Old 11-24-2019, 03:09 PM   #1
johnharkinz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 7
Default Text cropped vertically in text boxes

Hello

The text boxes on the dialogs (preferences, project settings, IO etc.) look like they have some padding at the top that is leaving only the very top of the text visible. When the text box gets focus the vale shows aligned correctly, but the previously cropped parts of the text are still displayed.

See photo, it's really hard to explain.
  • The text boxes had previously been displaying normally, ever since I got the machine
  • Leading up to noticing this issue I tried a couple of themes and reverted to my usual theme.
  • I am not seeing anything similar in any other software installed on the machine.

Versions5.987, 5.986, 5.985, 5.984
Spec. 2012 Mac Mini, i7, quad, 16gb RAM, ssd
OS10.14.6 Mojave
Resolution1920x1080
Other software. Browsers, Spotify, Adobe Creative Suite, Spotify, a few bits and bobs.
Performance. The erroneous text occurs no matter how hard the machine is working. It is never anywhere near maxed out

I've tried changing screen resolution, turning all app extensions off, tried past 4 versions of reaper.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot 2019-11-21 at 23.08.57.png (8.1 KB, 59 views)

Last edited by johnharkinz; 11-24-2019 at 03:25 PM. Reason: Added os version and screen res
johnharkinz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 03:20 PM   #2
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,623
Default

What macOS version? What display and display resolution?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 03:26 PM   #3
johnharkinz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
What macOS version? What display and display resolution?
1920x1080
Mojave

Updated the post
johnharkinz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 07:46 PM   #4
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,623
Default

This is a very odd issue!

Did this Mac Mini get upgraded to Mojave, or was it a fresh install?

The only reasonable explanation I can give you is that it was upgraded, and occasionally when updating macOS things don't upgrade right and it shows itself in odd ways. It feels like a cop-out saying this (as you say, REAPER is the only thing affected), but there have been a handful of times that I've seen bizarre issues in macOS, not all affecting REAPER but all unique in their own ways. One of them I managed to figure out (at great length! many hours were spent) by copying the good copy of a particular file from another system, and the others were all fixed by a fresh OS reinstall...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2019, 02:54 AM   #5
johnharkinz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 7
Default

Mojave was a clean install over six months ago.
This coinsides with me trying a couple of imperial themes, I have a nagging thought that a theme may have altered something that isnt changed back when I reapply my usual theme.

Does that make any sense at all, or am I clutching at straws?
johnharkinz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2019, 09:23 AM   #6
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,623
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnharkinz View Post
Mojave was a clean install over six months ago.
This coinsides with me trying a couple of imperial themes, I have a nagging thought that a theme may have altered something that isnt changed back when I reapply my usual theme.

Does that make any sense at all, or am I clutching at straws?
A theme shouldn’t be able to do that, hmm...

If you quit REAPER, and temporarily rename ~/Library/Application Support/REAPER (to force a fresh configuration), does that fix?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 06:09 AM   #7
johnharkinz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 7
Default

Hi Justin,
I did what you suggested and the problem persisted, so that rules out my Theme theory.
Anyway I revered to my original REAPER folder a day or two ago. However, fairly randomly, this morning after no updates, installs, patches of anything at all on my mac the issue went away... go figure...

Thanks for your help.

John
johnharkinz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.