Old 08-18-2012, 08:13 AM   #1
Basil
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 166
Default How Set up/Use Reapers Virtual Midi Keyboard

Hi All,

How do you set up/ use the buildt in Virual Midi Keyboard that comes with Reaper?


Thanks in advance for any help on tghe subject.
Basil
Basil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 09:33 AM   #2
bradleyfilms
Human being with feelings
 
bradleyfilms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 2,255
Default

I have mine setup so the computer's keyboard works a bit like a MIDI keyboard (but no velocity, sadly).
Here is the code, you'll need SWS' extensions.

I've also extended the keys that can be used with reaper-vkbmap.txt
HTH. Steve
__________________
Meto ergo psallentes est

Last edited by bradleyfilms; 03-28-2013 at 04:51 PM.
bradleyfilms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 12:07 PM   #3
Basil
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 166
Default

Hi Steve, or anyone else.

Could you walk me through the steps on how to set Reaper's Vitual Midi Keyboard?
Basil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 12:28 PM   #4
andysarchus
Human being with feelings
 
andysarchus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: A metropolitan bubble
Posts: 1,126
Default

Hi Basil.

To use the Virtual Midi Keyboard, first make sure you have a VSTi loaded on the track, that the track is record-armed, the input is set to 'Midi: All' and 'Record Monitoring' is on.

Then just go to 'View' and select 'Virtual Midi Keybooard', or press Alt+B.

You should now be good to go.

Andy
__________________
"All the violence done to words is so vile that one can hardly bear to hear them any longer." - Adorno and Horkheimer
andysarchus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 01:02 PM   #5
naturalbridge
Human being with feelings
 
naturalbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleyfilms View Post
I have mine setup so the computer's keyboard works a bit like a MIDI keyboard (but no velocity, sadly).
Here is the code, you'll need SWS' extensions.

I've also extended the keys that can be used with reaper-vkbmap.txt
HTH. Steve
Awesome. Trying this out right now. Thanks!
__________________
www.fracturedfields.com
naturalbridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 04:27 PM   #6
Basil
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 166
Default

@andysarchus

Playing around with midi and vsti is all new to me.


Thanks
Basil
Basil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 07:50 AM   #7
phoenix6669
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Default editing vmk

Hi all, now I can record stuff using the vmk in reaper...but I am wondering if anyone knows if there is a way to edit the keyboard so you can assign the higher and lower notes to the keyboard?...i noticed there is only from notes C2 to C4 i believe that are assigned...i would like to use the lower notes from C1 to C2 and the higher notes from C4 to C5.

Basically I am wanting to map out the entire vmk...not just the mid notes but I can't seem to be able to re-map it.

If anyone has a solution please help.

Thank You, Phoenix
phoenix6669 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 10:20 AM   #8
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,915
Default

You can drag the edges to make it taller / wider, then right-click the key you want to be in the middle of the keyboard.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 10:01 AM   #9
germanocarella
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleyfilms View Post
I have mine setup so the computer's keyboard works a bit like a MIDI keyboard (but no velocity, sadly).
Here is the code, you'll need SWS' extensions.

I've also extended the keys that can be used with reaper-vkbmap.txt
HTH. Steve
I Steve, unfortunately I can't see the link of download for the code you posted. I need to remap my virtual midi keyboard in order to use it with reaSamplomatic 5000.
Can you help me with your code and sen me it via email? I have sws extension installed. I searched for reaper-vkbmap.txt but I not found it in any folder of my reaper installation. My mail is germanocarella@gmail.com.

Last edited by germanocarella; 03-04-2018 at 10:17 AM.
germanocarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.