Old 09-14-2018, 11:06 AM   #1
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings

Default LinVST Questions

Ok, so I've been through the LinVST readme and tried to give this a go but there is a lot as a newbie I'm not able to decipher at this point. I know this is very basic but maybe someone could help?

1) If I go to the Github Repository and donwload LinVST, do I have to manually compile it? I grabbed LinVST from the AUR Repository and built it, but I don't see the files in /usr/bin that the readme is referring to. And yes, I'm stupid and don't know how to do that.

2) In the readme it states LinVST assumes Wine is in /usr/bin. Mine is in home/user/.wine. What should I do to point LinVST to the current Wine location?

3) Again this is very basic and I apologize, but I'm putting lin-vst-server.exe and lin-vst-server.so in /usr/bin. I then put linvst.so into the same folder as the Window VST and rename it with the same name as the Windows VST. At that point what do I do? I obviously point Reaper to the VST folder I want scanned but don't I need to actually convert the VST? I didn't find the readme very clear on this. And yes, if I didn't mention it before I am stupid.

4) Are there any realtime tweaks Wine needs or Wine RT or anything like that I need to change or will Wine Staging work fine as is for plugins like Kontakt?

Thanks for tolerating my stupidity!
Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 12:16 PM   #2
Glennbo

One of the files at GitHub is just a compressed file that you extract to the location of your choice. I dropped it into a folder in my home folder. The process from there is pretty simple. Get your plugins installed in WINE, and then run LinVSTconvert, which pops up a panel asking where the .so template to use and where the .dlls live in WINE. After setting those you press Start and in less than a second, it does it.
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 12:21 PM   #3
Klangfarben