Old 04-09-2020, 08:01 PM   #1
BrentHarmon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 3
Default Behringer X32 DAW Controller with Reaper

Is there a way to setup the Behringer x32 Daw Remote to communicate with Reaper. I have tired a few videos and only seems to control the Mix Bus side of the x32 and not the regular 1-32 side

Thanks
BrentHarmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 10:21 PM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,012
Default

Welcome to the Reaper Forums "

The CSI Reaper plugin should be able to do this (using the appropriate set of configuration files).
Beware that it seems that the X32 only sends out 7 Bit Midi for the faders on USB, which seems to be poor for mixing purpose. Maybe it provides higher resolution on OSC, but this seems not to be confirmed, yet.

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 04-10-2020 at 03:35 AM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 02:56 AM   #3
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,908
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrentHarmon View Post
Is there a way to setup the Behringer x32 Daw Remote to communicate with Reaper. I have tired a few videos and only seems to control the Mix Bus side of the x32 and not the regular 1-32 side

Thanks
Are you technical at all ?

CSI, the project we work on -- there's and endlesss thread in this forum , has support for OSC.

The X32 speaks many dialects of OSC, we have been waiting for an early adopter to get this going, there will lots of trials and tribulations, but the result will be worth it (hopefully)

Are you up for that ?
__________________
CSI - You can donate here: geoffwaddington.ca
Beta software: https://stash.reaper.fm/v/38349/CSI%20beta.zip
installation and documentation here: https://github.com/malcolmgroves/reaper_csi/wiki
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 03:41 AM   #4
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,012
Default

I suppose there will be a lot of opportunities to get an X32 very cheap.
A German Music Store offers to give you € 1000 for one if you buy the new "Wing" Mixer.

While the Wing seems a really great desk, it lacks the count of analog ins, an X32 features. Hence to get an X32 for some €1000 seems like a great deal, even if you use it only as a Control Surface for Reaper. Any you can use it as an Audio interface as well, at the same time.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2020, 01:38 PM   #5
David_M
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Italy
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrentHarmon View Post
Is there a way to setup the Behringer x32 Daw Remote to communicate with Reaper. I have tired a few videos and only seems to control the Mix Bus side of the x32 and not the regular 1-32 side

Thanks
hi BrentHarmon

https://sites.google.com/site/patric...#TOC-X32Reaper

your solution.

David_M
David_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2020, 02:08 PM   #6
hangnef
Human being with feelings
 
hangnef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrentHarmon View Post
Is there a way to setup the Behringer x32 Daw Remote to communicate with Reaper. I have tired a few videos and only seems to control the Mix Bus side of the x32 and not the regular 1-32 side

Thanks
Do you mean the X-Touch? In addition to what is mentioned above, the klinke plugin works great w/ Reaper.
hangnef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2020, 10:25 PM   #7
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,012
Default

The X32 is a completely different beast than the XTouch. AFAIK not MCI protocol, hence no Klinke.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 12:15 PM   #8
hangnef
Human being with feelings
 
hangnef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
The X32 is a completely different beast than the XTouch. AFAIK not MCI protocol, hence no Klinke.

-Michael
Totally true, I have an x32 rack w/ an x-touch. I was confused by the "daw remote", to me the x-touch is a DAW touch surface/remote and also allows me to remotely control my x32 rack.
hangnef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2020, 07:43 PM   #9
BrentHarmon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hangnef View Post
Do you mean the X-Touch? In addition to what is mentioned above, the klinke plugin works great w/ Reaper.
Yeah I just order the X touch from Guitar Center I should have it by this week Fingers Crossed.
BrentHarmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.