Old 03-19-2019, 01:40 AM   #1
carbon
Human being with feelings
 
carbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Eesti
Posts: 2,376
Default Cropping Video

I'm new to working with video.
I wanted to know if it's possible to import a mp4 video (done with a phone), replace the soundtrack and crop the length of the video without re-encoding?

I'm worried that if re-encoding, then the video quality will suffer too much.
__________________
KasparTORN
carbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 02:14 AM   #2
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,797
Default

Not in Reaper.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 04:46 AM   #3
Eliseat
Human being with feelings
 
Eliseat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Cologne
Posts: 1,167
Default

Hi carbon,

you could do the following: Use mkvtoolnix or Avidemux to change the length of your video without re-encoding. Then you could import this video, create the audio and only export the audio to join(mux) video and audio external also with mkvtoolnix or Avidemux without any loss of quality.

This sounds a bit confusing and cumbersome but it is actually pretty easy. If you have questions about it, just ask.
__________________
☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆REAPER//✿◔‿◔)°☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆
Eliseat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 04:48 AM   #4
carbon
Human being with feelings
 
carbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Eesti
Posts: 2,376
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eliseat View Post
Hi carbon,

you could do the following: Use mkvtoolnix or Avidemux to change the length of your video without re-encoding. Then you could import this video, create the audio and only export the audio to join(mux) video and audio external also with mkvtoolnix or Avidemux without any loss of quality.

This sounds a bit confusing and cumbersome but it is actually pretty easy. If you have questions about it, just ask.
I'll try that tomorrow. Thanks!
I'll be back if I get lost.
__________________
KasparTORN
carbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 09:15 AM   #5
Eliseat
Human being with feelings
 
Eliseat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Cologne
Posts: 1,167
Default

Here are some links!

mkvtoolnix (whoever invented this name ... ლ(ಠ益ಠლ)) can be downloaded here:
https://www.fosshub.com/MKVToolNix.html
I use the portable version. It allows to split videos without re-encoding BUT it puts the video in a mkv container afterwards. (No problem as Reaper can load them too.)

If you use VLC you can try my extension (still not official because I hate that I would have to create another account at videolan)
More info and download here: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=216099

Greetings
Eli
__________________
☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆REAPER//✿◔‿◔)°☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆
Eliseat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 10:25 AM   #6
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carbon View Post
I'm new to working with video.
I wanted to know if it's possible to import a mp4 video (done with a phone), replace the soundtrack and crop the length of the video without re-encoding?

I'm worried that if re-encoding, then the video quality will suffer too much.
I did exactly this, plus a bunch of video processing, and I don't think the quality suffered too much. Here it is https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pH1p5pnWreI

Filmed with an iPhone, audio recorded by me. The music and video editing was all down in Reaper.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 12:04 AM   #7
carbon
Human being with feelings
 
carbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Eesti
Posts: 2,376
Default

Thanks for the links Eliseat!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabian View Post
I did exactly this, plus a bunch of video processing, and I don't think the quality suffered too much. Here it is https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pH1p5pnWreI

Filmed with an iPhone, audio recorded by me. The music and video editing was all down in Reaper.
I'll go through the process once and compare the results, if the extra effort of keeping the video intact is worth it.
And if I would want to add anything to the video - text, title, graphics, then reencoding can't be avoided.

Is there any difference what the ending file format is to be able to upload it to Facebook and Youtube, maybe Instagram?
__________________
KasparTORN
carbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 09:14 AM   #8
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carbon View Post

Is there any difference what the ending file format is to be able to upload it to Facebook and Youtube, maybe Instagram?
For uploading to YT, mov format is apparently recommended. I installed ffmpeg and then rendered to mpeg4. Then I simply changed the file extension to mov. It works. (And this is for windows, I donät know about Mac).

