Old 05-06-2019, 01:36 PM   #81
srdmusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 480
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heda View Post
today's build:
+ MIDI editor: add option to display note length in velocity lane

closing the discussion about horizontal lines on velocities
thank you for listening!
I just tried the new version and can't find the 'option' to view or not view the note length in the velocity lane. I'm sure it's there I just can't find it.

And THANK YOU DEVs for listening!
srdmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 01:45 PM   #82
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,834
Default

It's in MIDI editor Options menu, roam around.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 01:53 PM   #83
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 518
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
It's in MIDI editor Options menu, roam around.
It's actually in the Midi Editor View menu.

View/Piano Roll Notes/Show Note Length in Velocity Lane
Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 02:11 PM   #84
srdmusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 480
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klangfarben View Post
It's actually in the Midi Editor View menu.

View/Piano Roll Notes/Show Note Length in Velocity Lane
Thanks Klangfarben!!! Man I was looking everywhere I just couldn't find that. So cool that the Devs really listened and adjusted the issue so quickly.
srdmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 02:18 PM   #85
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,208
Default

Yes, thanks so much devs, you rock!
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 03:21 AM   #86
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: They put me in a home.
Posts: 2,916
Default

Guys, I just am trying out the new Pre here and my eyes are freaking out. What happened to the default colors here, I haven't done any changes to my MIDI colors or default 5 theme. I can barely see this neon thin thin greens, can you tell me how I can revert this or adjust? Thank you for this. Ouch. Sorry. My eyes. Is there no thickness I can bring back or any sort of change, they are just so thin and barely there with neonness. I think the thinness could be fine but that neon lol whoa

__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 05:37 AM   #87
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,834
Default

You could adjust the colormap to use different colors, or tweak the ruler color in the MIDI editor to be darker, or revert to previous versions. Things are actually moving for the better as far as visuals and editing of velocities/CCs.

Also if you're trying the LATEST dev release, you're in the wrong thread
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 05:53 AM   #88
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: They put me in a home.
Posts: 2,916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
You could adjust the colormap to use different colors, or tweak the ruler color in the MIDI editor to be darker, or revert to previous versions. Things are actually moving for the better as far as visuals and editing of velocities/CCs.

Also if you're trying the LATEST dev release, you're in the wrong thread
A million percent agree with the moving for the better I love progress. Just shocked a bit by the neon geocities coloring bahhhh. I am trying the newest pre but I thought I had to post in the relevant thread for where the feature I am discussing was first launched in. Sorry, I tried! This is the default 5 color settings so I'd imagine a lot of people would see the light green and be like whoa, what now?! Squinty mcgee

Is there any documentation about tweaking color maps for specifically CC lanes and MIDI data? Thanks ED.
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 12:18 PM   #89
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: They put me in a home.
Posts: 2,916
Default

Is it possible to revert the velocity back to the thicker more easily see-able bars? I can't be the only one who thinks the thin neon is very straining to see and edit. The old version was strongly colored at all velocity levels. Or at least can you direct me to any documentation that shows how to easily without being a C++ programmer change the MIDI colors for this sort of thing? map?
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 01:13 PM   #90
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: They put me in a home.
Posts: 2,916
Default

I'm sorry but this is objectively ugly at low velocities and impossible to expect users to see velocity clearly with any color map. I guess I'll need to spend hours crafting a new color map? I've tried the default version 5 and others from stash now and they are all just bad on the eyes. Come on now How can we either bring bars back to normal thickness or can you please ship a new color map with version 6 to accommodate this new cc velocity change? I think that's reasonable.

__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 02:23 PM   #91
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,834
Default

Velocities look just fine over here...



Doesn't seem like you're using the actual colormap from the default v5 theme, that looks like this over here (if you're coloring by velocity):

EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 02:55 PM   #92
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: They put me in a home.
Posts: 2,916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Doesn't seem like you're using the actual colormap from the default v5 theme, that looks like this over here (if you're coloring by velocity):

I reset my color map which I assume triggers the default 5 map. The one I posted above was another example showing the neon-ness of many maps that are already existing in the Stash. There is definitely something off with the default. Here is mine reset default. Thanks.



What's wrong with my install if I reset color map via options in MIDI editor and I don't see yours? I love yours ED. That dark one on the left side of your image unselected is literally what I want slash expected lol how can I get?
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 03:31 PM   #93
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,834
Default

All I'm doing here is just using the default R5 theme, that's how it shows up for me... If you're already using the "reset color map" action, not sure what else you could do...
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 04:33 PM   #94
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: They put me in a home.
Posts: 2,916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
All I'm doing here is just using the default R5 theme, that's how it shows up for me... If you're already using the "reset color map" action, not sure what else you could do...
How would you extract the default midi note color png from the reaper 5 theme? I cannot figure it out. I would like to try and "import it" by hand and not to reset. I searched my PC but do not have a PNG default in my installation. Do you know if it's in an ini or something for default theme?
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 06:08 PM   #95
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: They put me in a home.
Posts: 2,916
Default

Nevermind. I extracted it from the 5 theme file and copied it over. It seems to be OK now. I wish there was more of a tutorial on MIDI note color editing besides the one image from WT and a photoshop template with a bunch of guides but oh well lol thanks ED
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.