thanks, in advance, for your advice!


Peace,

Keith
https://www.reverbnation.com/keithhaydon
__________________
K8ch
(aka Keith Haydon)
K8ch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 02:33 PM   #2
grinder
Human being with feelings
 
grinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,091
Default

Only thing I can suggest is
Do a reinstall of Reaper (over the top or uninstall the old and reinstall the new)
If that does not change anything uninstall and install an earlier version.
If you are on windows ten has it updated recently?

Grinder
grinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 03:06 PM   #3
K8ch
Human being with feelings
 
K8ch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 271
Default

Hi Grinder....


Well, I re-installed an earlier version and still, the cursor doesn't move, when I hit play.


I haven't used my music computer (having issue #1) in a couple of days.
I will try a r-install on that, too, of course as soon as I can.




Thanks!

Keith
__________________
K8ch
(aka Keith Haydon)
K8ch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 04:20 PM   #4
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8,268
Default

Reaper just sitting there unresponsive/frozen after hitting play (with play lit up in the transport but nothing moving) is usually a telltale that it's not talking to the selected audio interface. Investigate there.
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 04:30 PM   #5
grinder
Human being with feelings
 
grinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,091
Default

you have the right man on the job now Keith!

Grinder
grinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 04:48 PM   #6
K8ch
Human being with feelings
 
K8ch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 271
Default

Thanks for the suggestion however there is no interface attached to this computer.
__________________
K8ch
(aka Keith Haydon)
K8ch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.