Old 07-26-2017, 12:36 PM   #1
colonel_claypool
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 95
Default Switch between FX parameter values via Midi CC?

Hello,

I bought a midi footswitch and was wondering how I can configure an FX paramter to switch between two values when the footswitch is hit. For exammple, I`d like to compare the "ratio" control of ReaComp, e.g. 4:1 vs 8:1 by switching between those two parameter values when I step on the footswitch.

Is this possible?

Thanks in advance.
colonel_claypool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2017, 02:02 PM   #2
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 6,725
Default

Yes, if the switch outputs MIDI. If it's just a sustain pedal, it will be more difficult. Honestly this is probably not worth your time to set up.

For simple A/B comparisons I'd suggest using SWS snapshots instead, since you'll also need to compensate for the difference in volume, to get a useful comparison.
__________________
Myy Wyyrd Muzyyk
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2017, 04:24 AM   #3
colonel_claypool
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 95
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
Yes, if the switch outputs MIDI. If it's just a sustain pedal, it will be more difficult. Honestly this is probably not worth your time to set up.

For simple A/B comparisons I'd suggest using SWS snapshots instead, since you'll also need to compensate for the difference in volume, to get a useful comparison.
Thanks for your answer. The footswitch is a Logidy UMI3. I also want to use it for switching settings on guitar VST plugins, e.g. the gain-knob.

If haven't used SWS Snapshots much but I seem to recall that switching back and forth between snapshots was not instantaneous. This might be problematic when switching during a song playback.

Is there a better approach to this?

Thanks.
colonel_claypool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2017, 05:11 AM   #4
Bri1
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: England
Posts: 2,432
Default

Quote:
Hello
Hello
Hello,
This should be fine todo- the thing with switches is as you know your just getting 2 states-on<>off-- so if you can find a jsfx like witti's control linker-offset the scaling by your degrees-probably will work but not tried with footswitch yet.
It's really nice n easy todo switches with a spare midi keyboard.Lots can be set up per channel.=)
Another way is to clone your fx on another track and use the switcher to select either track.

Last edited by Bri1; 07-27-2017 at 05:14 AM. Reason: 1Xtra.
Bri1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.