Old 11-10-2020, 11:23 PM   #41
Smokehead
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 18
Default

I'm happy with the MBP 15 2019, didn't have any issues yet. The fan gets active when processing Amp-Sims or Sample/Synth Libs with very low latency. They get pretty loud but for recording it's not that bad. When mixing most of the Tracks are bounced and i'm using a much higher buffer size and the fans keep quiet most of the time.


Yes VSTs have exactly the same problem like any other software. That's what i'm concerned about the most. DAWs will be ported for sure. But a lot of VSTs will take much longer. Especially independent developers and free VST devs maybe don't have that much time to port everything to a new platform and optimize everything for multiple architectures at the same time. But i really hope most of them can be wrapped using Rosetta 2, maybe not running as fast as native but at least running!
Smokehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2020, 03:01 AM   #42
RSG
Human being with feelings
 
RSG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Deepest South Bucks, UK
Posts: 91
Default iOS Apps

Will Reaper be able to host auv3s? And even inter app audio apps via an M1 enabled Mac? That would be rather useful.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.1, Emagic AMT8, iconnectivity Audio 4+, Zoom R24, Novation Mininova.
RSG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2020, 04:35 AM   #43
rstockm
Human being with feelings
 
rstockm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 106
Default

This is what happens if you start REAPER 6.15 on an ARM Mac running Big Sur RC1 with Rosetta2 emulation:



So any news on a schedule?
rstockm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2020, 08:05 AM   #44
cyrano
Human being with feelings
 
cyrano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,954
Default

What happens if you run Reaper on a non-501 account?

Segfaults too?
__________________
Go outside. Now!
You need it.
cyrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2020, 09:14 AM   #45
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 13,037
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rstockm View Post
This is what happens if you start REAPER 6.15 on an ARM Mac running Big Sur RC1 with Rosetta2 emulation:



So any news on a schedule?
Interesting, that's a similar crash to if you run it on a Ryzen hackintosh. Perhaps there's an ICC update that will work, but for now you can try running the clang builds: https://landoleet.org/old/reaper615-clang_x86_64.dmg (not notarized so you'll have to run it via holding shift/right click-opening).

There's a native ARM build: https://landoleet.org/old/reaper614_arm64_notarized.dmg

It should mostly work except for JSFX/video processors/EEL2 reascripts which will all probably crash.

We'll have more information about timing for macOS ARM64 support in a week or two.

Edit: also, can you try the latest (non-clang) ICC prerelease build? It is built with a slightly newer ICC which might fix this issue (it is also not notarized so it will have to be run via shift/right clicking).

Last edited by Justin; 11-11-2020 at 11:27 AM.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2020, 05:21 AM   #46
intoxicat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 31
Default

The benchmarks for M1s are looking very good.

https://www.macrumors.com/2020/11/11...rst-benchmark/

I need a new computer for audio so based on this it feels like getting an intel at this point would be the wrong call.
intoxicat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2020, 07:38 AM   #47
citizenkeith
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 842
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by intoxicat View Post
The benchmarks for M1s are looking very good.

https://www.macrumors.com/2020/11/11...rst-benchmark/

I need a new computer for audio so based on this it feels like getting an intel at this point would be the wrong call.

I'm looking at the M1 Mac Mini for my studio... I'm currently running a hacked Mac Pro 1,1 (running El Capitan) with maxed out processor and RAM, and it's perfectly fine for tracking a band and mixing with Reaper. However, add softsynths and things start getting sluggish. And I don't even bother running a Logic Pro X session!
__________________
http://www.citizenkeith.com
citizenkeith is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2020, 07:49 AM   #48
fetidus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by intoxicat View Post
The benchmarks for M1s are looking very good.

https://www.macrumors.com/2020/11/11...rst-benchmark/

I need a new computer for audio so based on this it feels like getting an intel at this point would be the wrong call.
The initial benchmarks are definitely looking good, but we don't know the real world performance yet, not to mention we have to see how quickly drivers, DAWs and plugins are updated to work well with the new architecture. It's one thing for your apps to run under Rosetta 2, but it may be a while before they're properly optimized. So at this point I'd suggest holding off until you can verify that all your gear and software/plugins work well. And again, it will likely be a while before ALL your software/plugins are actually *optimized* for it. But again, those initial benchmark numbers are looking good and I'm definitely planning on buying one myself... just waiting to see what happens with all the plugins I use, which are many, from many indie developers, so I'm probably going to take my time.

