Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2019, 09:27 AM   #1
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Twiddy, Alabama
Posts: 1,959
Default bug - massive, 50db POP when moving stretched content under play cursor (FIXED)

i've been trying to figure out the cause of this one for months, and finally found it.

i edit my audio items while the playback cursor loops the relevant section.
this means that i'm often cutting, moving, pasting, stretching, and otherwise editing items that are being played.

many, many times per session, i get a massive BANG that clips out my track (and automutes it, if that param is engaged).

today, while testing, i learned that this only happens to STRETCHED items (either by playrate or by stretch markers).

here's a gif. no master fx, track gain neutral, no track fx. watch the meter. it clips to 15db first, then to 55db.

if you have a reverb on your track when you do this, it's utter insanity.



at the end of this gif, i demonstrate how this doesn't seem to happen to non-stretched audio (and this is a wav)

i don't care how this is solved, but my suggestion would be to disallow REAPER from attempting to play items that are being "held" by the mouse. wait for the user to release the item before attempting to play, and apply a tiny fade to items that are newly dropped over a moving play cursor.
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° reluctantly switched to using Ableton for live performance and actually enjoying it

Last edited by mccrabney; 09-09-2019 at 12:42 PM.
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 10:43 AM   #2
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,427
Default

What pitch shift/timestretch mode is this using?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 12:41 PM   #3
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Twiddy, Alabama
Posts: 1,959
Default

elastique 3.30 pro normal, balanced.
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° reluctantly switched to using Ableton for live performance and actually enjoying it
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 01:41 PM   #4
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccrabney View Post
elastique 3.30 pro normal, balanced.
Does it do the same thing with SoundTouch or RBL?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 04:05 PM   #5
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Twiddy, Alabama
Posts: 1,959
Default

yes, it does. seemed to take more effort to make it happen on Soundtouch, but that may just be the intermittent nature of this issue.

i do know that deleting all stretch markers and changing the rate back to 1 prevents this pop - the master meter maxes out at the loudest point of the sample being manipulated.
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° reluctantly switched to using Ableton for live performance and actually enjoying it
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 05:38 AM   #6
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,427
Default

I'm still trying to reproduce this -- can you make a minimal test project to reproduce and zip it with your reaper.ini and send to support at cockos dot com?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 05:46 AM   #7
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Twiddy, Alabama
Posts: 1,959
Default

sure. will try with a portable install first

i'm also hoping that the guys who chimed in on my FR post will add anything that they've observed that i have missed.
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° reluctantly switched to using Ableton for live performance and actually enjoying it
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 06:20 AM   #8
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Twiddy, Alabama
Posts: 1,959
Default

sent, and reproduced on portable install.

after i sent this, i noticed a doubled stretch marker at the start of the wav - i don't think this has anything to do with the issue. i continued testing, eliminated the double stretch marker, and then found out an easier way to reproduce it: create some itemless parts of the project, so that REAPER goes back and forth between trying to play the item and play silence.



it's in that moment that the issue appears to present itself.

edit - just confirmed that if the play cursor never encounters itemless space, this issue doesn't occur. for example, if you have a 1 beat sample copied after itself with no space between, you can't reproduce this. likewise, alt-scrolling through the contents of 1 item while the play cursor loops on it doesn't trigger the issue. the problem is in the silence
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° reluctantly switched to using Ableton for live performance and actually enjoying it
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 11:29 AM   #9
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,427
Default

Thanks, fixing! A bit of a race condition... in theory it could happen without timestretch, though timestretch makes it more likely. Should be fixed for the next builds (and for 5.984).
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 11:53 AM   #10
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Twiddy, Alabama
Posts: 1,959
Default

thanks!! so glad
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° reluctantly switched to using Ableton for live performance and actually enjoying it
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 06:11 PM   #11
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,427
Default

build posted!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.