Old 09-06-2014, 07:55 AM   #1
Mister36
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 111
Default Arm all automation envelopes?

I have searched the manual, forums, and the internet generally, but cannot find how to arm all automation envelopes (without clicking every single checkbox manually).

This Wiki page seems to show that the envelopes window should have an "Arm all" command button. But mine (v4.721) only has "Arm all visible". Even the actions list only has "Automation: Unarm all envelopes"!

I feel like I'm just missing something, a preference option or am looking in the wrong place, but I have several plugins with a LOT of parameters and I would just like the freedom to tweak and automate any of them without first having to find and arm the right envelopes.

Thanks in advance for any help!
__________________
One person's sound design masterpiece is another person's preset.
[gla klandy]
www.soundcloud.com/glaklandy
Mister36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 09:59 AM   #2
msmucr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Praha, Czech republic
Posts: 590
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister36 View Post
I have searched the manual, forums, and the internet generally, but cannot find how to arm all automation envelopes (without clicking every single checkbox manually).

This Wiki page seems to show that the envelopes window should have an "Arm all" command button. But mine (v4.721) only has "Arm all visible". Even the actions list only has "Automation: Unarm all envelopes"!

I feel like I'm just missing something, a preference option or am looking in the wrong place, but I have several plugins with a LOT of parameters and I would just like the freedom to tweak and automate any of them without first having to find and arm the right envelopes.

Thanks in advance for any help!
Hi Mister,

check SWS extensions and its action S&M "Arm all active envelopes for selected tracks", and of course disarm one.
And with plugins it shouldn't be necessary, if you switch track automation mode to touch, write or latch mode.. Any plugin control change, will be automatically written to corresponding automation lane. Without activating parameter first. That is, how i use it.
Also check action "FX: Show/hide track envelope for last touched FX parameter", it can be mapped to keystroke and elegantly used for quick adding of new automation lane for last touched plugin control when you are working in standard trim/read automation mode.

Michal
msmucr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 02:57 AM   #3
Mister36
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by msmucr View Post
Hi Mister,

check SWS extensions and its action S&M "Arm all active envelopes for selected tracks", and of course disarm one.
And with plugins it shouldn't be necessary, if you switch track automation mode to touch, write or latch mode.. Any plugin control change, will be automatically written to corresponding automation lane. Without activating parameter first. That is, how i use it.
Also check action "FX: Show/hide track envelope for last touched FX parameter", it can be mapped to keystroke and elegantly used for quick adding of new automation lane for last touched plugin control when you are working in standard trim/read automation mode.

Michal
Thank you so much, Michal. It was one of those moments where I thought I'd tried everything and was getting thoroughly confused (as I was pretty sure it couldn't be so hard to record some automation), but must have only tried this mode when something else wasn't right because when I got chance to try again (just now), latch mode works like a charm!

Thanks again.
__________________
One person's sound design masterpiece is another person's preset.
[gla klandy]
www.soundcloud.com/glaklandy
Mister36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 03:16 AM   #4
msmucr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Praha, Czech republic
Posts: 590
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister36 View Post
Thank you so much, Michal. It was one of those moments where I thought I'd tried everything and was getting thoroughly confused (as I was pretty sure it couldn't be so hard to record some automation), but must have only tried this mode when something else wasn't right because when I got chance to try again (just now), latch mode works like a charm!

Thanks again.
You are welcome. I'm glad it works for you.
Just small hint for automation (maybe you already know it), which i usually toggle according to situation.
There is setting in Preferences/Editing Behavior/Automation ->
"Add transition point when recording automation while playback is stopped"

This controls, whether automation curve between new point and last point is straight line, or there is automatically created step right before new point.
Straight line is great for instance, when you create smooth transition between sections or smooth panoramas with ReaSurround and it will save you deletion of one point. Contrary step is good, when is suitable to change some parameter right at one moment.. eg. start of chorus in song.

Michal
msmucr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 03:18 AM   #5
Mister36
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 111
Default

Thanks! Good tip. I had seen this, but haven't used automation in REAPER enough yet to know how I'd work with it (I usually use Maschine and do automation inside it).
__________________
One person's sound design masterpiece is another person's preset.
[gla klandy]
www.soundcloud.com/glaklandy
Mister36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2019, 02:29 PM   #6
Jules.W
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 77
Default

Hi Both,

I have the same problem, few years after.

I use the last version of reaper but I don't find a way to always arm all plugin enveloppe.

I try your technic but it arm "all the active envelopes" and only those who are activates...

And I don't know how to activate all of them without clicing in each little checkbox of each track...

Any tips?
Many thanks.
Jules.W is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.