If you have to make a decision right away, and MUST get a machine now, keep in mind there will be ton of Intel Macs going on the used market and you'll have a good chance of scoring a good deal. Then you can move to Apple Silicon when the dust settles.

My two bits.
fetidus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2020, 05:57 PM   #49
rstockm
Human being with feelings
 
rstockm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Interesting, that's a similar crash to if you run it on a Ryzen hackintosh. Perhaps there's an ICC update that will work, but for now you can try running the clang builds: https://landoleet.org/old/reaper615-clang_x86_64.dmg
There's a native ARM build: https://landoleet.org/old/reaper614_arm64_notarized.dmg

It should mostly work except for JSFX/video processors/EEL2 reascripts which will all probably crash.

We'll have more information about timing for macOS ARM64 support in a week or two.

Edit: also, can you try the latest (non-clang) ICC prerelease build? It is built with a slightly newer ICC which might fix this issue
Thank you very much, we're seeing some progress:

- clang build 616rc4 runs perfect (!) - with JSFX,VST and reascript.
- ICC 616rc4 - crash at starT
- native ARM 614 - REAPER itself seems to work, but as predicted VSTs and JSFX crash.
rstockm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2020, 05:37 PM   #50
vocalnick
Human being with feelings
 
vocalnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tasmania
Posts: 553
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rstockm View Post
- clang build 616rc4 runs perfect (!) - with JSFX,VST and reascript.
That looks promising!

I hope you don't mind me chiming in with a question, but have you tried it with any third party VSTs? I've been hunting around for info on whether Rosetta 2 will translate plugins, or just applications...
__________________
www.veryseriousmedia.com
vocalnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2020, 09:40 PM   #51
bobobo
Human being with feelings
 
bobobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 782
Default

vst 3.7 does arm
__________________
Quote:
CLA (about volumelevel) : who gives a shit about that, use your damn ears.
tedious REAPER stuff|my Chordgun Variation|rem __startup.lua|listen
bobobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2020, 06:19 AM   #52
spinal
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 13
Default

So is there anyone that ran reaper on a M1 Mac successfully?
What is the status for reaper and for non reaper plugins?
spinal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2020, 12:50 PM   #53
vocalnick
Human being with feelings
 
vocalnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tasmania
Posts: 553
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobobo View Post
vst 3.7 does arm
Thanks... TBH in the short term I’m mostly curious to see if Rosetta will translate existing plugins.

Presumably most VSTs will be recompiled for the new hardware eventually, but that’s likely to take quite a while.
__________________
www.veryseriousmedia.com
vocalnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2020, 01:59 AM   #54
noisyfrog
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SF CA USA
Posts: 7
Default

I just found this video on YouTube of someone doing a brief test of Reaper and some plug-ins on his new Air:

https://youtu.be/xlvx_-drCE4
noisyfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2020, 03:20 AM   #55
spinal
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noisyfrog View Post
I just found this video on YouTube of someone doing a brief test of Reaper and some plug-ins on his new Air:

https://youtu.be/xlvx_-drCE4
Thank you, it looks ok!
spinal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2020, 10:12 AM   #56
krabbencutter
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by intoxicat View Post
The benchmarks for M1s are looking very good.

https://www.macrumors.com/2020/11/11...rst-benchmark/

I need a new computer for audio so based on this it feels like getting an intel at this point would be the wrong call.
Of course they are. With their own silicon in place, Apple can custom tailor the whole platform to work as efficiently as possible. That alone is a huge advantage compared to universal X86 PCs. But even if every bit of audio software was compatible from day one (which is not the case), those geekbench scores would tell very little about real life performance in a professional audio environment. Running Geekbench on a brand new device is one thing. Running a large scoring session with lots of VI and FX after your mac has been on for 2 months straight is another. I'm sure it's all going to work out eventually, but keep in mind that no one can tell, if the next couple of months are going to be a breeze or a f!cking dumpster fire.
krabbencutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2020, 03:50 PM   #57
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 13,037
Default

Hmm looks like with Big Sur 11.1 the x86_64 6.15 release of REAPER works with Rosetta, anybody want to check that?
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2020, 11:10 PM   #58
rustonium
Human being with feelings
 
rustonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Hmm looks like with Big Sur 11.1 the x86_64 6.15 release of REAPER works with Rosetta, anybody want to check that?
I does run with Rosetta2 on macOS 11.0.1, it works very well! I'm the guy who made the YouTube video that was linked above.

