Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2019, 11:03 PM   #1
worldwideweary
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 45
Default Automatically changing cc channel in midi-editor based on current note's channel?

In Reaper, is there a way or a setting to get the midi editor to automatically utilize any given selected note's channel in the CC lanes?

To clarify: If there is a midi clip with many notes in it, but there is one note with Channel 2 (everything else is channel 1),
is there a way so that by clicking the channel-2 note, any editing in any CC-lane will be Channel 2 by default? So far with
quick attempts, it keeps at channel one no matter the selected note's channel, and I have to press the channel drop down list on the bottom right and select channel two to be able to edit that note's peculiar channel for it.

I would think there'd be a way or a setting to have the CC lanes be on the channel that a selected note has automatically ready for whatever channel the select note is on. That of course could breed issues if there were multiple notes selected with multiple channels...

Anything I'm missing here?
worldwideweary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 04:21 AM   #2
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,148
Default

Select the channel number in the bottom-right corner of the MIDI Editor:



All subsequent notes and CC events will be created on that channel. And, if you check the Filter box, the other channels will be hidden.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 07:02 AM   #3
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,927
Default

You can try the script "js_Option - Selecting single note or CC in active take sets channel for new events".

It runs in the background, and changes the active channel when you select a note or CC.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 10:46 AM   #4
worldwideweary
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
You can try the script "js_Option - Selecting single note or CC in active take sets channel for new events".

It runs in the background, and changes the active channel when you select a note or CC.
Hey thanks, it works.
Really appreciate it.

Edit: One thing noticed though, which is a decent trade off depending on how a user works, is that moving a note which is not currently of the active channel-# requires two clicks (selection, and then click+drag). That is, if channel one is active and the user [click+drags] a note on channel-two, it won't work right: the note won't really move (it does for 'half-a-second' but then goes back to original position. It will work right if the currently selected channel is equivalent to the [click+dragged] note's channel, though.

I'm guessing that the script could be updated to fix this, but I have no idea how that works at the moment. Thanks again.

Last edited by worldwideweary; 11-09-2019 at 10:56 AM.
worldwideweary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 12:12 PM   #5
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,927
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by worldwideweary View Post
Hey thanks, it works.
Really appreciate it.
I'm glad it helped! I suggest that you link such scripts to toolbar buttons with which you can easily start/stop the scripts, and which will indicate when the scripts are running.

(When trying out a new script from ReaPack, always remember to check whether the script has some descriptions and instructions inside the file, which can be read in ReaPack's browser: right-click -> About this package, or in REAPER's built-in script editor.)


Quote:
Originally Posted by worldwideweary View Post
Edit: One thing noticed though, which is a decent trade off depending on how a user works, is that moving a note which is not currently of the active channel-# requires two clicks (selection, and then click+drag).
Three years ago, when the script was first written, this was an unavoidable artefact. But now that the ReaScriptAPI is available, it can finally be fixed! New version 2.31 uploaded.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 02:04 PM   #6
worldwideweary
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 45
Default

Nice one.
Updated and confirmed that it works slick - thanks for the update.
worldwideweary is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.