Old 09-13-2018, 09:27 PM   #1
guitarans
Human being with feelings
 
guitarans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 83
Default Easy soundcard shift/secoundary sound card.

Okay here is my story..
I just got me a laptop and are using for the most my usb soundcard.
But oftens it happends that i just want to listen to the track and maybe do some editing that isnt time critical. But if my card is missing i god promted that the audio device isnt there. And it takes many clicks to lets say use the default windows soundcard. And then again if i plugged my usb card in again i have to do many mouse clicks again to change it back to the "asio" driver again..

Request:
The possibility to ad a primary and secondary soundcard, with different drivers. And the only notification should be a little text box that fades after a few seconds.
If the primary isnt available then use the secondary soundcard.. without all the preference editing.


Benifit:
An easy workflow.

Reason:
Its irritating changing the soundcard device every now of then.

Implementation suggestion:
A little button or tap in the preference-audiodevice thar let make choose a primary sound card and driver used with it and a secondary sound card and a driver used with that!

( And not in the reaper v6 editing ) i only got the license fof the 4 and 5 versions 😀
guitarans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 12:38 AM   #2
Masi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 667
Default

Oh yes. I have the same setup and your solution seems fine.

Perhaps this can be generalized to order all configured audio interfaces by priority. So you could have any number of external interfaces and Reaper would look them up one by one and then fallback to the internal soundcard with the driver of your preference.

Masi
Masi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 05:56 AM   #3
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,208
Default

Reaper does not know about "soundcards". It only knows about OS sound subsystems such as (in Windows) ASIO or WASAPI.

So no chance for Reaper to do any switching, unless the OS infrastructure bundles the "soundcards" to be channels in a media device.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2018, 01:42 AM   #4
Masi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 667
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Reaper does not know about "soundcards". It only knows about OS sound subsystems such as (in Windows) ASIO or WASAPI.
While the OP writes about soundcards he should have written about audio device settings.

Reaper does know if the configured audio device is not available. I nthis case there is a hint saying [audio device closed]. For an external audio interface it is quite natural that it becomes unavailable for Reaper if it is not connected.

So it would be nice if you have two (the OPs request) or an unlimited number of different audio device settings. If the first one fails Reaper would try the next one, etc.

Masi
Masi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2018, 02:26 AM   #5
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,208
Default

While this might be a nice option, I only see a limited count of usage cases.

AFAIK, the audio device configuration is stored in a Reaper ini file.

You can start Reaper with an option to use a dedicated ini file.

So you can have multiple Reaper "icons" in the desktop to easily switch between multiple sound card configurations.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2018, 01:35 PM   #6
Masi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 667
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
While this might be a nice option, I only see a limited count of usage cases.
I have an USB audio interface on my desk. The interface is not always on. I need the fallback.

I take the laptop with me, but not the audio interface. I need the fallback.

So this happens to me nearly every time I use Reaper.

Masi
Masi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2018, 10:13 PM   #7
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,208
Default

I did understand this.

Does the dual ini file method help ? If yes, it would be as "easy" as requested in the topic: just click a different icon to start Reaper.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.