Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2019, 10:41 AM   #1
Roswell Diner
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 9
Default All Reaper themes are white except for the default

I bought Reaper about 3 days ago.
One of the first things I wanted to do was try out the themes, to make it more of a custom space.
I downloaded a lot of themes and dragged them onto reaper and they made reaper white. Even themes with dark and black in the name, and those I'd seen screenshots of which were definitely NOT white, were turned white.

What amde this even worse is that I am a completely new reaper owner, and you forced me to wait for 2 or 3 days before I could get on this forum to get help with this, and by todays standards that is ridiculously slow. Most forums I've been a member of have activated me within 5 minutes.

Im hoping first impressions don't last.

Can someone help me with this ? Is it a known bug ?
Roswell Diner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 10:53 AM   #2
strachupl
Human being with feelings
 
strachupl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 306
Default

Can you post a screenshot how it looks like?
__________________
The truth is not in the middle but exactly where it is.
strachupl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 11:18 AM   #3
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,298
Default

Hi and welcome to the forums.
Not sure what you were expecting, but it sounds like you plunged straight in and bought reaper before you had even tried it out.
Best advice we can give as a forum of fellow-users is that you download the free User Guide & have a read of the initial setup sections & also check out some of the excellent free video tutorials, both available at reaper.fm

As far as your specific problem is concerned, try clicking on the actual theme file and it will open reaper for you with that theme in place. If this doesnt work, you have something set wrong in your current reaper setup. Best way to check this is to download the current reaper version and when yo run the installer, click on the portable install box. This will set you up with a new, clean installation of reaper set to factory settings and which wont affect your existing installation.

Now try opening reaper`s Options/prefs screen and selecting az theme from the theme menu. If that works, the problem lies with your original installation. Good luck & let us know how you get on.
P.S. No idea why it took several days for you to get on the forum. Very odd.
__________________
Brexit Schmexit. Lets have a violent revolution instead. Bagsy the first go with a nuke! (Here, Moggy Moggy...)
ivansc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 11:47 AM   #4
Roswell Diner
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 9
Default

so, apparently, this theme is " dark terminal"

abd we also have the "black" theme

I've had reaper on my pc for a while, evaluating it before I decided it was something I wanted to buy, so it's not something "i've just plunged into"

afaik, there's nothing wrong with display settings because that wasn't something I tweaked.
The only thing I did was change the audio settings, scan vsts in a specific folder, and attempt to load a theme to see which one was best for my eyesight to be looking at for long periods of time.
I touched nothing else.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dark terminal.jpg (19.0 KB, 38 views)
File Type: jpg black.jpg (34.0 KB, 35 views)

Last edited by Roswell Diner; 02-19-2019 at 11:58 AM.
Roswell Diner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 11:50 AM   #5
strachupl
Human being with feelings
 
strachupl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 306
Default

Can you post a screenshot how it looks like?
__________________
The truth is not in the middle but exactly where it is.
strachupl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 11:59 AM   #6
Roswell Diner
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by strachupl View Post
Can you post a screenshot how it looks like?
just did ^^^
Had to resize the images to 800 x 600
Roswell Diner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 02:42 PM   #7
strachupl
Human being with feelings
 
strachupl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 306
Default

In Reaper go to Options/show Reaper resource path...
Go to ColorThemes folder.
There should be file Black.ReaperThemeZip.
Is there such file?
__________________
The truth is not in the middle but exactly where it is.
strachupl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 06:40 PM   #8
Roswell Diner
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by strachupl View Post
In Reaper go to Options/show Reaper resource path...
Go to ColorThemes folder.
There should be file Black.ReaperThemeZip.
Is there such file?
yep. That one and a lot of others I downloaded from the stash are there/
Roswell Diner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 05:23 AM   #9
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,298
Default

From a casual glance at your jpgs, it looks like you are just reverting to the default theme all the time. Odd...

P.S. Sorry I mis-interpreted your original post as being you literally bought erqaper 3 dqys ago and this was your first experience!

Was reaper behaving OK with themes before this started happening or is this your first try at changing themes?
__________________
Brexit Schmexit. Lets have a violent revolution instead. Bagsy the first go with a nuke! (Here, Moggy Moggy...)
ivansc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 02:28 PM   #10
Roswell Diner
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
From a casual glance at your jpgs, it looks like you are just reverting to the default theme all the time. Odd...

P.S. Sorry I mis-interpreted your original post as being you literally bought erqaper 3 dqys ago and this was your first experience!

Was reaper behaving OK with themes before this started happening or is this your first try at changing themes?
well, It's been on my system for about 1300 days, and I fired it up periodically to see what it could do.
I mainly want to use it for a final mixdown of stems prepared in another DAW, so I wanted something with a great mixer ( I bought Harrison Mixbus too )and I remember from changing themes in a version of reaper I used about 10 years ago, that I could customize it and make it look really professional. I know it's aesthetics, but I think its important for gear to both look, and sound, professional, and especially when you try to guard against eyestrain in sessions that last hours.
So yes, I have prior experience of changing the themes and always liked the chrome themes.
I did buy it 3 days ago as I felt guilty using it for a 1300 day demo. Time to start using it.

