Old 07-23-2018, 03:51 PM   #41
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,587
Default

Hi Craig,

I could look at your syntax and explain the DrumGizmo XML files to the extent I understand them, and I'd be glad to do it, however...

...if all you're trying to do is trigger a single sample and not a "bank" of samples (for instance the same kick drum with multiple samples for variations in velocity), DrumGizmo isn't needed. That's much simpler to do with ReaSamplOmatic5000.

When I said DrumGizmo could use a kit "consisting of as little as a single sample, on a single key, using only one output", I didn't expect that's what you wanted to do!

Check this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RJD7aNzSmO8

Also this, for using ReaSamplOmatic5000 for non-drum sounds mapped across a keyboard:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1pdzzLkEF_U

You'll notice some of the settings he uses aren't useful for drum samples, and also he maps the same sample across the entire keyboard since it's a non-drum instrument.

ReaSamplOmatic5000 can do even more when you use multiple instances on a track and use the "round robin" feature, but I doubt you're interested in that. You can even use a bunch of ReaSamplOmatic5000 instances to make a whole multi-channel/multi-velocity/round-robin'ed drumkit. The kits I mentioned earlier were already made that way, actually. The only drawback to using ReaSamplOmatic5000 for that sort of thing: it uses a lot more CPU to make a complex "sample bank" drumkit compared to using DrumGizmo.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2018, 09:45 AM   #42
CraigG58
Human being with feelings
 
CraigG58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: North Port, Florida
Posts: 59
Default

Hi again James...

Absolutely perfect, took me about 2 minutes to set up! Simple, and accomplishes exactly what I wanted. I'll definitely be checking out those videos.

I need to "RTF-REAPER-M" more closely before bugging people. A simple search on drums in there would have found it, but I never suspected REAPER itself came complete with a great plugin like this.

No worries about the CPU usage... I've got an Intel Core i7-7700 Quad-Core CPU in my DAW PC that runs at @3.60 GHz, along with 16GB of RAM and SSD hdisks. This thing is a beast, literally boots Windows 10 in about 5 seconds. It's perfect for DAW software and, even with a 20 track REAPER mix and a boatload of plugins, I've never seen CPU utilization get above 5%!

I also noticed a template called "ReaDrums" in the manual that was written for use with ReaSamplOmatic5000. I'll likely get into playing around with that a bit down the road, if I need to do something a bit more complex.

On a closing note: I love these forums! I played around with Harrison Mixbus for a while (about as flexible and easy to use as eating a broken glass sandwich, what a waste of time that was). If you even mention another DAW in their forums (for instance, this is how I did [insert function here] in Cakewalk, how do I do it in Mixbus?), trolls abound who will lecture you about everything from "violating analog workflow" (whatever that means, its a DAW and therefore obviously digital) to poor mix planning, and whatever else you can think of under the sun, before finally bringing the full wrath of God down upon your head. Here, it's just the opposite, and that's a great thing... Such a useful place to learn, thanks to people like you!

I sincerely thank you once again for all your help and being so generous with your time, it's much appreciated. Not to mention, unlike the Harrison forums, you didn't humiliate me like I was a total DAW noob.
__________________
Visit me at the not-so-world-famous Cygnus Studios:
Blog: https://cygnusstudios.blog/
Stream: https://www.soundclick.com/bands3/de...bandID=1434492
CraigG58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2018, 12:08 PM   #43
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,587
Default

Glad to help! Everyone needs help sometimes. I can't speak for other DAW forums since I haven't been on others in years, but this does seem like a fairly good place.

Also it's not immediately apparent to most people that RS5K has a lot of utility, so I'm not surprised it slipped under your radar.

Well if your system is awesome, try the "Tchackpoum ReaperDrummer" kits using RS5K. It takes a bit of setting up, but they sound great.

Analog workflow. Lol. What year is this again?
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2018, 02:57 PM   #44
CraigG58
Human being with feelings
 
CraigG58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: North Port, Florida
Posts: 59
Default

Will give configuring those kits a try eventually, already have them downloaded.

I mentioned this earlier, but I think you'd really like the free samples that can be found here:

https://www.musicradar.com/news/drum...samples-229460

Check 'em out when you get a chance!
__________________
Visit me at the not-so-world-famous Cygnus Studios:
Blog: https://cygnusstudios.blog/
Stream: https://www.soundclick.com/bands3/de...bandID=1434492
CraigG58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2018, 03:08 PM   #45
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,587
Default

Those don't interest me in general. The "kits" in that pack are what I'd be interested in if anything, and there's not much there. Tchackpoum kits have way more samples for velocity on each piece, round robins of each, with proximity/overhead/room buses for everything, and lots of kit pieces. It's like working with an actual drum mix, with a lot more possibilities.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 06:03 AM   #46
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,797
Default

Regarding the FR: https://askjf.com/index.php?q=4267s
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 09:14 AM   #47
alextone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 240
Default

Another vote for LV2, and LADSPA. There's some really nice audio and midi plugs as well as Fons Adriensen's excellent ambisonic encoders and decoders available as simple ladspa plugins.

Alex.
__________________
UbuntuStudio 18.04 Debian9 with kxrepos
alextone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2018, 10:43 PM   #48
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,587
Default

Now that I'm running Linux I realize how few LinuxVST plugins there are, and how many more LV2 there are.

