Old 01-29-2019, 08:05 PM   #1
Curtis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 708
Default Version 6 native instruments - Solved

Does native instruments, in version 6 support vsti3.

Last edited by Curtis; 01-30-2019 at 01:46 AM.
Curtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 12:55 AM   #2
chuckwood
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Curtis View Post
Does native instruments, in version 6 support vsti3.
By version 6 do you mean Kontakt 6? I don't think any Native Instruments stuff has a vst3 version yet.
chuckwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 01:23 AM   #3
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,047
Default

Not a single NI plugin supports VST3 yet.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 01:42 AM   #4
Curtis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 708
Default

Thank you for you responses. This product is basically obsolete without vsti3.

Last edited by Curtis; 01-30-2019 at 05:20 AM.
Curtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 07:53 AM   #5
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,283
Default

VST3 still seems to be a moving target, as I found that rather ubiquitous stuff in Kontakt like receiving Midi CC messages, is not provided by VST3.

I suppose Reaper provides some support for enabling this under the hood, but I am not decently informed.

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 08:21 AM   #6
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,454
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Curtis View Post
Thank you for you responses. This product is basically obsolete without vsti3.
Not sure, what makes you think so.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2019, 01:07 AM   #7
Curtis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 708
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Not sure, what makes you think so.
Take a look at other product's available they have vst3 and 64 bit, even many of the free products have vst3 and 64 bit whereas NI has neither in there product. I would never pay the price they want for theirs when they are not in sync with other products available.
Curtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2019, 03:14 AM   #8
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
VST3 still seems to be a moving target, as I found that rather ubiquitous stuff in Kontakt like receiving Midi CC messages, is not provided by VST3.
That's MIDI learn. And it's been added in VST3.6 as mentioned in a prior thread.

But yes, it's definitely a moving target.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2019, 03:17 AM   #9
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Curtis View Post
Take a look at other product's available they have vst3 and 64 bit, even many of the free products have vst3 and 64 bit whereas NI has neither in there product. I would never pay the price they want for theirs when they are not in sync with other products available.
You are looking at it the wrong way.

There is nothing wrong with VST2 - it works great and will continue to do so for years to come. VST3 has had an awful lot of problems for a long time, including just being too different from VST2 and many devs didn't like that. Also when you have quite old codebases (15 years or more, like it's the case with Kontakt and Reaktor), implementing VST3 is far from easy.

Not supporting VST3 doesn't mean the product is obsolete. There are still more DAWs that don't support VST3 that do, which doesn't make them obsolete, people still use them. VST2 will work pretty much everywhere, VST3 won't.


Also you're entirely wrong on 64-bit. All NI products have 64-bit.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2019, 06:31 AM   #10
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,283
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Curtis View Post
NI has neither in there product
Why do you think NI products are not 64 Bit ?
-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.