Old 12-28-2020, 11:00 PM   #1
Crypto
Human being with feelings

Default Question about plugin(s) chain

Hello to the knowledge and talent that I've heard use this software!I am a complete beginner and probably missing a good chunk of spectrum due to a poorly chosen lifestyle for working with audio later in life, but here I am none the less

My question is about a few plugins and maybe someone and tell me if I'm heading in the right direction for voice recordings? I have the following FX plugins in the following order:

ReaFir
ReaGate
VST3 Event Horizon
ReaEQ Full vocal preset
ReaComp

Are these the correct filters in the correct order for what I am trying to achieve, which is a kids YouTube gaming channel?

Some notes:

- I've had issues with clipping due the artist suddenly shouting into the mic. I thought the compressor would keep that from happening but adjustments to threshold and ratio do not overcome this. I am trying EH to limit this but not sure what ceiling and soft clipping are.
- Wet seems to much for a child's voice so I would like to drop that and increase dry but not sure where in the chain to do that.
- Not sure where to increase gain... Master, Track, first filter ReaFir or last ReaComp
Crypto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2020, 07:10 AM   #2
Stella645

Quote:
- I've had issues with clipping due the artist suddenly shouting into the mic. I thought the compressor would keep that from happening but adjustments to threshold and ratio do not overcome this. I am trying EH to limit this but not sure what ceiling and soft clipping are.
No, software compressor cannot do anything about too loud a signal hitting the mic pre/interface convertor and clipping it.
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2020, 08:18 AM   #3
serr

Are you going for some kind of robot voice for a game?

That plugin chain suggests that. Very heavy processing.