Old 01-31-2019, 09:39 PM   #1
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 13,270
Default Crashing on plugin load please help

If anyone has any ideas, I am having a problem of bias fx crashing when loading in reaper and freezing the computer requiring a hard reboot. It started after updating to the latest version of Bias FX. Reinstalling the older version still results in the same problem.

I was on with Positive grid tech support since yesterday and we are scratching our heads. We have tried every uninstall, registry clean, etc you can think of

Here are some clues:

1. Standalone seems to work fine
2. Loads ok on my laptop
3. Like most bias/bias fx issues you hear about, it happens right as the GUI gets shown.
4. If I run an older project with bias fx on it, it runs fine as long as I don't try to show the bias fx gui
5. I can open the VST version in wavosaur without crashing

This last one makes me thing there is something I need to do in REAPER

Any ideas?
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2019, 09:45 PM   #2
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 13,270
Default

Another possible clue, I just opened bias amp2 which ran fine, until I tried to log in to tone cloud, at which point it froze my computer, requiring a hard reset
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2019, 10:12 PM   #3
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 13,270
Default

opening Bias FX in reaper on a portable install works fine, this must be a reaper problem right? What can I delete or reset in my main reaper build?
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2019, 11:20 PM   #4
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 13,270
Default

If I unplug the ethernet cable to the internet it works fine from the stock location, its only after a login to tonecloud that it crashes, and only from the stock reaper install location.

Works fine, internet or not from the portable install on the same drive
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2019, 07:10 PM   #5
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 13,270
Default

So I have narrowed down this crazy crash between REAPER and Bias FX to the Rednet PCI ASIO driver. Any other interface I have seems to run fine on this so far. The crash happens during the Phone Home phase of the bias fx gui launch. I suspect that since the Rednet is a dante card, Bias FX may be trying to phone home through the second ethernet card that is setup for the dante network, any idea how to keep that from happening?


Just confirmed it wont crash when using the MOTU ASIO drive
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2019, 07:34 PM   #6
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 13,270
Default

Working on the Midas M32 USB ASIO drivers as well
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 04:04 PM   #7
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 13,270
Default

Well hell, Dante is working fine with Bias FX in Wavosaur
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 11:39 AM   #8
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 13,270
Default

If I disable the Nic that goes to the internet, it no longer crashes.
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 12:07 AM   #9
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 13,270
Default

Alright, another clue, loading Bias FX in cakewalk with the Dante driver results in the same system crash as in REAPER. Running any of the other ASIO drivers works just fine.
Disabling the nic going to the internet allows the Dante driver to work without crashing
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2019, 10:58 AM   #10
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 13,270
Default

Running on Gig Performer also crashes
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2019, 04:37 PM   #11
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,553
Default

I'm really digging this new blog of yours.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2019, 04:48 PM   #12
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 13,270
Default

Lulz, sadly since its so close to NAMM time, the manufacturers aren't too thrilled but I think we've all agreed its going to get fixed faster the more brains can work on it...What a PITA
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2019, 11:03 AM   #13
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 13,270
Default

Big news, Focusrite was able to repro this now
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.