Old 05-07-2012, 10:38 AM   #1
peter5992
Human being with feelings
 
peter5992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 9,300
Default Roland sustain pedal - how to reverse polarity

Good morning everyone:

I have a Roland sustain pedal. When I hook it up my Roland synth / keyboard it works fine. However when I hook it up to my Akai MPK 25 midi keyboard, it works exactly the wrong way around, that is, when the pedal is upright / untouched everything is sustained and when I push the pedal to the floor notes are not sustained.

I am not very midi savvy, is there any way I can reroute the midi polarity of my pedal in Reaper?

Many thanks!
peter5992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 11:38 AM   #2
Nip
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,417
Default

I would look at the other end - manual to keyboard. Some vendor call it Hold function.

Things I have encountered are holding the pedal down while turning on keyboard power switch to switch polarity.

I have a Roland sustain pedal, but see nothing like switches etc.
Nip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 12:30 AM   #3
beingmf
Human being with feelings
 
beingmf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jazz City
Posts: 3,921
Default

You could either buy another one, solder the connector the other way round (or even build an adaptor) – or use MidiOX on the software side.
beingmf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 03:58 AM   #4
KevinW
Human being with feelings
 
KevinW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio USA
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beingmf View Post
You could either buy another one, solder the connector the other way round (or even build an adaptor) – or use MidiOX on the software side.
Hmm. Pretty sure the idea of soldering the connector the other way around won't work. It's just a switch that is either open or closed, and the wires after the switch have nothing to do with it.

I had a hard time wrapping my head around that a few years ago and against my more knowledgeable friend's advice I did it anyway to a cheap pedal. Yep, didn't work....
KevinW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 02:34 AM   #5
beingmf
Human being with feelings
 
beingmf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jazz City
Posts: 3,921
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinW View Post
Hmm. Pretty sure the idea of soldering the connector the other way around won't work. It's just a switch that is either open or closed, and the wires after the switch have nothing to do with it.

I had a hard time wrapping my head around that a few years ago and against my more knowledgeable friend's advice I did it anyway to a cheap pedal. Yep, didn't work....
Of course it works I've done that "mod" more than once.
beingmf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 03:06 AM   #6
bradleyfilms
Human being with feelings
 
bradleyfilms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 2,255
Default

I don't know whether your Akai does this, but many keyboards scan the state of the switches on startup.
Try depressing the pedal while you switch the keyboard on, it may just work.
Steve
__________________
Meto ergo psallentes est
bradleyfilms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 03:47 AM   #7
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinW
Hmm. Pretty sure the idea of soldering the connector the other way around won't work. It's just a switch that is either open or closed, and the wires after the switch have nothing to do with it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by beingmf
Of course it works I've done that "mod" more than once.
Well it depends whether it is a TS (tip-sleeve -- two conductor, like a jack cord for a guitar) or a TRS (tip-ring-sleeve- 3 conductor, like a headphone connection, or balanced patch cord).

Switching TS connections will do exactly nothing.

Switching things around with a TRS will most likely work if you can find the right pair to switch -- most likely T (tip) and R (ring).
__________________
CSI - You can donate here: geoffwaddington.ca
Alpha software: https://stash.reaper.fm/v/36903/CSI%20alpha.zip
Reaper forum thread: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=183143
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 04:01 AM   #8
KevinW
Human being with feelings
 
KevinW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio USA
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington View Post
Well it depends whether it is a TS (tip-sleeve -- two conductor, like a jack cord for a guitar) or a TRS (tip-ring-sleeve- 3 conductor, like a headphone connection, or balanced patch cord).

Switching TS connections will do exactly nothing.

Switching things around with a TRS will most likely work if you can find the right pair to switch -- most likely T (tip) and R (ring).
Ah, thanks for that explanation. Mine was a TS connection, and it did exactly nothing as you say. I never thought about the TRS aspect.
KevinW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 07:05 AM   #9
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,789
Default

It is a function of the actual switch inside the unit.
It can be NO or NC which stands for Normally Open or Normally (you guessed it) Closed.

With a TRS connection it is possible to have both and if there is no actual witch on the unit you can reverse tip and ring connections.