Fingers crossed for LV2 support.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux

Last edited by JamesPeters; 10-07-2018 at 11:53 PM.
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 02:56 PM   #49
MidiOliveira
Human being with feelings
 
MidiOliveira's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 7
Default

+1 for LV2
MidiOliveira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 11:03 AM   #50
eeshugerman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 3
Default

+1 for LV2 🙏
eeshugerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2018, 05:54 AM   #51
Pigwink
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Default

+1 for LV2 and LADSPA!
Pigwink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2018, 02:46 PM   #52
sub26nico
Human being with feelings
 
sub26nico's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: France
Posts: 151
Default

I add my voice here, +1 for LV2 and LADSPA support in Reaper.
__________________
http://librazik.tuxfamily.org/
sub26nico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2018, 04:33 AM   #53
cern.th.skei
Human being with feelings
 
cern.th.skei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: trondheim, norway
Posts: 312
Default

here's a +1 from me too..
__________________
:: blog :: github :: skei.audio :: ccernn.audio :: lethe :: manes :: manii ::
cern.th.skei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2018, 05:23 AM   #54
bmarkham
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Ipswich, NH
Posts: 14
Default 100% +1 for LV2 support!

I'm a big fan of reaper but also a big fan of Linux.

The lack of LV2 support in reaper has me doing some initial stuff in reaper (especially for live recorded stuff where reafir is indispensable)but then exporting the tracks to finish the work in ardour.

I like reaper better -- the ability to organize tracks under a bus explicitly etc. -- but the dearth of LinuxVST plugins compared to the wealth of Linux LV2 plugins means that I inevitably bounce stuff to ardour for my mixing and mastering.

Of course, on Windows there is no such trouble because there are 5,000,000 paid or free VSTs for every imaginable purpose. But on Linux its a problem.

p.s. I have slip-in/slip-out drives in my computer, so I slip in the Windows SSD to do windows and the Linux SSD to do Linux and I really appreciate that the Reaper license lets me run Reaper on both windows and linux without having to buy a second license!
bmarkham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2018, 02:37 PM   #55
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 236
Default

+1 for LV2 support

@bmarkham: what LV2 plugins are you using in Ardour?
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Stretch / XFCE
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 02:41 AM   #56
bulevardi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Brussels
Posts: 55
Default

Yes, I definitely want LV2 support on Reaper.

So I can run Calf Studio Gear:
https://calf-studio-gear.org/

It should be possible to run stand-alone version, under DAW's like Ardour and so, but I want it in Reaper ^^
__________________
More adventure on: http://users.telenet.be/bulevardi
bulevardi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 04:37 AM   #57
sokcoc 969
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 6
Default

LV2 support would be great, as well as LADSPA
sokcoc 969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2018, 03:37 AM   #58
MrHaroldA
Human being with feelings
 
MrHaroldA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 22
Default

Any official statements on LV2 (and LADSPA) support from Cockos?
MrHaroldA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 11:39 AM   #59
Anzick
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 23
Default

+1 LV2 support please
Anzick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2018, 01:28 PM   #60
Jklitz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Default HI First Post LV2 PLease

HI

LV2 in the Linux Reaper would be fantastic. Is it possible to donate for that
specific feature? How about cockos setting up a monthly subscription for features that people really want to see in Linux Reaper.Something small 5.00
minimum and up. A lot of people could benefit what do others thing?
Jklitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2018, 01:34 PM   #61
Jklitz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Default Feature Request

HI

In the Help Menu. How about being able to setup Links to How to Videos ether
on the Web or Downloaded on your HD. Would be very convenient.
Jklitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2018, 01:41 PM   #62
Jklitz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Default Feature Request

Hi

In the select FX Plugin It would be very nice to be able to edit the Plugin names and add comments. Say as the mouse hovers over a plug in.

Thanks Joseph
Jklitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2019, 08:02 PM   #63
7zip
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sokcoc 969 View Post
LV2 support would be great, as well as LADSPA
I agree
7zip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 06:38 PM   #64
daeavelwyn
Human being with feelings
 
daeavelwyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 194
Default

As steinberg mentioned the end of vst2 plugins, and regarding the very good quality of numbers of lv2 plugins, having lv2 support is really a good idea to get Reaper raedy for the futur X-D
daeavelwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2019, 11:10 PM   #65
kris.audioplanet
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Poland
Posts: 29
Default

+1 here. Mixbus being based on Ardour does that.
kris.audioplanet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 03:46 AM   #66
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrHaroldA View Post
Any official statements on LV2 (and LADSPA) support from Cockos?
https://askjf.com/index.php?q=4105s

https://askjf.com/index.php?q=4267s
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 07:17 AM   #67
cern.th.skei
Human being with feelings
 
cern.th.skei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: trondheim, norway
Posts: 312
Default

https://www.askjf.com/index.php?q=4584s
__________________
:: blog :: github :: skei.audio :: ccernn.audio :: lethe :: manes :: manii ::
cern.th.skei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2019, 08:08 AM   #68
silksow
Human being with feelings
 
silksow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28
Default

A hearty +1 from a new Linux refugee
__________________
i7-4790K - 16 GB - Manjaro Linux Xfce - RME UFX
"Recording engineers do not die. They are dragged into the earth by the sheer weight of their balls." -- Malcolm Chisholm 1929-2003
silksow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 04:58 AM   #69
bulevardi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Brussels
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7zip View Post
I agree
Everyone agrees.

__________________
More adventure on: http://users.telenet.be/bulevardi
bulevardi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 12:35 PM   #70
kmchen
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
Default

+1 here too. That would help Linux users to cross from Ardour to Reaper for midi processing
kmchen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 07:18 AM   #71
udaemon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 25
Default

I'd like to see reaper supporting lv2, too!
udaemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2019, 04:35 PM   #72
vittopascu
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
Default

+1 for LV2 support, please make our stubborn linux-based lives less miserable
vittopascu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.