Old 06-06-2019, 02:44 AM   #1
trinita
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 40
Default Not to fire my synth

Hi guys...i have a behringer neutron (in-out-phones) and i would like to send audio from reaper into it and come back to daw; in order to avoid firing my hardware and feedback looping, can you tell me if this setting is correct?

1.neutron out to pc in
2.pc out to neutron in
3.neutron phones to amp\phones;

in reaper:

1.audio track to neutron track (not to master)
2.neutron track not to master;

thanks a lot...
trinita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 04:34 AM   #2
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,069
Default

Do you mean how not to FRY my synth? Also do you mean

2.neutron track not to master;
Should be
2.neutron track out to master;
?

What is your audio interface to your pc?
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 05:33 AM   #3
trinita
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
Do you mean how not to FRY my synth? Also do you mean

2.neutron track not to master;
Should be
2.neutron track out to master;
?

What is your audio interface to your pc?
to fry..ok
i try to explain better:

1.neutron output to pc input
2.pc output to neutron input
3.neutron phones to amp\phones

1.audio track send audio to neutron track (master output muted)
2.neutron track master output muted.
trinita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 05:47 AM   #4
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,316
Default

it sounds like you are wanting to use an external device as an insert - you can do this with the ReaInsert plugin or route it manually, but you need two separate outputs to do this (and to be able to monitor it). You haven't made clear what sort of interface you are using.
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 08:55 AM   #5
trinita
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 40
Default

meybe i'm not able to explain what i need; i try again:

-i have a neutron
-i have a pc whith his internal audio interface (only an input and an output)
-i have not an external audio interface;

i want to send audio from my daw to my neutron, use for example neutron filter, delay, drive etc...and come back into my daw to record the result...
trinita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 09:23 AM   #6
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,316
Default

i do understand you - you want to use your neutron as an external insert fx.
Ideally you need two (sets) of output to do this, so that you can monitor the result in Reaper as you record.
You don't have this luxury, so your method will probably work, if you are monitoring through the neutron, though any recorded audio will have additional latency, obviously.
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 09:25 AM   #7
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,316
Default

or maybe if it's only mono stuff you are doing you could split the left/right outputs so that one is the fx send and one is the master out
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 09:38 AM   #8
trinita
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domzy View Post
i do understand you - you want to use your neutron as an external insert fx.
Ideally you need two (sets) of output to do this, so that you can monitor the result in Reaper as you record.
You don't have this luxury, so your method will probably work, if you are monitoring through the neutron, though any recorded audio will have additional latency, obviously.
Exactly..this is what i mean..thanks
my question is also about reaper setting, becouse i heard about feedback looping...so to avoid this i think i have to set the two tracks i\o not going on master in reaper...is it right?
trinita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 10:01 AM   #9
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trinita View Post
Exactly..this is what i mean..thanks
my question is also about reaper setting, becouse i heard about feedback looping...so to avoid this i think i have to set the two tracks i\o not going on master in reaper...is it right?
obviously you need some audio going to the neutron - but apart from that, you don't want any other audio going to the master (because it is the same signal/output as your insert send).
The most important thing is to ensure that the output from the neutron doesn't get sent to the master - this is what will cause feedback.

edit - or if you are using a send from a specific track, you can just turn off the master track, as you are monitoring through the neutron

Last edited by domzy; 06-06-2019 at 10:25 AM.
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 05:41 AM   #10
trinita
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 40
Default

ok thanks...let's try
trinita is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.