Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > MIDI Hardware, Control Surfaces, and OSC

Old 08-28-2013, 07:38 AM   #1
bnenenenen
Human being with feelings

Default outputting MIDI CC data from OSC in real time

First of all apologies if I get any terminology wrong and such, I'm fairly new to MIDI and to DAWs.

I've ordered a Digitech Whammy guitar effects pedal which is basically a pitch shifting tool with an expression pedal. It has a MIDI input facility that lets you use PC commands to change the mode in which it operates, CC0 to toggle the effect on/off, and CC11 to emulate the position of the expression pedal.

I've also got the TouchOSC app on my phone (http://hexler.net/software/touchosc-android) that lets me send PC and CC commands to Reaper. I've set it up and it appears to be working (if I hit "listen" on the preferences menu in Reaper it seems to respond as it should). The eventual idea is that I can use various buttons, sliders and XY pads on the app to control the Whammy in real time.

My question is this: how would I go about using the MIDI commands that are inputted in to Reaper, to control my pedal in real time? I haven't got a USB-MIDI cable yet but I can't seem to find any option on Reaper that will route the commands it's getting over OSC straight through a USB-MIDI cable.

tl;dr: how to output MIDI commands from OSC to USB-MIDI cable in real time?

Thanks in advance
bnenenenen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 07:49 AM   #2
Banned

Hi bnenenenen, welcome on this forum.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bnenenenen View Post
First of all apologies if I get any terminology wrong and such, I'm fairly new to MIDI and to DAWs.

I've ordered a Digitech Whammy guitar effects pedal which is basically a pitch shifting tool with an expression pedal. It has a MIDI input facility that lets you use PC commands to change the mode in which it operates, CC0 to toggle the effect on/off, and CC11 to emulate the position of the expression pedal.