Old 02-11-2015, 11:28 AM   #1
EgM
Human being with feelings
 
EgM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 123
Default Edit midi editor timeline font

Hi everyone, I've managed to change the main screen timeline font, but I can't seem to find it for the midi editor. Is there any place in reaper.ini I could locate the 1.1, 1.2, 1.3 font size?

tl;dr I don't like the 1.1,1.2,1.3 markings on the ruler in the midi editor, I only want the measures to be shown, is there somewhere I can find it?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg midiruler.jpg (17.3 KB, 179 views)
__________________
Eric E. Hache
Game music composer @ www.gamemusic.ca
Main (iMac27, Mid'11, i7-2600/16G, 10.11) VEP5-Slave (i7-3770/32G, Win8.1-64)
EgM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 08:39 PM   #2
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: They put me in a home.
Posts: 2,957
Default

I'd like to know this too, I've tried to change the font SIZE but can only seem to change the color. Why is it so disorganized in Reaper when it comes to customizing lol some edits are PNG hacks, some are theme tweaks, it's so convoluted to find where all these are ;p

Any guru out there can help? I'm tired of squinting in Reaper, I mean, it's like Kontakt sometimes! Damn Tedious tiny arrows and squinty fonts LOL haha

Sorry, but this is a joke on a 28" 1080p HDMI monitor in 2016 folks:
Attached Images
File Type: png a joke.png (622 Bytes, 298 views)
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 09:13 PM   #3
Troy
Human being with feelings
 
Troy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Western Hemisphere
Posts: 376
Default

Yeah, I'm running a 27" at 2560x1440 and can barely read a lot of the UI. I've actually created a macro to open and close the magnifier tool at my mouse pointer so I don't have to keep leaning into the screen. Of course I do have poor vision, but still...
Troy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2016, 01:01 PM   #4
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: They put me in a home.
Posts: 2,957
Default

Nobody knows how to increase the size of the MIDI EDITOR timeline font? Please?
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2016, 01:07 PM   #5
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,050
Default

I don't think you can...
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2016, 01:21 PM   #6
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: They put me in a home.
Posts: 2,957
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
I don't think you can...
Oh. Well that sucks lol. It's horribly jagged, small, and ugly. No hack exists? Damn. How are you people seeing it clearly on a HD 4K monitor or even a huge 1080p 32 montitor? All other fonts are nice and big and clear, why no MIDI love?
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2016, 01:27 PM   #7
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,050
Default

4K aren't really THAT widespread yet... IMHO people should not go into even 2K before they make sure the apps they use actually support that kind of thing.

No hack exists AFAIK. And indeed, themability in Reaper has been quite neglected since introduction of WALTER in v4...
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2016, 01:32 PM   #8
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: They put me in a home.
Posts: 2,957
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
4K aren't really THAT widespread yet... IMHO people should not go into even 2K before they make sure the apps they use actually support that kind of thing.

No hack exists AFAIK. And indeed, themability in Reaper has been quite neglected since introduction of WALTER in v4...
I don't have 4K yet just curious

I do have a huge 1080p monitor and no joke the MIDI editor timeline font is borderline non-readable. It's quite sad. Jagged faux-alias font galore. It's only that timeline font too.

WALTER was so refreshing for sure!!!! But neglected themeness indeed. Sad Panda. Thanks ED!
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2016, 02:14 PM   #9
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,050
Default

You could always scale the whole Windows UI a bit larger...
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2016, 02:29 PM   #10
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: They put me in a home.
Posts: 2,957
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
You could always scale the whole Windows UI a bit larger...
Yes. Had to revert back after months, I tried it. Just didn't quite feel right to my eyes system wide. Thanks for trying to help me!
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2017, 01:37 AM   #11
mikeroephonics
Human being with feelings
 
mikeroephonics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,482
Default

This needs to be addressed, as well as the font size for the 'Bank/Program Change' lane. These aren't nitpicky requests. It's simply an issue of legibility and to reduce eye strain. I wonder if the current system can't allow for font size changes in the MIDI Editor due to some technical background issues (pure speculation.)
__________________
Please check out these MIDI requests: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=103192
Thanks.
mikeroephonics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2017, 02:36 AM   #12
RobU
Human being with feelings
 
RobU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 802
Default Routing Matrix

ditto the Routing / Grouping Matrix
__________________
Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?
~Edgar Bergen
RobU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2017, 03:05 AM   #13
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,678
Default

Whilst I agree with the "try before you buy" comment on buying ultra high res monitors and also that they arent really THAT prevalent out in the real world yet. this IS still fast becoming the elephant in the room.
Suspect Justin is reluuctant to get the devs working on what has to be a pretty major re-think of the display code, but it aint like its going to go away.
I suppose someone already wrote and posted a well thought-out feature request, somewhat more specific than "I wanna use my new 4k monitor"?
__________________
Brexit Schmexit. Lets have a violent revolution instead. Bagsy the first go with a nuke! (Here, Moggy Moggy...)
ivansc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2019, 07:02 AM   #14
Icchan
Human being with feelings
 
Icchan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 478
Default

EDIT: This has been fixed on version 5.965!

Can't be done at the moment, very annoying since the current font is difficult to read and messy.
__________________
Support FR's to make reaper more usable!
PRE-Fader Metering, TCP Parameter knobs, Splitting Midi Editor, Big MIDI Indicators

Last edited by Icchan; 02-01-2019 at 07:52 AM.
Icchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.