Old 07-22-2021, 01:30 PM   #1
swingset
Human being with feelings

Default Mixing critique - "Suicide Note"

I'm an alternative/rock artist doing one-man band stuff...all the stuff from start to finish. I'm getting to where I'm finally feeling pretty proficient in Reaper, but still struggle sometimes with polish and getting the mixes what I call production ready.

I'm very happy with this stylistically and arrangement wise, but I'm losing my objectivity on mix. I've re-mixed it at least 6 times from ground up trying to see if I can compete with myself to make it better...but most all my mixes are coming up just like this one, lol. So, that's either good or bad, so I'm asking for a critical ear to tell me if there's any glaring holes in it. I'll confess up front I don't deep edit for things like vocal pitch or hyper-critical time. I really prefer things to be more musical and slightly flawed here and there, so what I'm really asking about is tonality, movement, overall mix/eq, etc.

https://craiggibson.bandcamp.com/track/suicide-note
swingset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2021, 01:54 PM   #2
karbomusic

Mixes are never finished, they are only released.

That said, if I had to be nitpicky, I'd like to hear the rhythm section better (kick/snare/bass), it sort of gets lost in the mix and undefined at times, but that may be intentional - At first it sounded to me like you paid so much attention to everything else, that it sort of fell to the wayside over time but could be wrong. I'm fine with the fact that the vocal is out front in case that comes up, many often neglect the most important part which is being able to hear the emotion in the vocal.

The only other thing is the top end sounded a little whipsy to me (8-10 kHz) but I'll let others chime in.

Great song and overall I think the presentation is great.
Old 07-22-2021, 02:58 PM   #3
swingset

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
Mixes are never finished, they are only released.