Old 02-23-2020, 03:14 PM   #1
peter5992
Human being with feelings
 
peter5992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 9,855
Default Delay compensation

Hope someone can help me with this.

I have a Behringer Model D, which receives midi from track B, the audio going back into audio track C.

Works like a charm, except there is a considerable delay - 113 ms, see screenshot below. If I drag the midi to 1.887 at the timeline, the audio comes right in sync with the metronome (4/4 time, tempo q=120), starting as of bar 2.

Question: how can I compensate for this delay, such that I don't have to drag out the midi?

Thanks!

EDIT: one way of doing this is in general project setting, set project start time to 0.0.113.


Last edited by peter5992; 02-23-2020 at 03:25 PM.
peter5992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 03:29 PM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,621
Default

AFAIK, the recommended way to use external hardware is ReaInsert. Same an do Delay compensation in a "normal" way.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 03:33 PM   #3
peter5992
Human being with feelings
 
peter5992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 9,855
Default

Thanks Michael, I'll try that.

I noticed by the way that the exact delay really depends on the patches you're dialing in from the Behringer, could be more or less than 113 ms.
peter5992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 05:16 PM   #4
peter5992
Human being with feelings
 
peter5992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 9,855
Default

ReInsert works, but it's not accurate enough ... it's just ever so slightly off.

I think I'll stick with the manual adjustment of the midi file.
peter5992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 11:34 PM   #5
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,621
Default

In ReaInsert you can tweak the delay compensation manually.

Moreover there is the track "Playback offset" parameter in the tracks Routing menu and ReaPack -> +/-delay to impose some delay (compensation) without using multiple tracks
-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 06:14 AM   #6
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,018
Default

^^^ yes, exactly what Michael is writing (both, ReaInsert manual tweak and new "Playback offset" track parameter).
akademie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 09:40 AM   #7
peter5992
Human being with feelings
 
peter5992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 9,855
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
In ReaInsert you can tweak the delay compensation manually.

Moreover there is the track "Playback offset" parameter in the tracks Routing menu and ReaPack -> +/-delay to impose some delay (compensation) without using multiple tracks
-Michael
Oh, that's a good tip, thanks Michael.
peter5992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 09:44 AM   #8
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25,807
Default

How often does ReaInsert ping and adjust? If only once, and not automatic, it's as easy to just add JS: time adjustment on the track and forget ReaInsert. I've never found much use beyond that ping/calculation (which I can do manually anyway) but I've not messed with it much either. I suppose it saves a track.
__________________
Music happens between the grid lines.
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.