COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :

Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > Other Software Discussion > WDL users forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2019, 02:29 PM   #1
pressplay
Human being with feelings
 
pressplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Berlin
Posts: 47
Default building iPlug2 examples on macOS Mojave - need some help

Trying to build IPlugEffect xcode project on macOS mojave. with frustration.

Deployment target is set to 10.11 and the SDK is copied to the correct location. Include paths are not set correctly in xcode, because importing <simd/simd.h> from nanovg_mtl.m fails. If I configure search paths in the build settings I get many other errors.

user headers: 'simd/simd.h' file not found with <angled> include; use "quotes" instead

system headers: No member named 'signbit' in the global namespace (cmath)

as I said: frustration. Please help!
pressplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 02:47 PM   #2
olilarkin
Human being with feelings
 
olilarkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Huddersfield, UK
Posts: 1,154
Default

i didn't try building on mojave yet. when you say the SDK is copied to the correct location, which sdk are you referring to? should be able to compile just with 10.14 sdk
__________________
VirtualCZ | pMix | Endless Series | iPlug2 | Linkedin | Facebook
Available for Audio Dev tuition via Skype (IPlug/JUCE/C++)
olilarkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 10:48 PM   #3
pressplay
Human being with feelings
 
pressplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Berlin
Posts: 47
Default

I have tried with many different sdks. It's always the same error: 'simd/simd.h' file not found. Although I can actually see the file under /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Platforms/MacOSX.platform/Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.11.sdk/usr/include/ (and 10.14 respectively). But as I said, adding the include path manually in xcode causes other errors. And I have no idea what clang does under the hood.
pressplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2019, 02:28 AM   #4
pressplay
Human being with feelings
 
pressplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Berlin
Posts: 47
Default

Removing all sdks except 10.14 and setting deployment target to 10.14 helps. It's like xcode is confused and searches in many sdk folders at the same time. But the binary won't work on any macOS older than 10.14 now, will it?
pressplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2019, 06:02 AM   #5
pressplay
Human being with feelings
 
pressplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Berlin
Posts: 47
Default

It's strange but it works now down to 10.8. It was a mistake to copy the old sdks. It's not necessary, but I remember to have done it with iplug1 in order to make it compile.
By the way: I would love to have a cmake configured project for cross platform development. Unfortunately, I don't have the time for such things at the moment.
pressplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2019, 12:46 AM   #6
Tale
Human being with feelings
 
Tale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,954
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pressplay View Post
It's strange but it works now down to 10.8.
Your deployment target is probably 10.8. Note that this is not the same as the base SDK.
Tale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2019, 03:06 AM   #7
pressplay
Human being with feelings
 
pressplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Berlin
Posts: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tale View Post
Your deployment target is probably 10.8. Note that this is not the same as the base SDK.
This is what I meant. I can set the deployment target down to 10.8 without copying the old SDK folders. I first thought I have to copy them and this resulted in various include errors.
pressplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2019, 05:59 AM   #8
Tale
Human being with feelings
 
Tale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,954
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pressplay View Post
This is what I meant. I can set the deployment target down to 10.8 without copying the old SDK folders. I first thought I have to copy them and this resulted in various include errors.
OK, I see... Well, AFAIK you only need the older SDKs if you want to go back further than 10.8.
Tale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2019, 03:02 PM   #9
CaptnWillie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 51
Default

have you been able to get IPlug2 working on mojave? I finally got a new computer and find that our plugin we rendered without "retina" definition on mac looks dated - am looking to jump back in!
CaptnWillie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2019, 10:47 PM   #10
pressplay
Human being with feelings
 
pressplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Berlin
Posts: 47
Default

High DPI/Retina and vector graphics were my main motivations, too. It's actually plug and play. It was just me overthinking it a little bit. Use the provided python scripts to set everything up. But expect changes on the master branch from time to time that break everything
pressplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.