Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2019, 01:43 PM   #1
Jontie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Barrowford. NE Lancs. (UK)
Posts: 9
Default Help,,Reaper distorting and speed problems.

Hi Everyone. A newbie to this. I downloaded an evaluation version for a while and decided to have a go at recording. I'm of an age were I find this sort of tech' difficult. However, I eventually managed to produce a track, which I was quite pleased with and decided to buy the licence.

I downloaded it and the most recent update. To my horror, whilst everything was fine with the EV, the licenced one is all distorted and the speed is all wrong (fast). My setup hasn't changed, which is;
Presonus Audiobox interface into Imac running Mojave. I'm not using the Audiobox as Output. I'm using the Mac into Alesis Monitors. LOL, as I'm writing, It occurs to me that I've updated to Mojave from High Sierra, which is what the EV ran on.
I've tried running Audacity and iTunes which both run fine. I've also tried a Scarlett2i and got the same problems.

Any help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanking you in anticipation.
Regards
John
Jontie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 02:57 PM   #2
martifingers
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,733
Default

Hi Jontie. This indeed sounds frustrating but also puzzling since the evaluation versions and the "paid for"version are identical. In fact the only difference AFAIK is that you enter a serial number to remove the "nag" screen. I think therefore that it's not REAPER directly causing the problem.

Can you say what exactly has changed eg are old projects all distorting or just new ones? Does it affect all tracks? Is it obvious when monitoring tracks when in record?

Have you checked all the settings in the Audio Device section in Preferences? I notice you are using the MAC's output and that the OS had recently changed. I am not a MAC expert but I would check here for a mismatch (perhaps sample rate?) Also is the Audiobox driver compatible with your system upgrade? I know Audacity runs fine but might be worth checking.
As you can tell I have no definitive answer - just suggestions to try till the real experts show up!
martifingers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 03:01 AM   #3
Jontie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Barrowford. NE Lancs. (UK)
Posts: 9
Default

Hi Martin, thank you for the reply. I have access to a Mac that's still got the "High Sierra" OS on it. I'll try downloading Reaper into that and see if I still get the same result.
Jontie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 05:05 PM   #4
Jontie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Barrowford. NE Lancs. (UK)
Posts: 9
Default

H Martin,
All tracks were distorting. I've disconnected the interface and put it on the other Mac. Reaper is now playing fine. I'll try the Scarlett in it again tomorrow.

Meanwhile, on the other Mac, with "High Sierra"' I've managed to download the licence version and it played a backing track OK, I then armed a 2nd track, but can't get any sound out of it.
I've selected sample rate 48000, input... audiobox.....Output PnP usb Audio Device and I've got monitor on auto. No movement on the meter with guitar plugged in.
Be gentle with me guys, I'm really struggling here.LOL
Jontie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 06:57 PM   #5
vdubreeze
Human being with feelings
 
vdubreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 1,763
Default

Hi Jontie,

It sounds like you're saying that when you removed the interface (and let Reaper default to the Mac system audio outputs since it couldn't locate any others) the project sounded right. And that using either interface yielded the distortion.

One thing that immediately occurred to me is that using the Mac's audio output instead of the interface's, while the interface is selected as device in the preferences, is sort of a recipe for odd behavior. Use the main outputs of the interface instead, if only to check this out. Also, using headphones from the interface and seeing how it sounds will be a clue. If it sounds fine there then the distortion is happening after the audio leaves Reaper and is past the interface.

I'll wager Audacity and iTunes are sounding OK because even if the interface is plugged in it's not being selected as being in use by the apps, so it's ignored and not in use. Reaper is working fine when the interface isn't selected, so I think it has to do with if the interface is selected in the prefs then you need to use that for the output.

As far as the monitoring of the track, "arm" the record on the track. First check that the track input is indeed set to get signal from the input the guitar is plugged into, turn up the input on the interface to see level on that input, and push the record button on the track (but don't hit the record function on the transport, it can just stay still). Toggle through the different monitor settings on the monitor button on the track to make sure you're in the mode you want to be in. If all those ducks are in a row, you should see level : )
__________________
The reason rain dances work is because they don't stop dancing until it rains.

Last edited by vdubreeze; 09-16-2019 at 07:04 PM.
vdubreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 07:34 AM   #6
Jontie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Barrowford. NE Lancs. (UK)
Posts: 9
Default

Hi VDU', you raise some good points. many thanks. I'll play with it tonight and keep you posted.
Cheers
Jontie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 08:56 AM   #7
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8,268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jontie View Post
Hi Everyone. A newbie to this. I downloaded an evaluation version for a while and decided to have a go at recording. I'm of an age were I find this sort of tech' difficult. However, I eventually managed to produce a track, which I was quite pleased with and decided to buy the licence.

