Old 01-28-2019, 07:17 AM   #1
andivax
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 225
Default How to record to opened MIDI item?

hi!

I use "passthru" function in MIDI Editor which passes my RECORD command.
But it records into NEW item instead of current opened.
Is it possible to record notes into already opened MIDI item?


please help!
__________________
WWW.ANDIVAXMASTERING.COM
andivax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2019, 07:48 AM   #2
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Twiddy, Alabama
Posts: 1,962
Default

right click the track in tcp and select midi overdub, it's the midi recording mode that will make more sense to ~90% of people who have ever used midi before.
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° reluctantly switched to using Ableton for live performance and actually enjoying it
mccrabney is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2019, 08:02 AM   #3
andivax
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 225
Default

thank you!
but I need overdub only when my MIDI item is OPEN. To record inside it.
When it is closed I use "Record: input (audio or MIDI)" mode all the time.
__________________
WWW.ANDIVAXMASTERING.COM
andivax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2019, 08:26 AM   #4
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Twiddy, Alabama
Posts: 1,962
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andivax View Post
thank you!
but I need overdub only when my MIDI item is OPEN. To record inside it.
When it is closed I use "Record: input (audio or MIDI)" mode all the time.
as far as i know there isn't a non-user created way to automatically switch between the two. however, maybe if you explained your use case a little more thoroughly, i'd have another idea for you. why do you only want to overdub when the item is open? note that even when the track is set to overdub (and if there is no midi item) a midi item will be created upon receiving midi data
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° reluctantly switched to using Ableton for live performance and actually enjoying it
mccrabney is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2019, 09:11 AM   #5
andivax
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 225
Default

I just need to add something in opened midi item )
__________________
WWW.ANDIVAXMASTERING.COM
andivax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2019, 10:46 AM   #6
J Reverb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 656
Default

Here's a LUA script (attached)that toggles record modes to help when recording midi.
Details and options are inside script.
You can toggle between mode 1, mode 2, and off
You need to configure which modes you want to switch between.

Currently it is set to toggle Input only monitoring to midi overdub replace as this is useful when working with midi, but this can be changed.

This is only a rough working version btw it is supposed to be an alternative to cycle record modes action.

I normally have the script mapped to a key next to my record key
and enter key to open close midi editor while recording.

J.
J Reverb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2019, 11:42 AM   #7
andivax
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 225
Default

thank you!
it won't work as is but I have edited to:
set_mode=7
------------------------------------------------------------------
toggle_mode=0
------------------------------------------------------------------
always_armed=1

and it works!

but how can I setup it in CYCLE ACTION window just for using inside ITEMS?

thank you!
__________________
WWW.ANDIVAXMASTERING.COM
andivax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2019, 11:49 AM   #8
J Reverb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 656
Default

I'm not quite sure what you mean?

Do you need one more 'passthru' key perhaps?
Just add another shortcut in actions window along side your record key in 'passthru'. In MIDI editor actions

J.
J Reverb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2019, 12:38 PM   #9
andivax
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 225
Default

I want to use overdub mode only while i am inside ITEM.
__________________
WWW.ANDIVAXMASTERING.COM
andivax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2019, 10:30 PM   #10
J Reverb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 656
Default

Try this,

You will need to pass the action key that is mapped in the MIDI editor and use the action to open/close editor for this to work.
There's an option to toggle monitor mode which I personally find the most useful but script is currently set to toggle back to Record: input (audio or MIDI)
also recording gets switched off on exit of midi editor to prevent overwriting stuff, you can --dash these out if preferred

Info in the script.

J.
J Reverb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 11:58 AM   #11
andivax
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 225
Default

thank you!
it works!
but when I close MIDI editor using ENTER (Isetup "pass thru" for it), it automatically PLAYS and RECORDS ))
__________________
WWW.ANDIVAXMASTERING.COM
andivax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 12:13 PM   #12
J Reverb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 656
Default

try this one with record on exit line disabled.

It's quite a nice way of working actually, good idea

Only problem is when you accidentally exit and change to input mode and it starts recording audio
That's why I included the record toggle off or switch to monitor mode other than that should be ok.

Last edited by J Reverb; 01-29-2019 at 12:19 PM.
J Reverb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2019, 04:51 AM   #13
andivax
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 225
Default

yes! it works! thank you!!!
__________________
WWW.ANDIVAXMASTERING.COM
andivax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.