Old 03-29-2013, 11:58 AM   #1
Foolforalifetime91
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Default Podcasting help

I'm very new to Reaper, and while I've heard great things about it, it's a bit intimidating to a newcomer like myself.

I'm starting a podcast next week. It's a 3-person show, with two of us in the same room and the third person on Skype. I'll be recording on my laptop, running Windows 7 (64-bit, I believe). My mics will be ran through a mixer and then direct line into the input jack on my laptop and I bought a headphone splitter for myself and the other member of the show that will be recording in person with me.

So what I need to know is a couple of things. First, how do I set Reaper to record both our audio input that's going in through the mic jack and also the audio from my buddy on Skype, which I assume would be coming from the sound card in my laptop. Second, how do I set up the monitoring so that, through our headphones, we can hear both ourselves through the mics and our friend on Skype?

Thank you so much for your time. :]
Foolforalifetime91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 05:27 AM   #2
Jeffsounds
Human being with feelings
 
Jeffsounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northeast Michigan
Posts: 3,044
Default

Use Call Graph to record the conversation, edit and mix in Reaper.
__________________
"Music is a fundamental human desire." - Mike Butera
Jeffsounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 07:07 AM   #3
jamrock
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 11
Default Skype Recording

Did you find a solution for recording your podcast?


Here is the setup that worked for me up until yesterday:

- - -

LINEIN
• Input: Built in Mic (or External Mic if you have an external Mic)
• Output: Soundflower 64ch
• Click “PassThru” (you should see sound meter responding to your voice)


MAC Settings
• Click Apple Icon
• Click “System Preferences”
• Click “Sound”
• Input: Internal Mic (or External Mic if you have an external mic)
• Output: Headset
• Click “Energy Saver”
• “Put Hard Disk to Sleep When Possible” - OFF


SOUNDFLOWER
• Soundflower 2ch: None (off)
Channel 1: none
Channel 2: none
• Soundflower 64ch: None (off)
Channel 1: none
Channel 2: none
Channel 3: none
Channel 4: none


SKYPE
• Preferences
• Audio
• Audio Output/Speakers: Soundflower 64ch
• Audio Input: Built in Mic (or external mic)
• Ringing: Soundflower 64ch

To Test Skype, click record button in Reaper, then call Skype Test Call (Echo123)



REAPER
• Preferences
• Audio
• Device
• Input Device: Soundflower 64ch
• “Allow use of different input and output devices” ✓
• Output Device: Built-In Output
• Apply

Guest
• arm record button (or you will not hear guest)
• Input: Stereo: Input 1 / Input 2
• Monitor: On (right click triangle)
• Monitor Input ✓

Host
• arm record button
• Input: Stereo: Input 3 / Input 4


After adjusting the above settings go back to Skype.


SKYPE
• Dial Guest (audio only for best audio quality)

After dialing guest go back to Reaper.


REAPER
• Click main large Record button to begin recording
jamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 11:41 AM   #4
Jeffsounds
Human being with feelings
 
Jeffsounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northeast Michigan
Posts: 3,044
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamrock View Post
Here is the setup that worked for me up until yesterday:
UNTIL yesterday? So it's not working today? Confused...
__________________
"Music is a fundamental human desire." - Mike Butera
Jeffsounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 12:17 PM   #5
jamrock
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 11
Default

It was working great for many months. Then yesterday I could not hear my guest (they could hear me) on Skype and neither my voice nor theirs was being recorded by Reaper. I have been trying to resolve the issue but not sure what may be the problem all of a sudden.
jamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 01:39 PM   #6
memyselfandus
Human being with feelings
 
memyselfandus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffsounds View Post
Use Call Graph to record the conversation, edit and mix in Reaper.
which link is it?
memyselfandus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 03:26 PM   #7
Jeffsounds
Human being with feelings
 
Jeffsounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northeast Michigan
Posts: 3,044
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamrock View Post
It was working great for many months. Then yesterday I could not hear my guest (they could hear me) on Skype and neither my voice nor theirs was being recorded by Reaper. I have been trying to resolve the issue but not sure what may be the problem all of a sudden.
Hmmmm... Callgraph was working fine for me until last month. Then it quit right after I updated Skype. I wonder if that had anything to do with it. I'm looking for another way to record Skype calls now but not having any luck. The new Voicemeeter thing looks like it may do it NOW but I didn't have any luck with it in the past. Maybe the newer version is easier to work with.
__________________
"Music is a fundamental human desire." - Mike Butera
Jeffsounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 03:27 PM   #8
Jeffsounds
Human being with feelings
 
Jeffsounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northeast Michigan
Posts: 3,044
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by memyselfandus View Post
which link is it?
Ignore that link. (see previous post)
__________________
"Music is a fundamental human desire." - Mike Butera
Jeffsounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 01:01 PM   #9
jamrock
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 11
Default

Have you found a new solution to recording Skype Jeff?
jamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 01:12 PM   #10
jamrock
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffsounds View Post
Hmmmm... Callgraph was working fine for me until last month. Then it quit right after I updated Skype. I wonder if that had anything to do with it. I'm looking for another way to record Skype calls now but not having any luck. The new Voicemeeter thing looks like it may do it NOW but I didn't have any luck with it in the past. Maybe the newer version is easier to work with.
Before switching to Reaper I used to record Skype using Garageband. This no longer works either, so you may be right about the new Skype update causing incompatibility issues Jeff.

Please let me know if you find a solution to recording Skype.

Thank you.
jamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 03:09 PM   #11
mikeypee
Human being with feelings
 
mikeypee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 660
Default

Here's an idea: Why not have your friend also record their audio, on their own computer/reaper/mic, and send you the wav files? Then you could just mute the skype track and overlay their remote wav file onto a new track, and everyone would sound hi quality.

You'd still have a conversational delay, and you'd probably have to resync their remote file every 5 minutes or so... but it'd be higher quality than capturing skype.

or or or or!! Have them broadcast their own mic using VLC or something (so you can get higher quality), and then {magic}, which would allow you to capture their audio stream directly into reaper yourself.
__________________
~~~ Proud Reaper License Owner! ~~~
mikeypee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 04:33 PM   #12
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,410
Default

It's quite complicated to juggle sources in Windows, and very easy in OSX.

In Windows.... well, I'd take the advice of Mikeypee.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 04:52 PM   #13
Jeffsounds
Human being with feelings
 
Jeffsounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northeast Michigan
Posts: 3,044
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamrock View Post
Have you found a new solution to recording Skype Jeff?
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamrock View Post
Before switching to Reaper I used to record Skype using Garageband. This no longer works either, so you may be right about the new Skype update causing incompatibility issues Jeff.

Please let me know if you find a solution to recording Skype.

Thank you.
At this point I haven't found a solution but mainly because I haven't looked that hard. Been really busy since retiring my voice site. But it is something that I have to find soon so will let you know when I find something.
__________________
"Music is a fundamental human desire." - Mike Butera
Jeffsounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 05:11 PM   #14
4oMuAjln
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 30
Default

Did you try use the Jack to route the audio from Skype to the Reaper?
4oMuAjln is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 08:24 PM   #15
jamrock
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeypee View Post
Here's an idea: Why not have your friend also record their audio, on their own computer/reaper/mic, and send you the wav files? Then you could just mute the skype track and overlay their remote wav file onto a new track, and everyone would sound hi quality.

You'd still have a conversational delay, and you'd probably have to resync their remote file every 5 minutes or so... but it'd be higher quality than capturing skype.

or or or or!! Have them broadcast their own mic using VLC or something (so you can get higher quality), and then {magic}, which would allow you to capture their audio stream directly into reaper yourself.
Hi Mikeypee:

I appreciate you taking the time to respond.

Most of my guests would not have, or know how to use Reaper. Also some of my past guests are not tech savvy so I would prefer not to have any responsibility of recording on their end.

How does one "broadcast their own mic using VLC?"

Thanks.
jamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 08:25 PM   #16
jamrock
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffsounds View Post
At this point I haven't found a solution but mainly because I haven't looked that hard. Been really busy since retiring my voice site. But it is something that I have to find soon so will let you know when I find something.
Thanks Jeff.

I'll let you know if I come up with something workable too.
jamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 08:35 PM   #17
jamrock
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4oMuAjln View Post
Did you try use the Jack to route the audio from Skype to the Reaper?
Hi 4oMuaj1n:

I am not clear on what you mean. Please elaborate.

Thank you.
jamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 11:49 AM   #18
4oMuAjln
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamrock View Post
Hi 4oMuaj1n:

I am not clear on what you mean. Please elaborate.

Thank you.
Sorry for very late reply. You can download and install the Jack and than you can route any audio to anywhere you want. It is not stable but useful.
4oMuAjln is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.