Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2016, 03:32 AM   #1
CyberAP
Human being with feelings
 
CyberAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 50
Default Option to stretch multiple items considering their position

I miss this stretch feature from Audition in Reaper. It's much more convenient to stretch multiple items as one item just using mouse drag, than selecting multiple items, changing time selection and executing 'Stretch items to time selection' action.

Some explanation in screenshots:

How it works in Audition

stretches group to:

How it works right now in Reaper

stretches group to:

So this can be solved with just 1 simple mouse modifier that considers item position when stretching. It's not a big feature but a huge time saver. Thanks!
CyberAP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2016, 05:23 AM   #2
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,729
Default

Indeed.

Something like this has been asked for a few times and will most likely come at some point. would be very useful

I've always thought that when you group items, there should be an option to totally treat them as if they are one item so things like you've described work.

For now, if you have SWS extension installed then you can use an action to force the selected items to fit the time selection which does the job but a manual option would be nice too on the mouse modifiers.

The other way right now is to select all the items and turn them into a subproject which will then treat them as a single item that you can stretch etc and also you can double click to edit as a "subproject".
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2016, 04:01 AM   #3
CyberAP
Human being with feelings
 
CyberAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 50
Default

Hate to bump threads but this is actually really important to me. I am struggling with time stretching multiple clips at once, although Reaper has the best in class time stretching functionality.

I have more examples. Here is how you time stretch multiple clips to fit exact amount of time:



Now imagine that you need to make very precise changes. You will have to change the selection every time to make any changes!

With Audition it's a lot simpler. You can select multiple clips and stretch them with no need of moving time selection. You can even group items and they all behave like one clip, which is absolutely expected.





Is it possible to at least make clips in group behave like a one single clip?
CyberAP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2016, 04:52 AM   #4
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,919
Default

indeed, that could be cool !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2016, 05:28 AM   #5
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,771
Default

Ooh Yes !
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2016, 06:25 AM   #6
RobU
Human being with feelings
 
RobU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 806
Default

+1

Tres cool
__________________
Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?
~Edgar Bergen
RobU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2016, 03:49 AM   #7
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,729
Default

Still something I would really really love to have!
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2019, 09:34 PM   #8
SonicAxiom
Human being with feelings
 
SonicAxiom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,822
Default

has this been implemented yet? If not, please do!

.
__________________
[Check out my free VST plugin collection here.]
SonicAxiom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2019, 11:15 AM   #9
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,244
Default

Not that I would use this but makes a lot of sense and seems really handy !
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.