Old 04-14-2015, 06:06 AM   #1
MaleXLR
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Wakefield, New Zealand
Posts: 56
Default MIDI Velocity Problem

This is a hardware, rather than a Reaper issue.

I have a Technics P-30 piano and no matter how hard you thump her, she never gets close to a velocity of 127.

Does anyone know of a hardware solution that might help? If it was boosting, it would have to be variable and as it is asynchronous serial data I suspect that simple voltage increases just aren't going to cut it!
MaleXLR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 09:02 AM   #2
MidiDreamer
Human being with feelings
 
MidiDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Finally HOME in OREGON!
Posts: 562
Default MIDI

Some of the earlier Yamaha products actually only went to velocity of 100. Does yours go over 100?
No hardware suggestions here, but you could use a MIDI filter and boost your total output accordingly.
Peace
MidiDreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 09:37 AM   #3
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 7,177
Default

you sure your keyboard doesn't have a velocity sensitivity option? most do.
__________________
Myyy Wyyyrd Music
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 11:49 AM   #4
ReaperMadness
Human being with feelings
 
ReaperMadness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Great Lakes, N. A.
Posts: 1,799
Default

Here:

http://service.us.panasonic.com/OPERMANPDF/SXP30.PDF

Page 8: 1-127.
__________________
= Private Winter =
ReaperMadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 05:20 PM   #5
MaleXLR
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Wakefield, New Zealand
Posts: 56
Default

Thanks Guys,

So it seems that it will do 127, but you would have to hit it with a sledgehammer!

It's a great weighted keyboard, but very little control. No menus, bells or whistles.

I did come across a MIDI Velocity FX on Sonar:

http://www.cakewalk.com/Documentatio...ngMIDI.57.html

I have just started using rewire so that I can access Sonar for MIDI. I haven't tried the FX yet and hope that it affects incoming MIDI and doesn't just process already recorded data.

However, even if this fixes recording issues, it doesn't help when gigging!

I have seen various solutions including going through MIDIox, but no hardware options.
MaleXLR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 05:37 PM   #6
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 7,177
Default

there are a number of velocity scaling js plugins with reaper, search "velocity" in you fx list to locate them.
__________________
Myyy Wyyyrd Music
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 05:40 PM   #7
viscofisy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dalriada
Posts: 13,294
Default

There are velocity curve VSTs, but also (apparently...I've never used them) JS effects plugins.

See this thread :

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=107533
viscofisy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.