Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Old 12-15-2018, 03:19 AM   #1
Tubeguy
Human being with feelings

Default Drums, phase and wall reflections

I've got this thing with phase on drums. For example: I might have close snare mic and about over a meter high overhead mic. Nothing else, it's just en example. I play the two tracks, switch phase on one of them and the snare becomes fatter and punchier. That sounds like a phase issue but how can it be when both mics are pointing at the snare? Wall or ceiling reflections creeping in?
I use the phase to shape my drums so it's no problem but I just want to know what's going on there and can't find any plugin that would visually show me. It drives me nuts.
Tubeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2018, 03:36 AM   #2
martifingers

I am no expert (they will be along shortly I would guess) but isn't it all about distances rather than direction?
I don't think the room reverberation is a big factor but could be totally wrong on that.
martifingers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2018, 03:57 AM   #3
Tubeguy

I'd say the distance would matter when you have two mics in stereo overheads. I don't think I'm getting full phase cancellation, just partial but it's enough the make a difference.
And did I mention that my drums are in partially padded corner of a fairly large live sounding room
Old 12-15-2018, 05:25 AM   #4
jrk

1st of all, check that your 2 mics have the same polarity , that the cables aren't wired wrong,etc.

Easy way to do this is to have them the same distance from some nice impulsive sound (like a click, whatever) record them and see if the waveforms line up nice (do they both go 'up' together?)

(or, if you're sure about the distance any sound will work, you get the idea)

OK, now, when you're sure your mics are responding similar...