Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > Recording Technologies and Techniques

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2019, 08:17 PM   #1
Reason
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 810
Default AXE IO - High Latency, 261ms - is it my methods (SOLVED, it was my methods)?

Hardware:
AXE IO connected via USB to a USB port on my motherboard (ie, not an addon card)
I7-6700
16GB RAM
Win10 with latest updates

Connection:
1. Guitar cable (not TRS) from Input 1 to Output 1 (Input is line level, not the low-Z)
2. XLR mic from Input 2 to Output 1

Method 1:
Track 1: Click source
Track 2: Recording Input 1 (line in)
Track 3: Redo of Track 2 with my old audio card's software exited.
Track 4: Recording Input 2 (mic) (held on my head to emulate air gap between speakers and ears)
- These two were recorded in separate takes, not simultaneously

Zoomed all the way in and selected from the very start of the first audio on Track 2 or 3 to the very start of the first click source, set Transport to samples.

Results: 11741 samples for the mic, 12044 samples for the DI (and why is THAT backwards?) which is about a 1/4 second, or almost an 8th note at 120 bpm.

This is visible in the wave forms, too.

This user from August is getting a 10th of what I'm getting:
https://www.gearslutz.com/board/show...postcount=3413

Playing 1/4 notes with my guitar does line up with the recorded click. Just playing without recording is very responsive, no latency that I can detect.

Haven't run the tool RTL tool from Oblique Audio yet. Is a TRS cable required, or is a regular TS guitar cable fine?

Thoughts/suggestions/comments? Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Latency.JPG (49.0 KB, 50 views)

Last edited by Reason; 11-03-2019 at 03:08 PM.
Reason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 02:20 AM   #2
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reason View Post
Hardware:

Playing 1/4 notes with my guitar does line up with the recorded click. Just playing without recording is very responsive, no latency that I can detect.
Which tells us that your test results and/or conclusions are clearly incorrect.
Stella645 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 10:16 AM   #3
Reason
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stella645 View Post
Which tells us that your test results and/or conclusions are clearly incorrect.
OK, that's what I was thinking, but I am not sure why. Any ideas?
Reason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 11:45 AM   #4
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,342
Default

Remove all FX from project (and monitoring FX) and try again with line out of interface to line in. Use an audio click on track 1.

Even when done correctly your results don't show latency as Reaper is already compensating for latency....any difference is just between reported (which you can see top right of arrange window) and measured latency.
Stella645 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 04:21 PM   #5
Reason
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 810
Default

Thanks. There are no effects in the project, except for the guitar track, but that was added after the other tracks.

I'm using this method:
https://wiki.cockos.com/wiki/index.p...erface_Latency

I may not have stated it clearly, but I'm running the line out of the interface to the line in and recording the result on Track 2. Track 3 is the same, it was just done after I uninstalled my previous card's driver. Track 4 is recording the speakers with a mic connected to In 2, and I'd expect that to have slightly more latency than tracks 2 or 3 due to the extra 3 feet the sounds has to go through the air, but it's actually a few hundred samples less.

Quote:
Even when done correctly your results don't show latency as Reaper is already compensating for latency....any difference is just between reported (which you can see top right of arrange window) and measured latency.
I don't quite understand, can you elaborate on this? It seems likely that not (or mis)understanding this is the root of my "problem."
Reason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 05:29 AM   #6
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,342
Default

And you're 100% sure no plugs in Monitoring FX??

Delete everything except track 2. Cut and move the audio click manually to the grid.

Turn back on use driver reported latency.

Now record track 1 to a new track and compare. How's that look??
Stella645 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.