Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Color Themes and Icon Sets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2018, 12:18 AM   #1
Xaos
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 143
Default Importing EvilDragon's ColorTheme turns all colors to black

I'm running REAPER 5.6.2/64, on a Mac. I installed ED's Color Toolbar 2.5 and it come up fine. But when I import the ED Toolbar Colorset Mac.SWSColor file, all the colors are black. I tried the PC version, and it does the same thing. Anyone run into this issue or know how to resolve it? I tried it with several themes, even though this shouldn't really matter.

Thanks!
__________________
The richest life is the simple one. I just want to make things sing.
Xaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2018, 05:29 PM   #2
Pinknoise
Human being with feelings
 
Pinknoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Around Montréal
Posts: 870
Default

I've used Ed's toolbar for a while and 'im really greatfull for it. However you might want to give a shot at Airon colourswatch tool script. I find it much easier to run.
Comes with Reapack IIRC.
Pinknoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2018, 10:50 PM   #3
Xaos
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinknoise View Post
I've used Ed's toolbar for a while and 'im really greatfull for it. However you might want to give a shot at Airon colourswatch tool script. I find it much easier to run.
Comes with Reapack IIRC.
Thanks for the tip! The quick access to a color palette is very handy. However, I'd like something that lets me get the same colors with the click of a button instead of having to match the color each time. ED's toolbar is handy for that. It still works to apply my custom colors, but it just doesn't represent them in the toolbar. Plus, I just switched themes, and ED's color palette would be very nice.

I can always just make my own toolbar, but it would be nice not to have another thing on the todo list—especially if it's reinventing the wheel and I'd rather be working on something that I can contribute to the community like the guide for creating a set of custom actions for voice over artists that will also be very useful for other REAPER users, too. Plus, I posted partly for technical reasons. If it's only happening to me, I'm wondering why. But ,more importantly, I'm wondering if it's effecting other users and if there needs to be a fix.

Seems like I just get crickets from the forum on technical issues, which is sad because one of the best features of REAPER used to be the community support. It is a holiday weekend, so maybe some info on this issue will be forthcoming next week.
__________________
The richest life is the simple one. I just want to make things sing.
Xaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2018, 05:46 AM   #4
Pinknoise
Human being with feelings
 
Pinknoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Around Montréal
Posts: 870
Default

I get you with the color match. There is a version of the script wich has boxes with predefined colors and another version that does'nt. I'm not sure if it's a Mac Pc thing though. I remember having trouble with it on Mac. I simply always click the same box for each track in the same category. Upper left for kik bottom right for bass etc.

The crickets are often due to specialised actions or scripts. Fewer people know that they even exist.
Pinknoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2018, 10:38 AM   #5
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,752
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xaos View Post
The quick access to a color palette is very handy. However, I'd like something that lets me get the same colors with the click of a button instead of having to match the color each time.
Have you checked ReaNoir? You can edit, save and load your own palettes, or just keep using the default one. You can also copy colors from tracks/items with it (Get Color).
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=189602
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2018, 11:03 AM   #6
Pinknoise
Human being with feelings
 
Pinknoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Around Montréal
Posts: 870
Default

How could I have miss that script ? Hard to follow it all overtime ! It looks killer !
Pinknoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2018, 11:35 AM   #7
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,156
Default

Even ED doesn't use ED's color toolbar any longer!

Just use Airon's swatch. It's super mega cool, and a lot easier to integrate.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2018, 03:23 AM   #8
Xaos
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
Have you checked ReaNoir? You can edit, save and load your own palettes, or just keep using the default one. You can also copy colors from tracks/items with it (Get Color).
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=189602
This sounds perfect! Thanks. There are just so many powerful scripts and JSFX, I've learned it's just stupid to try and figure it out on my own. Someone here has an answer that can save hours of frustration!

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Even ED doesn't use ED's color toolbar any longer!

Just use Airon's swatch. It's super mega cool, and a lot easier to integrate.
Haha! The reason I preferred the ED approach to Airon's is that I can just get the same colors with a click or key command. Airon's is cool, but there is already a color picker.

Just for the record, I found out what the problems where with ED's file. At least on the Mac. First, the HEX color values have to be lowercase. So, I just did a case change and thought I was clever. Nope. Still not clever. REAPER likes its color values described like this:

custcolor1=16711680
custcolor10=33023
custcolor11=1873516

I don't know what that value is called, but I've seen it all over the theme files. I'm familiar with the regular color spaces like RGB, HSB, CMYK, and HEX, but I don't know about this one. Been out of the graphics biz for a while now, so it must be one of them new-fangled thingies the kids are doing now. I'm gonna be setting up a color palette based on ED old colors. I'll export it and up it in case anyone wants it. ED's color toolbar can still be viable. :-D

Thanks everyone!
__________________
The richest life is the simple one. I just want to make things sing.
Xaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2018, 03:56 AM   #9
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,156
Default

Those numbers are just decimal version of hex RGB. (R * 65536) + (G * 255) + B, if I remember correctly. On Mac, it's actually BGR, IIRC.


(BTW, Reaper does like hex colors, but you need to write them as 0xRRGGBB.)
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.