Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Live Use

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2017, 06:28 AM   #1
Bansaw
Human being with feelings
 
Bansaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 240
Default Can I set up Reaper with a midi keyboard to replicate what Maschine or Push does?

Push and Maschine are quite expensive, but is there a way to get near their functionality with a simple mini midi keyboard and some clver setting up in Reaper?
Bansaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 08:35 PM   #2
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 6,703
Default

Yes, for the most part, but you will end up paying in time to set up all your samples. I've been using my Maschine Mikro for years and I'd never go back to my clunky free sampler days. I've paid for my time back 100 times over.

What exactly is it you want to be able to do? I haven't tried Push, but I've actually recreated a lot of the Maschine workflow in Reaper using MIDI-Ox (and Maschine in MIDI mode, haha, but most any controller would work). The only things I really need it for now are all the awesome sounds it comes with, how quickly and easily they can be loaded and manipulated, and the Note Repeat function, which is near impossible to recreate with free plugins.
__________________
Myy Wyyrd Muzyyk

Last edited by foxAsteria; 08-13-2017 at 12:04 AM.
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 11:42 PM   #3
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,460
Default

Do you want Reaper to be an engine for live playing with a keyboard ?

I do this all the time. Works perfectly but creating a complex setup might take some effort.

A key functionality for this can be SWS LiveConfigs (I wrote an extended user guide for same). You might search the forum for "LiveConfigs" and you will find lots of posts handling that issue.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 11:44 PM   #4
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
... and the Note Repeat function, which is near impossible to recreate with free plugins.
What exactly does "Note Repeat" do ? If this is a midi functionality ? I suppose that a JSFX script should be able to mimic it.

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 08-13-2017 at 03:36 AM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 12:02 AM   #5
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 6,703
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
What exactly does "Note Repeat" do ? If this is a midi functionality I suppose that a JSFX script should be able to mimic it.
It's a feature common to drum machines but found rarely elsewhere. You set the beat interval and the notes you hold on your drum pads repeat at that interval, while held, and their volume responds to how hard you press.

I've looked high and low. Yea you can use an arpeggiator to keep repeating a held note at a certain interval, but show me one that can vary the velocity in response to poly aftertouch. Doesn't exist in the free realm afaik, and I'm not sure it does in the commercial realm either.

There are some methods of varying velocity with aftertouch, but multiple notes at once, each with unique variations of velocity? Not so much. I don't doubt that someone could code it if they wanted to, but it seems to me that no one yet has.
__________________
Myy Wyyrd Muzyyk
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 12:05 AM   #6
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,159
Default

That should be possible with a Kontakt script
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 12:07 AM   #7
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 6,703
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
That should be possible with a Kontakt script
Kontakt is just as expensive.
__________________
Myy Wyyrd Muzyyk
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 03:37 AM   #8
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
show me one that can vary the velocity in response to poly aftertouch.
Should be rather easily doable by a JSFX.

I did not know that drum pads send poly aftertouch (or a defined note-off event or aftertouch at all ...). There are very few keyboards that send poly AT.

How do you suggest the repeat rate is to be defined ?

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 08-13-2017 at 03:44 AM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 12:15 PM   #9
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 6,703
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
How do you suggest the repeat rate is to be defined ?
Well how it is on Maschine is nice enough. With one knob you vary the interval from 1/1 to 1/128 and with another you vary the unit (normal, trible, dotted), one more controls the swing, and another is "gate" from 1%-200% though I'm not entirely sure what that does as I've never used it. I guess it's adding note offs in between.

You can also set up to 3 different intervals to be accessed by 3 buttons on the fly, which is a good performance tool.

One thing that Maschine cannot do is hold notes independently at different intervals, so an awesome extra feature, if someone were going to code something like this, would be hold 16 toggles, one for each pad. Having an independent interval per pad and the ability to note repeat just one pad, while having the rest freely playable would be some next level shit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccrabney View Post
look up "pushbike" js by ijinijijnn or however he named himself
Not really sure what it's supposed to do. I can't get it to do anything.
__________________
Myy Wyyrd Muzyyk

Last edited by foxAsteria; 08-13-2017 at 12:51 PM.
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 07:17 AM   #10
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Sholder, Kentucky
Posts: 1,889
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
It's a feature common to drum machines but found rarely elsewhere. You set the beat interval and the notes you hold on your drum pads repeat at that interval, while held, and their volume responds to how hard you press.

I've looked high and low. Yea you can use an arpeggiator to keep repeating a held note at a certain interval, but show me one that can vary the velocity in response to poly aftertouch. Doesn't exist in the free realm afaik, and I'm not sure it does in the commercial realm either.

There are some methods of varying velocity with aftertouch, but multiple notes at once, each with unique variations of velocity? Not so much. I don't doubt that someone could code it if they wanted to, but it seems to me that no one yet has.
look up "pushbike" js by ijinijijnn or however he named himself
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° reluctantly switched to using Ableton for live performance and actually enjoying it
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 03:01 PM   #11
insub
Human being with feelings
 
insub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Louisville, KY, USA
Posts: 1,036
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bansaw View Post
Push and Maschine are quite expensive, but is there a way to get near their functionality with a simple mini midi keyboard and some clver setting up in Reaper?
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
Yes, for the most part, but you will end up paying in time to set up all your samples. I've been using my Maschine Mikro for years and I'd never go back to my clunky free sampler days. I've paid for my time back 100 times over.
This 100%.

If your time is worth nothing then you can waste many hours attempting to mimic the functionality of Maschine with REAPER and you will still only get close. Then there's locating samples to use...

I bought a Maschine Mikro Mk2 used on eBay for like $200 which included the software license. You HAVE TO BE VERY CAREFUL when getting a used Maschine to ensure that the software is transferred with the unit. There are a lot of Maschine controllers being sold without software. If the seller has never heard of a License Transfer ID then you should just avoid them.
https://support.native-instruments.c...cense-Transfer

PUSH is waaaay more expensive, so I've never used it. I'm pretty sure that the PUSH controller comes with NO SOFTWARE AT ALL. Looking back, if I'd have had like $500 more dollars to spend I would have gotten PUSH instead. Oh wait... I didn't have $500 to spend at all, which is why I bought a second-hand Mikro.

I be honest. I love my Mikro. It was worth every penny.
__________________
Everything you need to know about samplerates and oversampling... maybe!
My Essential FREE 64bit VST Effects, ReaEQ Presets for Instruments
Windows 10 64 bit; MOTU 828 MKII, Audio Express, & 8PRE; Behringer ADA8000
insub is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.