Old 07-27-2010, 04:04 PM   #161
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 8,915
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RussUK View Post
Don't make a fire guard out of chocolate
Haha.
I want an option to show tips like this when Reaper starts.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 09:55 PM   #162
cudarftj
Human being with feelings
 
cudarftj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 105
Default

All these tips from all you able Reaper wizzes are GREAT !!! I wish I could print the list to use when I need them. Tryed a few out and there just super cool and easy!!!
__________________
Dell Studio XPS 8100 core i5 650 3.20GHz 8 GB ram, two 1TB Hard drives, two 16x Optical DVD drives, Windows 7 64 bit OS,Focusrite Saffire 40, Art Pro Channel, Presonus Eureka, Art MPA Gold, Sterling Audio ST66, ST79, Tube mic, AKG C1000, AT 3035, 3 Shure beta 57s,
cudarftj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 04:40 AM   #163
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,229
Default

Nice Downloaded it as pdf-file and put it with the other manuals so it shows up under help.
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:52 AM   #164
chriscomfort
Human being with feelings
 
chriscomfort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,735
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Sun View Post
Nice Downloaded it as pdf-file and put it with the other manuals so it shows up under help.
What? This entire thread? How'd you do that?
chriscomfort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 08:30 AM   #165
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,755
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Sun View Post
Nice Downloaded it as pdf-file and put it with the other manuals so it shows up under help.

would you like to upload that pdf to the reaper stash so other can use it also?
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 03:51 AM   #166
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,229
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
would you like to upload that pdf to the reaper stash so other can use it also?
I just downloaded the document:
https://docs.google.com/Doc?docid=0A...cDJ6M2dt&hl=en
(download as pdf)
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 08:04 AM   #167
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 8,915
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Sun View Post
I just downloaded the document:
https://docs.google.com/Doc?docid=0A...cDJ6M2dt&hl=en
(download as pdf)
Nice this document still gets some use.
(I started it some time ago, but I'm not so great at maintaining it, Airon did most of the work).

Just wanted to mention again, everyone's welcome to put tips in there (no password required, don't forget to go to file -> save afterwards).
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 12:04 AM   #168
GeraldSmallBear
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: In a cave
Posts: 24
Default

Customise Tool-tips/Mouse-over dialogues:

Right click on the buttons area > Customise
Select a button in the list
Select 'Text Button' and type the text you want to appear
Save
Revert the button to the icon you had before
Save

Now the button will have that text when your mouse hovers over it.

Works best with your own buttons.
GeraldSmallBear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 06:06 AM   #169
Subz
Human being with feelings
 
Subz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 2,962
Default

Ctrl+Alt+Drag media items from the arraignment window to render them to where you drag them (desktop, folder, or a sampler that supports drag & drop samples to it)

also

Ctrl+Alt+Shift+Drag will render the hole source file (not just the clip)

works with Midi & Audio


& don't eat yellow snow!

Subz
Subz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 06:19 AM   #170
Serenitynow
Human being with feelings
 
Serenitynow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 595
Default

Thanks for the pdf and all the great tips from everyone!
__________________
John
Serenitynow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2010, 10:30 AM   #171
arbogast
Human being with feelings
 
arbogast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,107
Default

In the MIDI editor you can make the grid follow any subdivision. Example: To make a precise 8th-note septuplet starting on the first beat, divide the bar in 14 by putting 1/14 in the Grid dropdown. (If you want one of these tuplets starting on the second beat, divide the bar in 28 instead)
Could be a bit more intuitive. Still, its possible, which is not the case for some other hosts.

