Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Video Editing/Mangling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2018, 05:09 AM   #1
Winfield
Human being with feelings
 
Winfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Underground Bunker
Posts: 706
Default Can track (video) fx only affect one track?

Hi, is it possible to have track-fx only affect items on the one track (that the effect is on) and not all the 'lower' video tacks?

The use-case here is, that I have a lot of video-text-items (on one track) that needs the same xy adjustment, that is different from the rest of video tracks.

I guess there are workarounds with rendering, or item fx, but that would loose some (much needed) flexibility later on - so I don't see that a an option here.

Thank you
W
__________________
"if DAWs are religions, REAPER is atheism" - The big J
__________________
Windows 10x64 | Asus Z170-a i7, 32GB ram | RME-Digiface USB
Winfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 07:19 AM   #2
Eliseat
Human being with feelings
 
Eliseat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Cologne
Posts: 1,362
Default

Yes, that's a big problem in my opinion. wwwmaze also posted some thought about it as this seems just not logical.
The workaround would be to lay such a track at the end of the track stack but that doesn't work for all situations. An example would be if you want blur only on one track while other tracks also are visible. This blurry track has to be the last in the stack if not everything below also will be blurred. But if one of the other track also has something special which affects the whole stack you get stuck here.

The best thing would be, if only folders would be mixing everything together while separate tracks keep their effects on their own. Or this needs kind of an divider/separator. Or there must be a separate input definition in the programming language which only allows one track input without blend possibility. For blur or something like that it would be a great option. But I have no idea how this could be done.

for the moment I can't find where wwwmaze wrote his thought about that. Will edit the post if I have found it.
Eliseat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 02:04 PM   #3
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,737
Default

Yes, some of the presets implement this, but here's a preset which, if you put it last on a track, will only make the track FX used when the track has video items:
Code:
// makes track FX only used where track has video items
input = input_track(0);
input > input_next_item(0) ? input=0;

input_info(input,project_w,project_h);
gfx_blit(input);
If you're using the latest +dev builds, this can be optimized slightly:
Code:
// makes track FX only used where track has video items
input = input_track(0);
input <= input_next_item(0) ? (
  input_info(input,project_w,project_h);
  gfx_blit(input);
);
Also, you can of course put video FX on video items, or on MIDI items if you want them to operate only for that time period (they can still read video from tracks upstream etc).

Caveat: this doesn't handle being the only FX on a track properly (will figure out a workaround for that -- not that it's useful as the only FX on a track).

Last edited by Justin; 12-21-2018 at 02:30 PM. Reason: updated with helper presets
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 02:24 PM   #4
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,592
Default

what would I need if I wanted the rotation part of "// Track opacity/zoom/pan"
to only apply to images, text, or lines/shapes draw by a video processor?
need some easy way to apply processing only to the output of previous video processor in same chain.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 02:30 PM   #5
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,737
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
what would I need if I wanted the rotation part of "// Track opacity/zoom/pan"
to only apply to images, text, or lines/shapes draw by a video processor?
need some easy way to apply processing only to the output of previous video processor in same chain.
Put it on a track by itself (with the previous processor), then blend it with whatever else as you like from another track?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 05:08 PM   #6
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Put it on a track by itself (with the previous processor), then blend it with whatever else as you like from another track?
it rotates the background video as well.
the text and lines are made in video processor. its even worse if you want the drawing to rotate different from the text.

Works differently with image files, pretty much fine.

__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.