Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 09-28-2022, 10:10 AM   #1
Will-E
Human being with feelings

Default Some Basic Help Needed on Saving Files Please

Hello, I have my good buddy of 30 years visiting in a couple days to jam for a long weekend. I'm new to Reaper and at this point have just played around with some basic stuff. Our plan is to record about a dozen songs over 3 days.

I use a Windows laptop that's only a year old and has good memory, processor, etc. My interface is a Focusrite 3rd gen. 1820I. I have all kinds of instruments (drums, synthesizer, 2 guitar amps, vocals, bass amp all mic'd up and plugged into the interface. Today, my goal is to get all the signal levels set so we can hit the ground running Friday morning.

So here's my question: Again, I'm new to reaper and the goal is to spend as little time as possible on technical stuff while he's here. That said, what would be the most efficient way to setup a file with all my above mentioned devices already setup on tracks in Reaper so that after we record a song, I can save that song and then use the same track arrangement and settings to start a new song (over and over again) without having to recreate it each time.

I understand the save-as feature and possibly that the best option. If so, all the data/recorded tracks from the last songs will still be there. So what's been elusive to me in Reaper as I get my feet wet, is how do I easily delete what's been recorded on each track so can start with a clean slate?

Thanks so much for any/all help. Any and all feedback will be greatly appreciated.
Will-E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2022, 10:23 AM   #2
mixer9

Project template and or track template. This may help:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pMEcHXOsi1w
mixer9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2022, 10:57 AM   #3
serr