(took the liberty to add this to the google doc. Thus, your downloaded versions are already outdated )
__________________
ASUS SABERTOOTH Z97 MARK 2, Socket-1150 / Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SSD / Intel Core i7-4790, LGA1150, Quad Core / Crucial DDR3 BallistiX Sport 16GB KIT / RME Fireface UC
arbogast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 07:05 PM   #172
Javonmichaels
Human being with feelings
 
Javonmichaels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Huntsville Alabama
Posts: 14
Default

I have a great idea...... WHY NOT give Javonmichaels a job posting the tip of the day? Since I am learning I can spread the love, and would be MORE THAN WILLING TO DO SO !!!!
Will work for .... food ? naw . More Tips of the DAY !!!
Javonmichaels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 12:42 AM   #173
hihat
Human being with feelings
 
hihat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 119
Default

check right click all the buttons and areas available.
then go to 'actions' - 'menu editor' and customize\optimize\reorganize all the contexts with actions like you need in your workflow. extremely useful!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tip.jpg (63.0 KB, 479 views)
hihat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 01:46 PM   #174
reapercurious
Human being with feelings
 
reapercurious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,661
Default make reaper the default editor

dont use an external editor in combination with reaper? set reaper as the default external editor and when you doubleclick a media item, it opens by itself in a new tab in reaper.

now if only reaper could do what sound forge does...
__________________
thanks!
reapercurious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 12:35 AM   #175
hihat
Human being with feelings
 
hihat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 119
Default

you can create group of tracks in grouping matrix and make all tracks included 'slaves' to avoid linking of any controls...
then assign hot key for this group in 'actions' for quick selection
hihat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 01:55 AM   #176
ritika
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Default

I just love this thread because here are more important stuff and tips better than other others. i like to see whole thread. waiting for next one. thanks to it's creator.
ritika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 05:57 AM   #177
Zblogny
Human being with feelings
 
Zblogny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Blois - France
Posts: 2,972
Default A tip for storing cables

Don't throw cardboard cores from toilet paper or towel paper rolls.
They can help you storing your cables.



If you put the connectors at the same side of the tube, at the first glance you can identify your cable.
__________________
Gérard Delassus
https://gerarddelassus.bandcamp.com/
Hearthis.at

Last edited by Zblogny; 06-07-2011 at 06:09 AM.
Zblogny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 05:59 AM   #178
Small Stone
Human being with feelings
 
Small Stone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: QC, Canada
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zblogny View Post
Don't throw cardboard cores from toilet paper or towel paper rolls.
They can help you storing your cables.

That's amazing! Thanks for the tips, everyone!
Small Stone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 09:30 AM   #179
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 8,915
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zblogny View Post
Don't throw cardboard cores from toilet paper or towel paper rolls.
They can help you storing your cables.
What a cool idea, never thought of that.
Thanks.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 04:49 AM   #180
Klemperer
Human being with feelings
 
Klemperer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hamburg and Heidelberg
Posts: 670
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zblogny View Post
Don't throw cardboard cores from toilet paper or towel paper rolls.
They can help you storing your cables.
Yes, like all said, that's amazing . Thanks a thousand times, the mess is over here
Klemperer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 07:17 AM   #181
buckman
Human being with feelings
 
buckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,649
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reapercurious View Post
now if only reaper could do what sound forge does...
Great tip on Reaper opening itself as an editor, although I still find it limiting against SF - and yes I'm wishing and hoping that Reaper could do area selection and area processing like Sound Forge and do it all in the one program for a much faster workflow!
__________________
==
Reaper 6 needs Area Selection!
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=122
buckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 06:55 AM   #182
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,755
Default

oh ...so do you use the toilet paper tubes for the shitty cable?
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 04:58 AM   #183
Subz
Human being with feelings
 
Subz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 2,962
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
oh ...so do you use the toilet paper tubes for the shitty cable?
"hehe....he...he...he need TP for Bumholio hehe...he...he"


(in the voice of Beavis & Butthead)

Subz
Subz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 06:47 PM   #184
Blastrio
Human being with feelings
 
Blastrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, Qc
Posts: 258
Default Eq Matching With Reafir

Don't know if it's been posted before. Using Reafir to match the EQ curve of a song or clip and apply it to another one. I guess most people will view subtract mode as basically a de-noiser, but it can be used to extract a spectrum curve from the audio itself.