I guess you should be able to upload that mov-file to both FB and Insta, but I have not tried it.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 10:53 AM   #9
carbon
Human being with feelings
 
carbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Eesti
Posts: 2,376
Default

I've tried to upload a mov file to Facebook twice now and it hangs at 86.9%/602MB.
Don't know what's happening there, a size limit perhaps?
__________________
KasparTORN
carbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 11:02 PM   #10
carbon
Human being with feelings
 
carbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Eesti
Posts: 2,376
Default

Stuck on processing for 15 h now on Facebook. I'll try my luck on Youtube in the meantime.
__________________
KasparTORN
carbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 12:46 AM   #11
carbon
Human being with feelings
 
carbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Eesti
Posts: 2,376
Default

Finally got the videos up, both Facebook and Youtube. I found out that I had the wrong codec - mjpeg instead of H.264 - hence the big file.

https://youtu.be/V86IWEpC2Ao

Next stop Hollywood!
__________________
KasparTORN
carbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 01:29 AM   #12
Eliseat
Human being with feelings
 
Eliseat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Cologne
Posts: 1,167
Default

Oh, didn't I mention it? ლ(´ڡ`ლ)

Usually I suggest using H264 codecs for such things. Sorry, this would have spared you a lot of wasted time.

Anyway. I'm glad you made your thing and achieved your goal. If you have other questions about video in Reaper, just let it flow ...

Greetings
Eli
__________________
☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆REAPER//✿◔‿◔)°☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆
Eliseat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 01:36 AM   #13
carbon
Human being with feelings
 
carbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Eesti
Posts: 2,376
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eliseat View Post
Oh, didn't I mention it? ლ(´ڡ`ლ)

Usually I suggest using H264 codecs for such things. Sorry, this would have spared you a lot of wasted time.

No problem! I learned a lot in the process. I also need to figure out the best way to lock the phone camera autofocus. Now it jumps all over the place.

Open Camera seems like it could do that:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...amera&hl=en_US
__________________
KasparTORN
carbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 11:18 AM   #14
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,511
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carbon View Post
I also need to figure out the best way to lock the phone camera autofocus. Now it jumps all over the place.
on iPhone it's a long press to lock focus and exposure. Probably similar on other devices
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 12:56 PM   #15
carbon
Human being with feelings
 
carbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Eesti
Posts: 2,376
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
on iPhone it's a long press to lock focus and exposure. Probably similar on other devices
Not on Android I'm afraid. Third party software seems to be the only solution.
__________________
KasparTORN
carbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2019, 01:54 AM   #16
Skaven252
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 124
Default

Quote:
replace the soundtrack and crop the length of the video without re-encoding
These both operations whould be possible with FFMpeg. If by "crop the length" you mean time, not the video frame size.

These FFMpeg options aren't accessible through Reaper however, you'll need to use the command line, or something like MyFFMpeg.
Skaven252 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2019, 04:02 AM   #17
Eliseat
Human being with feelings
 
Eliseat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Cologne
Posts: 1,167
Default

Yes, its the same with mkvtoolnix. I'm pretty sure this can get called from inside of Reaper via Lua but there is a problem depending the split point. Those programs (mkvtoolnix, ffmpeg and avidDemux) need to split exactly at the (codec) key frames as they are the only true pictures in the video. But Reaper allows splitting everywhere because it creates representations of the interpolated frames. So this logical conflict needs to get around with to solve the "sending from inside Reaper to split without re-encode".

The workflow would look like this:
- Make splits in Reaper
- Calling the script to send to the external splitter (ffmpeg etc.)
- The script needs to find the next (same) keyframe where the external program is going to split.
- Script is sending the correct cut point and getting the split video
- The script also has to reload/replace the external split video on the track

That's all.
__________________
☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆REAPER//✿◔‿◔)°☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆
Eliseat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2019, 05:45 PM   #18
carbon
Human being with feelings
 
carbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Eesti
Posts: 2,376
Default

Anyway, I decided that I can live with the re-encoding after all.
The benefits outweigh the slight quality degradation.
__________________
KasparTORN
carbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.