FWIW Bespeco make an inexpensive switchable reversible momentary footswitch that would do the job unless your keyboard insists on a particular protocol..
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 03:47 PM   #10
tunurgitr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
Default Jumping on an old thread

Sorry to jump on an old thread, but I just wrote a JS plugin that reverses the polarity of a sustain pedal. Just copy/paste this into a new JS plugin, and set that midi plugin to be the first thing in your chain. At the moment this affects all MIDI channels -- if anyone wants to improve this plugin, feel free.

desc:MIDI Sustain Pedal Inverter

slider1:0<0,1,1(0 Enabled,1 Disabled)>Is Disabled?
slider2:0<0,1,1(0 Down,1 Up)>Pedal Position (read-only)

@init

@slider
isdisabled=slider1;

@block
while (
midirecv(mpos, msg1, msg23) ? (
msg3 = (msg23/256)|0;
msg2 = msg23-(msg3*256);
isCC = ((msg1/16)|0)==11;
(isCC && msg2 == 64 && isdisabled == 0) ? (
x_msg3 = msg3;
msg3 == 127 ? (msg3 = 0 : (msg3 = 127;
msg23 = (msg3*256+msg2)|0;
slider2=msg3;
);
midisend(mpos, msg1, msg23);

);
);

Last edited by tunurgitr; 03-05-2014 at 03:56 PM.
tunurgitr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 05:16 PM   #11
nuronerd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Default Me

Wow, I wish I had a clue about what that guy is talking about. The biggest problem I always have is, teachers don't speak my language. When you don't even know the definitions of terms being used, it is impossible to understand the expert. So, thanks anyway for the advice. I'm sure someone in the world understands what it all meant.
nuronerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 05:42 PM   #12
RunBeerRun
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 547
Default

I think it was all about inverting CC64, Insert Piz Here has a midi effect-midiCCModulator that can do that.
__________________
Free Synthedit/Synthmaker plugins that I made: runbeerrun dot blogspot dot com
RunBeerRun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 10:49 AM   #13
ewenflint1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
Default

Open the case of the switch pedal. If the switch has 3 terminals, you will find that only 2 have a wire connected, the common and either the normally open or the normally closed. My Bespeco switch pedal has an additional 3 terminal slider switch that connects the Tip wire to either NC or NO on the main switch. You can buy these slider switches from any electronics retailer for pennies. Get one, fit it to the pedal and then rewire the cable via the new switch, as shown in the attached jpg file
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Hold switch mod.JPG (27.6 KB, 1719 views)
ewenflint1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 02:04 PM   #14
4x4uk
Human being with feelings
 
4x4uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Newcastle UK
Posts: 474
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinW View Post
Hmm. Pretty sure the idea of soldering the connector the other way around won't work. It's just a switch that is either open or closed, and the wires after the switch have nothing to do with it.

I had a hard time wrapping my head around that a few years ago and against my more knowledgeable friend's advice I did it anyway to a cheap pedal. Yep, didn't work....
it definately works, common practice to comvert roloand sustain pedalstowork with other kit
4x4uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 08:53 PM   #15
okarowarrior
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tunurgitr View Post
Sorry to jump on an old thread, but I just wrote a JS plugin that reverses the polarity of a sustain pedal. Just copy/paste this into a new JS plugin, and set that midi plugin to be the first thing in your chain. At the moment this affects all MIDI channels -- if anyone wants to improve this plugin, feel free.

desc:MIDI Sustain Pedal Inverter

slider1:0<0,1,1(0 Enabled,1 Disabled)>Is Disabled?
slider2:0<0,1,1(0 Down,1 Up)>Pedal Position (read-only)

@init

@slider
isdisabled=slider1;

@block
while (
midirecv(mpos, msg1, msg23) ? (
msg3 = (msg23/256)|0;
msg2 = msg23-(msg3*256);
isCC = ((msg1/16)|0)==11;
(isCC && msg2 == 64 && isdisabled == 0) ? (
x_msg3 = msg3;
msg3 == 127 ? (msg3 = 0 : (msg3 = 127;
msg23 = (msg3*256+msg2)|0;
slider2=msg3;
);
midisend(mpos, msg1, msg23);

);
);
FUCKING EMOJIS . Synthax error thanks to the emojis
What are the winky faces? are they just ""???
okarowarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 09:20 PM   #16
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,460
Default

Code should be posted enclosed in appropriate "[code]" notation.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2018, 02:46 AM   #17
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by okarowarrior View Post
FUCKING EMOJIS . Synthax error thanks to the emojis
What are the winky faces? are they just ""???
If you go to reply with quote you can see the plain text version...of course it's just a semi colon/close bracket.
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.