I downloaded it and the most recent update. To my horror, whilst everything was fine with the EV, the licenced one is all distorted and the speed is all wrong (fast). My setup hasn't changed, which is;
Presonus Audiobox interface into Imac running Mojave. I'm not using the Audiobox as Output. I'm using the Mac into Alesis Monitors. LOL, as I'm writing, It occurs to me that I've updated to Mojave from High Sierra, which is what the EV ran on.
I've tried running Audacity and iTunes which both run fine. I've also tried a Scarlett2i and got the same problems.

Any help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanking you in anticipation.
Regards
John
It sounds like the root of your problems is you are not using both of your audio interfaces together correctly.

First, you have two audio interfaces. The one built into your computer logic board and the Focusrite.

DAW apps let you connect to a single audio interface at a time.

You make what's called an aggregate device with your OS audio utility. (This is not done in the DAW app.) Then you select the aggregate device instead of one or the other single devices in Reaper. Use the Audio MIDI Setup utility app for this (ASIO for Windows users).

There's a second step required here to sync the multiple digital devices to the same sample rate clock. It's a little complicated by the fact that one of these interfaces is built-in to the computer and thus has no clock connections. What usually works is to make the built-in interface clock master and make the external interface clock to the built-in interface over the data connection. This usually works at SD sample rates but often not at HD sample rates.

There are more threads around here to look up regarding aggregate device setups.

As soon as you start using more than one digital device together, you need to pick one of them to use the sample rate clock and slave all other devices to it. This isn't just recommended... it's required.

If you only connect to one device (interface) at a time, it stays on the default internal clock setting and you can stay completely unaware of any of this.


Now in hindsight...
Maybe you tried to do something the hard way for no good reason (got to start somewhere) and you don't really need to use two audio interfaces together to accomplish what you're after. If you do though... that's how it's done. If not, maybe this helps explain a couple things and leads to a simpler setup.

Last edited by serr; 09-17-2019 at 09:02 AM.
serr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 02:41 PM   #8
Jontie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Barrowford. NE Lancs. (UK)
Posts: 9
Default

Hi Guys, Just to put you in the picture, I'm not feeling too well at the mo', so haven't been able to play with it. Hopefully be better by weekend.
Serr, thank you for your reply.
Jontie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 01:14 AM   #9
Jontie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Barrowford. NE Lancs. (UK)
Posts: 9
Default

Good Morning all, I'm feeling a little better now (chemo) so I've been playing with it again. Thanks to your help / advice, I've had some degree of success. The interface seems to be working OK. The guitar registers on the meter and it's loud and clear through the monitors, alongside the backing track, which is playing.
What isn't happening though, is that even though I've armed the track to record, it isn't.
No doubt, something obvious, that an old fool like me has overlooked LOL!!
Jontie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 03:05 AM   #10
martifingers
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,733
Default

Hi Jontie. Welcome back and hope things are too awful for you just now.
As to Reaper matters, so you have the guitar registering on the meter, armed the track and try to record. When you press Stop (or use the space bar) Reaper should then prompt you to either Save All or Delete selected takes etc. Are you seeing that?
Also as you record does the waveform appear on the track?
martifingers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 06:36 AM   #11
Jontie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Barrowford. NE Lancs. (UK)
Posts: 9
Default

Hi Martin, It asks me if I wish to save the BT. No wave form showing at all.

Thanks
Jontie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 09:49 AM   #12
Jontie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Barrowford. NE Lancs. (UK)
Posts: 9
Default

Martin, silly b****r that I am. It does help if, having armed the track, I hit the RECORD button LOL!
Jontie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 10:46 AM   #13
Jontie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Barrowford. NE Lancs. (UK)
Posts: 9
Default success!!

Hitting the RECORD tab does work. LOL. Many thanks to all for your assistance, I've no doubt there'll be lots more silly questions to come from me.

Regards to all
Jontie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2019, 04:03 AM   #14
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,941
Default

Well done for figuring it out! I`m one of the lucky ones, so I know how hard it is to focus on stuff when you`re down. Hang in there!
__________________
Brexit Schmexit. Lets have a violent revolution instead. Bagsy the first go with a nuke! (Here, Moggy Moggy...)
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2019, 01:20 PM   #15
martifingers
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,733
Default

Sorry Jontie for missing the last couple of posts - I wish I could claim it was a deliberate policy to allow you to work things out for yourself but it wasn't! Anyhow glad the fog is starting to clear so to speak and that you can start to get creative again.
martifingers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.