Iy may be solved with a simple re-install, but thought i'd check if it was a known bug before doing that, and maybe it helps you guys if it wasn't something you were aware of.
Roswell Diner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 01:56 AM   #11
RobertP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 758
Default

This happened to me but so long ago I can't remember what I did!

Can you say precisely what you did when you 'dragged it into Reaper'

I suggest cutting out all the themes in Reaper that are not part of the clean install and try again - I think there is some interaction with what there is in Reaper with what you want to install, themewise.

Others may know, but I seem to remember things can go weird if you change a
ReaperThemeZip file to ReaperTheme.zip or just unzip the file into the theme folder - dunno, straws to clutch.

Did you try a portable version of Reaper as Ivan suggested?
__________________
Windows 7 Pro. Intel i7 3400ghz. 16GB Ram. Focusrite Scarlett 8i6. Reaper 64.

suleiman: "WTF r u ppl on abt ?"
RobertP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 07:07 AM   #12
Roswell Diner
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertP View Post
This happened to me but so long ago I can't remember what I did!

Can you say precisely what you did when you 'dragged it into Reaper'

I suggest cutting out all the themes in Reaper that are not part of the clean install and try again - I think there is some interaction with what there is in Reaper with what you want to install, themewise.

Others may know, but I seem to remember things can go weird if you change a
ReaperThemeZip file to ReaperTheme.zip or just unzip the file into the theme folder - dunno, straws to clutch.

Did you try a portable version of Reaper as Ivan suggested?
Im just gonna uninstall it and try again.
I didn't want to have to do this because the VST scan takes a lonnnnnng time, and I have a LOT of vsts, but it seems I have no choice than to start again.
Roswell Diner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 07:22 AM   #13
Roswell Diner
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 9
Default

I uninstalled reaper. It didnt delete the themes folder within the installation folder, so i deleted those manually.

Reinstalled Reaper, was glad I didn't have to re-scan a million VSTs, and tried changing the themes again.

Every single theme is white.
Again.
Roswell Diner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 08:40 AM   #14
RobertP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 758
Default

I don't know what else to suggest but I would def urge you to try a portable install - at least you will have files to compare.

good luck
__________________
Windows 7 Pro. Intel i7 3400ghz. 16GB Ram. Focusrite Scarlett 8i6. Reaper 64.

suleiman: "WTF r u ppl on abt ?"
RobertP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 09:39 AM   #15
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,298
Default

Can you specify exactly what the "chrome" themes are & did you D/L them from the reaper stash?
__________________
Brexit Schmexit. Lets have a violent revolution instead. Bagsy the first go with a nuke! (Here, Moggy Moggy...)
ivansc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 09:47 AM   #16
Roswell Diner
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
Can you specify exactly what the "chrome" themes are & did you D/L them from the reaper stash?
No. That was a long time ago. I just know the mixer was silver, but there was more than one theme that had a silver mixer.
Possibly 10 years ago.
Roswell Diner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 09:50 AM   #17
Roswell Diner
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertP View Post
I don't know what else to suggest but I would def urge you to try a portable install - at least you will have files to compare.

good luck
Maybe this isn't the dedicated troubleshooting forum.
I was kinda hoping people who work on the development team would know exactly what's goin' on with this because they'd seen it a 1000 times.
Is there a better part of the forum where I can post this to get this sorted out ??
Roswell Diner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 09:53 AM   #18
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roswell Diner View Post
Maybe this isn't the dedicated troubleshooting forum.
I was kinda hoping people who work on the development team would know exactly what's goin' on with this because they'd seen it a 1000 times.
Is there a better part of the forum where I can post this to get this sorted out ??
I'm afraid not. Try this: go to Actions, run "Theme development: Show theme tweak/configuration window" action. Then
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 09:53 AM   #19
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,742
Default

In your position I would try this:

-- click [Options]. select "Show Reaper resource path ..."
-- close Reaper
-- Find the "ColorThemes" in Reaper's resources folder and rename it,
-- install reaper again (check if there is an install option to install themes)

That should give you a few themes; check that they all load Ok. And report back.

It's a bit odd that this did not crop up during your evaluation period.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 09:54 AM   #20
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roswell Diner View Post
Maybe this isn't the dedicated troubleshooting forum.
I was kinda hoping people who work on the development team would know exactly what's goin' on with this because they'd seen it a 1000 times.
Is there a better part of the forum where I can post this to get this sorted out ??
I'm afraid not. Try this: go to Actions, run "Theme development: Show theme tweak/configuration window" action. Then choose Image resource path in the window, Load the theme you need and click Reload images. If it doesn't help, try to do this in other order.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 03:22 PM   #21
vdubreeze
Human being with feelings
 
vdubreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 1,568
Default

You can also drag your Reaper folder to another location temporarily and then boot Reaper again. It will create a new folder with new pref files and settings. Try a new theme. If it works, and you had custom settings or anything previously, just copy them (and only them, not the whole folder) back into the newly created Reaper folder.
__________________
The reason rain dances work is because they don't stop dancing until it rains.
vdubreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.