Default Envelope segments move differently than expected

HI,

I have a question about envelope segments:
now I set up my mouse modifiers the following way:
- double click -> insert envelope point
- left drag (default action) -> move envelope segment
- ctrl + left drag -> move envelope segment preserving edge points
- alt + left drag --> edit envelope segment curvature

Since I'm new to Reaper I was referring to the magnificient Kenny Gioia video on YouTube about envelope segments.

Now, I have a track where insert four (!) points. But when I raise the segment in the middle something strange happens: it will raise the whole envelope, not only the segment between the four points.
On all other tracks, thats not an issue at all - everything works as expected, it's just that one track, where I may have accidentally hit a keyboard key or something like that. Even clearling the envelope and starting fresh all over doesn't help? Any ideas?
Is there a way I could have locked something?

Thank you very much,
best regards

snafu
Old 01-15-2023, 11:11 AM   #2
snafu
Human being with feelings

...for some reason it won't accept my image links.
Well OK, here we go with attachement.
Attached Images
File Type: png SettingUp.png (5.3 KB, 52 views)
File Type: png Expected.png (6.2 KB, 56 views)
File Type: png Actually.png (6.2 KB, 50 views)
Old 01-17-2023, 09:55 AM   #3
nait

You need to be sure you're only selecting the points you want to raise. Your screenshot indicates that you have all 4 selected. Just select the middle two (deselect the outer two), then raise them. I believe by default ctrl-shift-left click on enevelope point toggles between selected and unselected (side rant: I find the mouse modifiers for envelope points confusing, but they can be changed).

It can be a bit of a struggle to work with envelopes in Reaper, but eventually it makes sense. Haha But really, there's no way Reaper can guess what you want to happen if you have all 4 selected, right?