https://youtu.be/xlvx_-drCE4

One issue though: Quitting REAPER sometimes causes it to hang or crash.
rustonium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2020, 08:35 AM   #59
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 5,094
Default

Great amazing vid, thank you !
__________________
Reaper - OSX (always latest version)
OSX Catalina (always latest version)
My Reaper Tips&Tricks: https://www.youtube.com/user/vanhaze2000/playlists
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2020, 10:08 AM   #60
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 13,037
Default

There's now a native arm64 build on landoleet (maybe move discussion of that to the pre-release forum? thanks!)
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2020, 10:26 AM   #61
thevisi0nary
Human being with feelings
 
thevisi0nary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 329
Default

Trying to keep up with Rosetta info, sorry if these questions are mundane. So Rosetta works at the install level and not on the fly? Are there any issues with using an arm native daw and Rosetta emulated plug-ins? Is it better or worse than both the daw and plugins being emulated?

I saw this video of FL studio running through emulation and it did not work out - https://youtu.be/KvdfCqAJ4dE

Based on comments it seems Reaper is able to work, what is the difference between the two?
thevisi0nary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2020, 11:59 AM   #62
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 13,037
Default

Based on what I've seen so far, if you have mostly x86_64 plug-ins (you likely do), then I'd probably run REAPER x86_64 in emulation, it's still pretty good!

If you use mostly REAPER built-in plug-ins or have arm builds of the plugins you use, then the native build is probably better.

The arm build can bridge x86_64 VST2s (with a small performance penalty as usual), but we don't yet support bridging VST3s.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2020, 12:23 PM   #63
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 5,094
Default

Many thx Justin for chiming in with this valuable info.
Amazing that there is already a Reaper - ARM version !
__________________
Reaper - OSX (always latest version)
OSX Catalina (always latest version)
My Reaper Tips&Tricks: https://www.youtube.com/user/vanhaze2000/playlists
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2020, 05:01 PM   #64
noisyfrog
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SF CA USA
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rustonium View Post
I does run with Rosetta2 on macOS 11.0.1, it works very well! I'm the guy who made the YouTube video that was linked above.

https://youtu.be/xlvx_-drCE4

One issue though: Quitting REAPER sometimes causes it to hang or crash.
Cool - thanks for making that video. I was psyched to stumble across it.

Does anyone have any opinions about whether plugins running under Rosetta might run into time-based problems?

I don't need to render huge 8K videos, so I don't care that much about the raw horsepower of M1. What I do want to know is whether I'll be able to record and overdub live instruments without something going awry.
noisyfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2020, 07:23 AM   #65
Vasily
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
The arm build can bridge x86_64 VST2s (with a small performance penalty as usual), but we don't yet support bridging VST3s.
always wondered, if it will be possible to use x86_64 AU plugins on ARM.
is that something that could be supported or it looks like a hard 'no' from Apple?
__________________
Cat's Home
Vasily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2020, 02:42 PM   #66
thevisi0nary
Human being with feelings
 
thevisi0nary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Based on what I've seen so far, if you have mostly x86_64 plug-ins (you likely do), then I'd probably run REAPER x86_64 in emulation, it's still pretty good!

If you use mostly REAPER built-in plug-ins or have arm builds of the plugins you use, then the native build is probably better.

The arm build can bridge x86_64 VST2s (with a small performance penalty as usual), but we don't yet support bridging VST3s.
Thank you very much. If any, what are the more specific problems you have seen come up?
thevisi0nary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 06:42 PM   #67
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 13,037
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vasily View Post
always wondered, if it will be possible to use x86_64 AU plugins on ARM.
is that something that could be supported or it looks like a hard 'no' from Apple?
It looks like Apple is making that supported natively, however at least with REAPER’s use of their implementation, it is unreliable. Maybe they’ll fix it (or maybe we will?)
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 02:37 PM   #68
Meo-Ada Mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
Meo-Ada Mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Leipzig
Posts: 1,622
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
There's now a native arm64 build on landoleet (maybe move discussion of that to the pre-release forum? thanks!)
I created a dedicated thread for that:

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....61#post2368261
__________________
Use you/she/her, when contacting me, please. Thanks :) Not mentoring via PMs, sorry.
Ultraschall-API - 1351 ReaScript functions for Reaper - Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper - Donate, if you wish
Meo-Ada Mespotine is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.