Old 03-28-2021, 06:57 AM   #1
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 3,921
Default v6.26rc4 - March 28 2021

v6.26rc4 - March 28 2021
+ JSFX: fix various other compressors by adding deprecated blown capacitor modes
# ReaScript: fix GetSetProjectInfo_String("RENDER_TARGETS"), broken in rc3 (sigh)

v6.26rc3 - March 26 2021
+ JSFX: update 1175 compressor to fix overcompression, add deprecated blown capacitor modes for old behavior
# API: fix newly added ResolveRenderPattern returned string when multiple targets exist

v6.26rc2 - March 26 2021
+ API: add ResolveRenderPattern, to resolve a wildcard pattern into a list of target filenames
+ MIDI: suppress unnecessary prompt on importing MIDI files [t=251349]

v6.26rc1 - March 24 2021
+ Actions: action to insert or extend MIDI item does not skip existing looped MIDI items [t=250900]
+ Arrange: prevent possible overdraw with selected track cursor bracket and blinking cursor [t=250398]
+ Cursor: slightly subtler bracket on last selected track
+ Dither: use prvhash for rng/tpdf generation (courtesy Aleksey Vaneev)
+ Envelopes: fix editing automation item edge point using envelope point editor dialog
+ Glue: actions glue within razor edit areas if they exist
+ Glue: default glue action glues only within time selection if all selected items intersect the time selection
+ Glue: former default glue action still exists, custom actions and scripts that use it are unaffected
+ Glue: rename actions that respect time selection to "expanding to time selection if any" to reflect actual behavior
+ JSFX: add SRC gain correction mode (default) for guitar/amp-model and guitar/amp-model-dual
+ MIDI editor: fix issues when launching rename note action via enter key
+ MIDI editor: improve focus behavior when closing various text editing fields
+ Media items: adjust snap offset when copying selected part of media item [p=2417743]
+ Media items: preserve relative snap offset when copying media items [p=2410077]
+ Metadata: support displaying multiple iXML or xmp metadata keys in media source properties dialog [t=250356]
+ Metadata: support embedding images when rendering FLAC files
+ Mute automation: fix potential hang with empty automation item [t=250949]
+ Razor edit: action to crossfade items at time selection acts on razor edits if they exist
+ Razor edit: add action to move nearest razor edit edge to edit cursor
+ Razor edit: add mouse modifiers to remove from razor edit area
+ Razor edit: auto-scroll vertically when editing razor edit top/bottom edge
+ Razor edit: fix stretching automation items across tempo changes when razor edit area does not match automation item length [p=2418894]
+ Razor edit: mouse modifer to split items at razor edit edges selects media items and removes the razor edit area
+ Razor edit: respect preference to update video playback position when editing audio items [p=2417843]
+ Razor edit: update display after running action to enclose media items [t=250589]
+ ReaSurround (classic): update track channels only when increasing plugin speaker count, not when changing plugin input channel count or decreasing speaker count
+ ReaVerb: add new SRC-normalization mode which should be more consistent for some impulses and samplerate combinations [t=249454]
+ Region/Marker Manager: support exporting take markers, but not importing [t=250605]
+ Render dialog: add support for rendering razor edit areas
+ VST: improve bridged plug-in floating window behavior on macOS
+ VST: improve floating window behavior of bridged VST plug-ins
+ Video processors: fix preset name preservation behavior
+ Video processors: make preset list consistent with other FX types (user presets first)
+ Video processors: support preset navigation API [t=249961]
+ Video: do not warn when loading empty video processor preset [p=2411241]
+ macOS: add NSMicrophoneUsageDescription to improve audio input support on Big Sur
+ macOS: main window fullscreen button activates REAPER-native fullscreen rather than OS fullscreen
+ macOS: workaround Big Sur MIDISend() bug where 250 or more events at the same timestamp crashes
# JSFX: amp model/dual amp model fixes for large impulse responses, stereo bug
# ReaVerb: SRC-conversion scaling fix for some extreme impulses (e.g. 1,-1,0...)
# ReaVerb: increase threshold for impulse-resampling scaling

