Old 02-09-2014, 11:14 PM   #1
Adrenochrome
Human being with feelings

Default Dark Rock - "Follow In Her Light"

I've been working on this song for a quite while and have just updated the mix, sort of a dark "anthemic" rock piece. Please give it a listen and let me know where it could be improved or if anything is sticking out as horribly "wrong." Keeping perspective on your own work is so very, very tough.

https://soundcloud.com/machinery-of-...w-in-her-light
Adrenochrome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 12:19 PM   #2
msundh

There's a lot of fighting going on here The vocal have trouble getting thru.
I also Think the drums are too low.
I'm a rookie at mixing so I'm not sure if it is EQ'ing or side chaining the guitar that needs to be done.
Great song anyway!
Old 02-12-2014, 03:52 PM   #3
jalan

I love the way this started, but to be completely honest, the vocals killed it for me (sorry). After they come in, it's harder to hear/focus on the music, but I got the sense the drums, or at least some of the tom accents, were a little off time…? It also seems like this could use a heavier guitar tone considering the vibe of the song.

The loop stuff was cool though. Liked the bass tone as well. Overall, the mix seemed fairly balanced, just not sure on some of the tones/performances. Just my two cents.
Old 02-12-2014, 08:56 PM   #4
Adrenochrome

Thanks for the comments guys, I appreciate both of you taking the time to make them.

Yeah, there might be a little too much going on at once in there, which makes everything have to be thinner and smaller to fit (such as the guitars, which are savagely high-passed and notched-out).

My timing certainly isn't robotic. I'll check out those tom fills and see if I can nudge them a bit.

My voice, unfortunately, is my voice. Was there anything in particular that put you off, or was it a stylistic thing?