1- Put Reafir in subtract mode and click "Automatically build noise profile" and let Reafir analyze the song or clip.
2 - Unclick the checkbox and switch to compress mode. Reafir will retain the analyzed curve.
3- Modify the curve if needed in Precise Edit Mode
4- Hold Ctrl to lower or raise the threshold
Blastrio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 09:56 PM   #185
nickMTH
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Default HELP: move item position independently

All i want to do, is be able left click on an item and drag to from left to right without the other items changing position. for some reason, when i click an item and drag it to the left, everything in the same track is dragged with it. this is becoming very bothersome and im certain there must be a way to change it. please help!
nickMTH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 11:20 PM   #186
mabian
Human being with feelings
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickMTH View Post
All i want to do, is be able left click on an item and drag to from left to right without the other items changing position. for some reason, when i click an item and drag it to the left, everything in the same track is dragged with it. this is becoming very bothersome and im certain there must be a way to change it. please help!
Disable ripple edit mode dude

- Mario
__________________
My DAW: Intel i7700k @4.2GHz / 16GB RAM / RME Fireface UC / 250GB SSD / 2x2TB HD / Win10x64
My Music: http://www.reverbnation.com/errepici - http://www.errepici.it/web/contents.asp?sec=4
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 01:41 PM   #187
nickMTH
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
Disable ripple edit mode dude

- Mario
FUCK YES! thank you so much lol
nickMTH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 06:57 AM   #188
gtrdrt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound asleep View Post
just figured this out, had to post here.

I was just recording, and for reason that's beyond me, i decided to double click my spacebar, and lo and behold it stopped recording, saved my audio file and skipped right through the prompt that asks you which files you want to keep.
If memory serves, the second hit on the spacebar does select *all* the files and 'keeps' them. I don't think you're actually double clicking; it also works if you wait between the spacebar hits. And, as I recall, a third hit on the spacebar will start Reaper *playing* from the beginning of what you just recorded.
gtrdrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 02:05 PM   #189
chris2002rock
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NorCAl
Posts: 42
Default

Often interface shortcuts come from legacy applications or "competition," while others are created by the development team. Can you offer any insight in a global sense where these keyboard functions come from? For example are some of them from any application environments we might know?

s and shift + s is common in video editors...so a possible answer from an engineer or interface designer might be "video editors, wave editors, pro tools multi-track UI...etc.

This might open the eyes of some of us who for now expect to have to discover them 1 by 1.

Thanks
chris2002rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 02:37 PM   #190
Reaperto
Human being with feelings
 
Reaperto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina
Posts: 467
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buckman View Post
...hoping that Reaper could do area selection and area processing...
1- Define a Time selection to edit
2- Shift + S (Split items at time selection)
3- Shift + F; select FX, click + drag to Clip
4- Right click over Item/Apply track FX to items...
__________________
ReaLoaded!
Reaperto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 10:04 PM   #191
Snap
Human being with feelings
 
Snap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 850
Default

Wow, Right in time! Yesterday night I was struggling about how to do that same thing, getting FXs into items (kinda Object Editing in Samplitude -"Items" are called "objects" in Sam-). I'd swear I saw screenshots before showing that this is possible in Reaper. I just came around this morning looking for some guidance here... and I just found it in the very first post I read! Perfect timing! Thanks so much, Reaperto!

Greetings from Madrid.

Last edited by Snap; 08-01-2011 at 10:13 PM.
Snap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 12:11 AM   #192
buckman
Human being with feelings
 
buckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,649
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reaperto View Post
1- Define a Time selection to edit
2- Shift + S (Split items at time selection)
3- Shift + F; select FX, click + drag to Clip
4- Right click over Item/Apply track FX to items...
Thats great and soo close to area selection, but the annoying bit is that it keeps re-rendering and creating new files. In programs like Sound Forge and Protools the "true" area selection means you don't have to split/or glue back the file part your working on, and as the FR' votes reveal would be so much more intuitive...

