Old 11-06-2019, 07:15 PM   #1
worldwideweary
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 45
Default MIDI Inline Editing CC with External MIDI files.

With [in project] midi clips, a user can edit a MIDI clip via inline editing *along with* the CC lanes while in the [Arrange view]: a useful feature; but if using external .midi files [Preferences->Media->Midi], it seems that inline editing can't be accessed. This also means that there aren't any CC controls of a .MID File clip that can be edited in the arrange view. Is there a way to enable these functionalities while maintaining .MID files rather than MIDI Items? If not, is this intended behavior by the development or merely a missing feature?
worldwideweary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 03:44 AM   #2
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 5,227
Default

You should be able to access the inline editing just the same with .mid files (e.g. with shortcut E). CC lanes can also be accessed and edited once you have dragged the dividing bar up from the bottom of the item. And if you right-click over the dividing bar/line, you'll get a menu to set and add CC lanes.
xpander is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 11:54 AM   #3
worldwideweary
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
You should be able to access the inline editing just the same with .mid files (e.g. with shortcut E). CC lanes can also be accessed and edited once you have dragged the dividing bar up from the bottom of the item. And if you right-click over the dividing bar/line, you'll get a menu to set and add CC lanes.
Agreed that I should be able to, but I can't. The fact of this is made explicit by switching back and forth between in-project setting versus external .midi files and seeing the difference by having 'E' work and then not work. Is this not implemented but merely 'should' be? Maybe there's another setting of which I am ignorant? P.S. thanks for the right-click tip of dividing bar/line for CC lanes. It works when in-project midi is used.

Last edited by worldwideweary; 11-08-2019 at 12:51 PM.
worldwideweary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 02:45 PM   #4
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 5,227
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by worldwideweary View Post
Is this not implemented but merely 'should' be?
It's certainly working on my end. Could you maybe post a short example file which has this problem? Doesn't have to even have any notes in there, as long as it produces the problem on your end.
xpander is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 10:49 PM   #5
worldwideweary
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
It's certainly working on my end. Could you maybe post a short example file which has this problem? Doesn't have to even have any notes in there, as long as it produces the problem on your end.
Sure thing. Here's a .zip including the involved blank .midi file and project .rpp.

1) Load .rpp in to Reaper
2) Click MIDI item
3) Press 'E'
4) Here it does nothing.

For a moment it was entertained that since you say it works on your end that maybe it was because Linux is being used here, yet upon verification: on Windows & different machine the fact remains: no inline editing of external midi clips have worked thus far.
Attached Files
File Type: zip no_inline.zip (1.6 KB, 12 views)
worldwideweary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 11:28 AM   #6
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 5,227
Default

Thanks for the example files. Upon further testing with several files and settings, I found out something interesting.

It seems that if Reaper is set up to import existing MIDI files as .MID file reference, the files can not be opened in inline MIDI editor if they are of Type 0 MIDI files. IOW, only MIDI files which are of Type 1 (multitrack), can be opened and edited in inline editor with that condition.

I went back to Reaper v5.0 with the same results, so if it has ever worked, it would've been even earlier. I think this requires a bug report, or if it never was a feature, feature request at least.

edit: I filed a bug report about the issue;
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....66#post2200966

Last edited by xpander; 11-09-2019 at 11:45 AM.
xpander is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.