Full changelog / Latest pre-releases
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2021, 07:14 AM   #2
J Reverb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,071
Default

# ReaScript: fix GetSetProjectInfo_String("RENDER_TARGETS"), broken in rc3 (sigh)
OMG ! thank you
J Reverb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2021, 08:02 AM   #3
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 3,921
Default Razor Edit undo glue items

Quote:
v6.26rc1 - March 24 2021
+ Glue: actions glue within razor edit areas if they exist
Normally when I undo a Razor Edit it gets redrawn, but noticed when I used Glue items and undo the RE isn't automatically re-drawn.

Win10 x64
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2021, 11:21 AM   #4
JayJSE2
Human being with feelings
 
JayJSE2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 312
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
v6.26rc4 - March 28 2021
+ JSFX: fix various other compressors by adding deprecated blown capacitor modes
I realise this is a bit tangential, but while these js compressors are being looked at, any chance of (by default) adding GR meters to all of them? (express bus comp, major/master tom and fairly childish (stereo) are missing them)
JayJSE2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2021, 11:31 AM   #5
Stroudy
Human being with feelings
 
Stroudy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: London
Posts: 735
Default

Razor Edit: remove from razor edit area (a welcome feature)

Though, shouldn't the cursor reflect this with a minus symbol?

Also, the plus symbol on add to razor works over the current razor area, but shouldn't the plus symbol appear on razor edit cursors when actually drawing a razor edit

Stroudy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2021, 12:36 PM   #6
Zeno
Human being with feelings
 
Zeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: HH
Posts: 919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
v6.26rc4 - March 28 2021
+ JSFX: fix various other compressors by adding deprecated blown capacitor modes
Two things:
  1. Auto Expander is broken! If the knee is set to soft, the JS plugin produces an infinite output to the max bit.

    .
    .
  2. I agree with JayJSE2. The JS Dynamics should have a gain reduction meter by default. Preferably a gfx meter, because it is easier to read.
    If I'm not mistaken, a simple copy & past from the 1175 should do the trick for most of the JS. Exception: Fairly Childish Stereo Compressor/Limiter which is not compatible with the code below....

    Code:
    @init
      gr_meter=1;
      gr_meter_decay = exp(1/(1*srate));
    
    @sample
      grv < gr_meter ? gr_meter=grv : ( gr_meter*=gr_meter_decay; gr_meter>1?gr_meter=1; );
    
    @gfx 0 32
      gr_meter *= exp(1/30); gr_meter>1?gr_meter=1; // decay meter here so if the audio processing stops it doesnt "stick"
      gfx_r=1; gfx_g=gfx_b=0; gfx_a=0.8;
      
      meter_bot=20;
      meter_h=min(gfx_h,32);
      xscale=gfx_w*20/meter_bot;
    
      gfx_y=0;
      gfx_x=gfx_w + log10(gr_meter)*xscale;
      gfx_rectto(gfx_w,meter_h);
    
      gfx_r=gfx_g=gfx_b=1.0; gfx_a=0.6;
    
      s2=sqrt(2)/2;
      g = s2;
      while(
        gfx_x=gfx_w + log10(g)*xscale;
        gfx_x >= 0 ? 
        (
          gfx_y=0;
          gfx_lineto(gfx_x,meter_h,0);
          gfx_y=meter_h-gfx_texth;
          gfx_x+=2;
          gfx_drawnumber(log10(g)*20,0);
          gfx_drawchar($'d');
          gfx_drawchar($'B');
        );
        g*=s2;
        gfx_x >=0;
      );
      gfx_a=1;
    
      gfx_x=0; gfx_y=meter_h/2 - gfx_texth/2;
      gfx_drawnumber(log10(gr_meter)*20,1);
      gfx_drawchar($'d');
      gfx_drawchar($'B');

Last edited by Zeno; 03-28-2021 at 04:38 PM.
Zeno is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2021, 02:53 AM   #7
mawi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,186
Default

