Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Linux

Old 02-17-2020, 06:52 AM   #1
LieMfB
Human being with feelings

Default Performance with 15 year old soundcard (M-Audio Delta 66)

I've been using the same M-Audio Delta 66 soundcard for more than 15 years and been very happy with it. It's a PCI card with breakout box (4 in, 4 out) and works great in Linux without a lot of configuration.

Now I'm about to upgrade my audio workstation (new mobo, cpu, memory) and I'm not sure how this soundcard is going to work with that. Most new motherboards I'm looking at only have PCI Express slots, no PCI. I've already ordered a PCIe-to-PCI adapter card, just to see how that works before deciding on computer parts.

Anyway, what would you have done? Buy a new, more modern sound card or try to stick with the Delta 66? Seems like USB soundcards are very popular these days, but I'm not convinced that they keep up very well with the latency, and besides, I need to find one that works well on Linux (drivers, etc.). Would be nice to continue using my tried and trusted Delta 66.

Any input appreciated!
LieMfB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 02:06 PM   #2
Glennbo

I was faced with a similar dilemma. I plan to build a new DAW when Asus finally has some mobos with the AMD B550 chipset, and I'm counting on there not being any available with PCI slots.

Up until about six months ago I used two M-Audio Delta 2496 cards so I could have four analog inputs. Worked freeking great in Linux, but I made my decision to get a new sound device on two accounts.

I wanted both more inputs and USB out of the box form factor, so I bought a Behringer UMC1820 with 8 analog inputs that have their own very nice Midas mic preamps. I get just a smidgen of higher latency in that I needed to add another period to make it rock stable like the M-Audio Deltas were.