Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for macOS

Old 03-10-2015, 05:39 PM   #1
overmedium
Human being with feelings

Default Mac Guy here wants your opinion of going reaper: mac or windows?

Hi All,

I'm new to Reaper (currently jumping ship from Reason) and have been evaluating it for a few weeks and really like it. I have an imac 10.7.5 and have a small Boot Camp partition of Windows 7; the boot camp partition has existed solely for me to waste some time on Steam..

Having only ever used Reason, and now have finally opened my eyes to the vast world of vst's and the like, I see that there aren't many mac vsts compared to windows vsts..

So I'm curious, do you fellow mac users get along fine with a smaller pool of vsts to choose from? do you have any regrets using the mac version? I don't really like to use Windows, but if I have to go there I just may...

thanks for your two cents...

Last edited by overmedium; 03-10-2015 at 05:50 PM. Reason: added stuff
overmedium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2015, 06:09 PM   #2
Fergler

It really didn't bother me much. I moved from Mac to Windows 4 years ago and I stopped using a few plugins and started using a few windows only ones, and I don't miss anything (except for Logic's ES2 synth... so well made).

Reaper has everything you actually need. The EQ is great but if you want amazing Voxengo GlissEQ or Fabfilter Pro-Q 2 have got you covered on both systems.

The compressor with Reaper is the best I have ever used and can emulate the response of just about anything. It has more controls than you will ever need (minus maybe a built in M/S mode but you can work around that easily with the Kanaka JS M/S wrapper plugins) and has excellent controls you don't find adjustable in other compressors very often like RMS size, HP/LP filter, and precomp (compressor reacts ahead of time).