Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2022, 09:30 AM   #1
zipzappoozoo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Posts: 3
Default Trying to get Waves to work on OS Monterey

First I tried with the MacOS 10.15+ version of Reaper . . .couldn't get it to see my Waves plugins. Well, I sort of got it to recognize a few of them, but the user interface is a blank screen.

Then, I tried the MacOS 10.5-10.14 version. Same result.
It looks like the macOS 32-bit version of Reaper is not even downloadable for Monterey.

Are there any other options for getting these plugins to work in Reaper?

Yeah, I know, Waves sucks, but I already spent some money upgrading, and some of them are still useful....so...
zipzappoozoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2022, 01:29 PM   #2
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,132
Default

Waves works great on Monterey, upgrade to the latest version.
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2022, 06:01 PM   #3
zipzappoozoo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlprod View Post
Waves works great on Monterey, upgrade to the latest version.
I did upgrade . . . on V14. But I can't get Reaper to see them.

Maybe I need to completely get rid of Reaper and then re-install from scratch? But which version should I use?
zipzappoozoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2022, 07:11 AM   #4
coolbass
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zipzappoozoo View Post
I did upgrade . . . on V14. But I can't get Reaper to see them.

Maybe I need to completely get rid of Reaper and then re-install from scratch? But which version should I use?
No 32-bit version.
coolbass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2022, 09:01 AM   #5
zipzappoozoo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolbass View Post
No 32-bit version.
Do you mean "There is no 32-bit version" or
"No. . .don't use the 32-bit version" or
"No . . use the 32-bit version"
zipzappoozoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2022, 04:52 AM   #6
coolbass
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zipzappoozoo View Post
Do you mean "There is no 32-bit version" or
"No. . .don't use the 32-bit version" or
"No . . use the 32-bit version"
question: But which version should I use?
answer: No 32-bit version.
coolbass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2022, 04:48 PM   #7
robgb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 307
Default

Why on earth would you be using 32-bit versions? 64-bit has been the standard for quite awhile. And Waves doesn't suck. All but one of my plugins work fine on M1 Monterey.
robgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2022, 12:09 PM   #8
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 9,345
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robgb View Post
Waves doesn't suck.
I wholeheartedly disagree!! No other company has asked me jump through as many hoops to use paid products.

Count yourself lucky that you haven't encountered the all too common problems that have led to the widespread consensus "Waves sucks." The products are fine if they work, but there is almost always a better alternative from less greedy devs.

To the OP, I don't condone piracy, but Waves cracks are among the easiest to find and use. It's the only way I could eventually access mine...apart from repurchasing them, which was the only "help" I got from "support."
__________________
foxyyymusic
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2022, 02:31 PM   #9
robgb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 307
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
I wholeheartedly disagree!! No other company has asked me jump through as many hoops to use paid products.
What hoops? You download and install them with Waves Central and then use them. And they work fine. There were some hiccups with M1, but every developer had a few hiccups.

The only Waves M1 plugin that doesn't work for me is Clarity. But since I use Reaper, it automatically bridges the intel version and that works fine.

Now Waves WAS a pain in the ass a few years ago with their old installation system, but they cleaned all that up after many customer complaints.
robgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2022, 12:11 PM   #10
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 9,345
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robgb View Post
What hoops? You download and install them with Waves Central and then use them. And they work fine.
Nah, you may have had smooth sailing with Waves...whereas myself and countless others have come to regret even accepting the "freebies." The DRM doesn't play nice for everyone though and Waves makes no policy exceptions if you run into trouble.

Here's off the top of my head for why Waves sucks:
1. You must pay or subscribe to access every update, even for the "freebies."
2. These "updates" are often nothing but a number change and seem to be occurring more and more often.
3. Aliasing, aliasing, aliasing.
4. The Waveshell paradigm. There are still new threads here all the time where some or all plugins randomly or after an update, inexplicably refuse to scan. No one should have to spend hours or days reinstalling software or entire operating systems just to access products with greedy, built-in fuckery.
5. Multiple versions of every plugin; mono, stereo AND mono/stereo?! Just why?
6. Long awaited "scalable" UI with bigger, increasingly blurrier sizes.
7. Still selling obsolete plugins from 20+ years ago at full price.

It's just my opinion, but after being told I must either wait 8 months to use my paid plugins or essentially re-purchase them through "waves update plan" because Waves policy only allows for 1 (one) catastrophic hardware failure per year, I will take every opportunity to divert future customers from the siren song of this greedy dinosaur. YMMV...but they really earned my ire.

And so I'll say again, Waves sucks!
__________________
foxyyymusic

Last edited by foxAsteria; 10-21-2022 at 12:27 PM.
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2022, 09:37 PM   #11
shanabit
Human being with feelings
 
shanabit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 470
Default

To the OP:

1. Did you try rescanning them in Reaper?


@foxAsteria - agreed.
__________________
Reaper 4.78 OSX 12.4 Monterey
2013 iMacPro
Steinberg MR816X. Apollo Twin Solo
shanabit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2022, 03:05 AM   #12
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,132
Default

Waves rules!=) No problems at all here, M1 Max MBP.
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.