Its good but seems clumsy at the moment..

I think for true sound design it needs real area selection and processing, but until then this is a 'basic' workaround
__________________
==
Reaper 6 needs Area Selection!
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=122
buckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 01:09 AM   #193
Snap
Human being with feelings
 
Snap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 850
Default

I just tried it. Yes, it's only a turnaround. I'm mixing a project in Reaper at this time and while I'm quite comfortable and happy with the mixing workflow I constantly miss the object editor I use in Samplitude all the time. In other hand, automation/envelopes is just killer and a breeze to use. I always hated the tricky and limited Sam's automation.
Snap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 07:42 PM   #194
gtrdrt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImogenLockhart123 View Post
Wow~hello everyone, I am new here, and this is my first post,nice to meet u.
What are your impressions of Reaper so far?
gtrdrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 06:04 PM   #195
Reaperto
Human being with feelings
 
Reaperto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina
Posts: 467
Default Zoom Peaks view without affect Trim

Shift + Up arrow: Increase peaks view gain
Shift + Down arrow: Decrease peaks view gain
__________________
ReaLoaded!
Reaperto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 06:20 PM   #196
henge
Human being with feelings
 
henge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reaperto View Post
Shift + Up arrow: Increase peaks view gain
Shift + Down arrow: Decrease peaks view gain
Wow is that cool. Thanks
__________________
Registered Reaper user.
http://www.villageworkscanada.com/landingpad.cfm
henge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 05:52 PM   #197
BigFella
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 234
Default

My most used (although I can't remember which are default and which I've customised - but you get the idea, and they may already have appeared on the thread, I'm going thread-blind).

TCP

shift+up/down - select track
\ - zoom in selected track vertically
alt+\ zoom out selected track vertically
ctrl+L - set time selection to selected item
, - set left locator (linked to time selection)
. - set right locator ( " " )
/ - remove locators ( " " )

MIDI editor

alt+left/right - select next note
ctrl+left/right/up/down - move selected note

Basic but vital.

I've set up a usb number pad as a remote control and using macros have set up three buttons as:

Record
Stop recording/save all recorded files
Stop recording/delete all recorded files

This allows me to perform basic recording functions without standing over the laptop. Extension cables exist so I could in theory be in the next room if necessary.

Last edited by BigFella; 08-23-2011 at 05:59 PM.
BigFella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 08:50 AM   #198
amrodan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 123
Default

Zblogny that's an amazing idea, I've been struggling with organizing my mess of cables for awhile. I will go home tonight and implement this great idea!
amrodan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 03:07 AM   #199
frog_jr
Human being with feelings
 
frog_jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Here at the Western World
Posts: 1,253
Default

Jeez, nobody's added to this for a while. Here's one I just discovered. When you're in the media explorer, you can highlight a portion of whatever it is you're previewing, right-click, and "insert selected portion into project" and wham, it's inserted at your cursor in the project. Just the time selection from the medial explorer! Pretty nice if you are searching a longer media file for soundbytes or whatever.
__________________
I'm so full of ideas, and here's a good one. - Lucia Pamela
frog_jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 08:00 PM   #200
frog_jr
Human being with feelings
 
frog_jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Here at the Western World
Posts: 1,253
Default

And here's another one that's dirt stupid: I wanted to know exactly how many hours of audio somebody had sent me. I grabbed them all in Windows Explorer, dragged them onto REAPER, right-clicked on the time ruler, told it to display in time increments and Bam! Ten hours and 30 minutes divided between some 40+ mp3 and wav files imported into REAPER in seconds, all for the humble purpose of adding up the total time. Offhand I don't know of a quicker way of doing this.

REAPER is like the multi-purpose tool for anything audio.
__________________
I'm so full of ideas, and here's a good one. - Lucia Pamela
frog_jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.