Old 10-26-2013, 05:22 AM   #1
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,919
Default VU Meter Background Color - Default

Hi !
I'm pretty new in this forum so if the question was already answered, i apologize for this (but i didn't find anything during my research :P)

The fact is that i found how to delete the VU Meter background png file in a theme. I wanted to put custom colors via theme options.
But how can i change the background of the VU Meter, using the VU meter colors in the theme option ?

Here is what i got when i put custom colors (and not png files) for the VU Meter (Reaper in French) (=> Attached Images)

As you can see, the background is not transparent (it's the same color as the meter, with a lower opacity) per default, which really disturbs the readability of the VU Meter.
Any idea ?
Thanks !
Attached Images
File Type: jpg vuMeterBackgroundDefault.jpg (63.9 KB, 861 views)
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 01:07 PM   #2
Marek
Human being with feelings
 
Marek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 78
Default

Can you be more specific?
What did you exactly do? Which png you deleted?
From attachment I see you use Default_Analog with Big Black Meter layout.
I can still see meter_bg_mcp.png there.
Did you delete meter_strip_v.png ?
Marek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 01:18 PM   #3
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,919
Default

Thanks for your interest

I delete (rename to be exact) all the
meter_strip_v_rms.png
meter_strip_v.png
meter_strip_h.png
in the Default Analog theme pack.
The fact is i wanted to manage the color of the metter, via the preferences menu.

But what i discover, is that the background is colored, even if there is no sound. The PNG files contains a black strip for background so the tracks without sound have a black metter.
here is a screenshot of my setup in the attached files (no sound).

Is it possible to have a empty/transparent background metter when there is no sound (while the color of the vu metter are setup in the preferences option ?)

Thanks again
Attached Images
File Type: jpg noSoundVuMetter.jpg (13.2 KB, 522 views)
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 06:04 PM   #4
Marek
Human being with feelings
 
Marek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoomLike View Post
Is it possible to have a empty/transparent background metter when there is no sound (while the color of the vu metter are setup in the preferences option ?)
No.

But you can "hack" it.

However, This "hack" doesn't work with meter_strip_v.png and other meter strips.
You have to use tcp_vu.png, mcp_vu.png and mcp_master_vu.png instead.
More about these files here: http://www.reaper.fm/sdk/advtheme/
Use colour (gradient) of your meter background for dim meter.
And 100% transparency (0 alpha) for lit meter.

Don't forget to delete (rename) meter_clip_h.png, meter_clip_v.png, meter_clip_v_rms.png and meter_clip_v_rms2.png.
Marek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 12:20 PM   #5
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,919
Default

That's brillant !

i just make a quick test and it works for the master vu metter;
i will try to do the same thing for the other metters and tell you if it works :P

Thanks again !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 12:46 PM   #6
Marek
Human being with feelings
 
Marek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 78
Default

One more thing.
If the meter is 12pix and less width, the mcp_vu.png is ignored. You have to change the meters to 13pix in WALTER.
But, with 13pix and more the scale appears so you have to disable them in WALTER.
set mcp.meter.scale.color.lit.bottom [0]
set mcp.meter.scale.color.lit.top [0]
set mcp.meter.scale.color.unlit.bottom [0]
set mcp.meter.scale.color.unlit.top [0]
Marek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 12:56 PM   #7
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,919
Default

Ok it's going to be more complicated than i thought ^^

Thanks for all this precious informations !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 01:46 PM   #8
Marek
Human being with feelings
 
Marek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoomLike View Post
Ok it's going to be more complicated than i thought ^^
It's almost always like this
But don't worry, you can do it.
Marek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 07:10 PM   #9
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,919
Default

Ok i succeed to replace all the files as you said and that works like a charm.
i don't succeed the WALTER part (despite the fact i try what you tell me - i don't know if i do it right), but anyway, it's not that important, cause i use the "big meter" layout of the Default Analog 1.8 theme, which is large enough to display the mcp_vu.png.
The "classic default" mcp layout doesn't display the mcp_vu.png file, and so have a colored background.

One more time, thank you a lot :P
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 01:14 AM   #10
Marek
Human being with feelings
 
Marek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 78
Default

I'll check it later with Default Analog 1.8 theme.
Maybe I missed something, or maybe you did something wrong.
I'll let you know.
Marek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 05:29 AM   #11
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,919
Default

You are so great
Sincerely.
(i can send you my theme zip file if you want, a part of the job is already done :P)
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 11:12 AM   #12
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,919
Default

Just a question : is the recording meter color supposed to be the "vu indicator" color in the theme option ?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg vu indicator recording.jpg (38.2 KB, 439 views)
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 09:50 PM   #13
Marek
Human being with feelings
 
Marek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoomLike View Post
Just a question : is the recording meter color supposed to be the "vu indicator" color in the theme option ?
No.
When meters are 10x10 pix or smaller, they become vu indicators.
Marek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 02:30 PM   #14
Marek
Human being with feelings
 
Marek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoomLike View Post
Ok i succeed to replace all the files as you said and that works like a charm.
i don't succeed the WALTER part (despite the fact i try what you tell me - i don't know if i do it right)
I've checked the DefaultAnalog 1.8.
The default mcp layer is actually “1. Classic Default (pan at bottom)” layer.

So, when you change line 980:
set mcp.meter h>273 [27 123 12 166 0 0 0 1] [27 112 12 177 0 0 0 1]
to:
set mcp.meter h>273 [27 123 13 166 0 0 0 1] [27 112 13 177 0 0 0 1]
nothing has changed, cause it's overwrited by line 1018:
set mcp.meter h>273 [27 80 12 166 0 0 0 1] [27 69 12 177 0 0 0 1]

There are many layers, so I'm going to show you just one example.
Let say for Default layer, the “1. Classic Default (pan at bottom)” layer.

Make the meter wider:
1018 set mcp.meter h>273 [27 80 13 166 0 0 0 1] [27 69 13 177 0 0 0 1]
move rec button one pix to right:
1017 set mcp.recarm [42 217 20 33 0 1 0 1]
make volume label wider:
1020 set mcp.volume.label h>273 [7 62 36 14 0 0 0 0] [7 62 36 3 0 0 0 0]

optional tweaking:
make division between channel just 1pix narrow:
line 979 set mcp.meter.vu.div [1 1]
rip of text scale, make new lines:
1019 set mcp.meter.readout.color [0]
1020 set mcp.meter.scale.color.lit.bottom [0]
1021 set mcp.meter.scale.color.lit.top [0]
1022 set mcp.meter.scale.color.unlit.bottom [0]
1023 set mcp.meter.scale.color.unlit.top [0]
Marek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 08:24 AM   #15
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,919
Default

This is perfect
i think i can do it myself for the other layouts :P
thank you so much !!
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 05:23 PM   #16
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,919
Default

Hi again

I did it to all the layers and it's ok
exept for >6 (especially >8) channels tracks (for which the colored background appears, as without your trick).

Any idea ?
if it's too much pain to correct than don't worry it's not a big deal.

thanks again !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.