Old 11-14-2019, 07:15 PM   #1
Freeman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 12
Default Updating Reaper

Hello, I am trying to update Reaper for the first time. I did see a thread regarding updating. I used the standard install option. Reaper is in my Opt location. From the download page I chose open. I used open with archive manager default. I navigated to opt than Reaper than chose extract. I got file not extracted you do not have permission to extract to the opt directory. Any tip on what to do.
Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 08:07 PM   #2
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 4,133
Default

Try running the install script just like the original install and it will install the new right over the old.
__________________
Glennbo
Hear My Music - Click Me!!!
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 06:21 PM   #3
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 416
Default

I like to rename the old folder, and extract the new version
where I want. No big deal, but I experienced a regression once,
in the mid 3.x era, I believe. One temporary issue since
before V 2? Pretty high standard of coding!!!
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2019, 11:20 AM   #4
zoso2
Human being with feelings
 
zoso2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 618
Default

You don't need to extract the package to that directory. That is where the script installs Reaper but you can extract the package wherever you want. Try extracting it to your downloads folder or your desktop and then install it. Also double check your /opt folder permissions and the folder permissions of any of the Reaper folders in there. Archive manager may not be able to overwrite some of the files or folders.

First thing to try is just extract to a different location and let the script install it in the /opt folder. This will also keep your /opt folder clean of stuff that doesn't need to be there.

As @4duhwinnn mentioned, rename the old Reaper version in the /opt folder to [filename].old then you'll have something to roll back to if the other install doesn't work and keep the old install out of the way so you don't have any conflicting files
zoso2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.