Auto Expander: Ratio not correct, Soft Knee not correct
Downward Expander: Ratio not correct


Express Bus, Major Tom, Master Tom Compressor: Soft Knee not correct


Only a short test, have not checked all functions.
mawi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2021, 04:21 AM   #8
drummerboy
Human being with feelings
 
drummerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 214
Default

Before this version, I was able to toggle „show overlapping items in lanes“ to check for crossfades (and to find those pesky little item snippets that tend to hide behind bigger ones).
This doesn‘t seem possible anymore - the items stay in one lane.
Do I miss something in order to get this to work again?

Best
Frank
drummerboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2021, 04:57 AM   #9
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,672
Default

ok, so it's not just me:



i screenshot this from Edgemeal's gif above. the Razor Edit solid draw-line appears 1 pixel left of where it should. look at the pink solid line -- i'm assuming Edgemeal has it set to snap to grid lines, yet the solid line doesn't draw on the grid line. when the user finalizes the RE, the line becomes ants and moves 1 pixel to the right.

this inaccurate drawing is pretty disconcerting, even when we know that the RE is snapping to the grid line as expected.
__________________
mccrabney scripts: MIDI edits from the Arrange screen ala jjos/MPC sequencer
|sis - - - anacru| isn't what we performed: pls no extra noteons in loop recording
| - - - - - anacru|sis <==this is what we actually performed.
mccrabney is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2021, 05:01 AM   #10
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,815
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drummerboy View Post
Before this version, I was able to toggle „show overlapping items in lanes“ to check for crossfades
That seems to work fine here. Are you sure you are using a 6.26rc build, and that the track is tall enough to display lanes?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2021, 05:11 AM   #11
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,686
Default

Sorry for this question here but since you've been working on the VST/VST3 bridges for M1 machines I think I'd ask. Today I found that I can load AU versions of the plugins in the REAPER arm build and they don't seem to use any bridge. Why is this? Does this mean I can safely use the AU versions in the arm build?
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2021, 07:56 AM   #12
Dafarkias
Human being with feelings
 
Dafarkias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Southern Vermont
Posts: 864
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stroudy View Post
Razor Edit: remove from razor edit area (a welcome feature)

Though, shouldn't the cursor reflect this with a minus symbol?

Also, the plus symbol on add to razor works over the current razor area, but shouldn't the plus symbol appear on razor edit cursors when actually drawing a razor edit
Wouldn't it also be beneficial to have a modifier: Add or remove to/from razor area via context?

So if the mouse initiates a down click over an existing razor area it would be in removal mode, but if initiated outside of a razor area it would default to add mode.
__________________

Support my feature request!
Dafarkias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2021, 02:46 PM   #13
ErBird
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
+ JSFX: fix various other compressors by adding deprecated blown capacitor modes
Blown capacitor? Lol, nice save.
15 years later & after public embarrassment is better than never, I guess.

While we're considering JS bugs, Event Horizon Clipper is broken:




If we're also considering questionable DSP, this is going to be a long night.
ErBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2021, 05:20 PM   #14
ErBird
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,161
Default

Thanks. The 2.08... constant is part of EHC, but it doesn't seem to be the source of the inverted knee. I can't imagine the dev intended for the knee to be that shape.
ErBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2021, 10:43 PM   #15
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 3,943
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mawi View Post
Auto Expander: Ratio not correct, Soft Knee not correct
Downward Expander: Ratio not correct


Express Bus, Major Tom, Master Tom Compressor: Soft Knee not correct


Only a short test, have not checked all functions.
It seems you removed the images you had posted showing the shape of the knee for these plugins. I remember them looking like the plugin below...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ErBird View Post
While we're considering JS bugs, Event Horizon Clipper is broken:

That JS Transfer Function Graph plugin looks handy. Where could I find such an animal? I'd like to check the other plugins mentioned above again. I recall them being too wonky for me to use (once I volume matched with the bypassed signal, I found I couldn't get a useful result for my tastes).
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.