Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 03-26-2012, 09:28 AM   #1
Pingu
Human being with feelings

Default Multiple Instances of Kontakt Midi Channels Config - How?

Hello forumers! Im new here and to reaper and im trying to figure out how to configure the midi channels when using multiple instances of Kontakt.

When i load more than one Kontakt, the midi in for example channel 5 in the first instance is triggering the fifth channel on all the other instances as well.

How can i get the various channels separated? There are so many options and im fairly new to reaper and in cubase this seem to happen automatically.

Id appreciate some help, thanx!
Pingu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 10:13 AM   #2
DarkStar

Hello Pingu and welcome to these forums. You'll find many helpful people here and a lot of useful information.

I'm surprised that it works in Cubase. A VSTi such as Kontakt has only 1 MIDI input port (Port A, in the Kontakt GUI), and channel 5 in one instance will be the same as channel 5 in another.

How have you set up your project in Cubase to keep the channel 5's separate?

In Reaper, you could put each instance of Kontakt on a different track and route different MIDI tracks to each Kontakt.
Old 03-26-2012, 10:29 AM   #3
Pingu

Hello and thanks for your reply. In Cubase i just load a new kontakt and activate the outputs, ive never really thought about it much before i might remember wrong.

In Reaper i have a sixteen track midi template with a stereo audio receive as parent of each midi channel, no problems.

But when i load a new kontakt instance how should i route the midi? I might be completely non-technical here, but the midi on track one just gets duplicated to the track one on the second instance of kontakt. I dont know how to prevent the same midi channel triggering on another instance?