Old 10-28-2010, 10:05 AM   #1
bluefonia
Human being with feelings
 
bluefonia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 176
Default Custom colors on fx- and dock-windows ??

Iīve seen lots of different nice Reaper-themes including the default 3. Personally I especially like the Rado-theme. (I donīt have the skills to make themes myself besides what can be customized via the pref.-settings.)
No matter the default- or custom-themes one thing that strikes me is the background- and textcolor on the FX-window and the different dock-windows is allways white/black.
I think this clean white background is very hard on the eye when you come from the more gentle colorshades in the tracklist and mixer. (and neither does it look very elegant ;-)).

Just wondered, - is the reason for this that it is simply not possible to customize these parts?
__________________
iMac 27" 3.05 GHz/8 GB Ram, LaCie ex. FW400/800 HDīs, OS 10.6.8, Mackie 400F, Reaper, Logic 8.0.2 & Studio One

Last edited by bluefonia; 10-28-2010 at 10:07 AM. Reason: missing word
bluefonia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 10:09 AM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,311
Default

Those are "stock" Windows GUI elements, that's why they're so "plain". If you change your Windows theme, those colors can change.

But I do vote for not using Windows GUI elements AT ALL, instead making Reaper 100% skinnable!
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 10:25 AM   #3
bluefonia
Human being with feelings
 
bluefonia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Those are "stock" Windows GUI elements, that's why they're so "plain". If you change your Windows theme, those colors can change.
I donīt quite get it, - and maybe because I`m not using a pc but a mac?

EDIT:
Sorry, forgot this.
Quote:
But I do vote for not using Windows GUI elements AT ALL, instead making Reaper 100% skinnable!
Does this mean that at this moment the fx- and dockwindows can`t be customized, but you would like this to happen?
__________________
iMac 27" 3.05 GHz/8 GB Ram, LaCie ex. FW400/800 HDīs, OS 10.6.8, Mackie 400F, Reaper, Logic 8.0.2 & Studio One

Last edited by bluefonia; 10-28-2010 at 10:39 AM.
bluefonia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 10:41 AM   #4
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluefonia View Post
I donīt quite get it, - and maybe because I`m not using a pc but a mac?
It's the same - Mac has different "stock" or "default" visual elements, Reaper just uses those.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluefonia View Post
Does this mean that at this moment the fx- and dockwindows can`t be customized, but you would like this to happen?
Yes, that is correct. Well, you can sort of work around it by changing your OS theme, but that's not what everybody wants to do (I don't want to do it, for example, I'd rather have Reaper 100% skinnable.)
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 10:59 AM   #5
bluefonia
Human being with feelings
 
bluefonia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
It's the same - Mac has different "stock" or "default" visual elements
Okay, - now I get it.

Quote:
I'd rather have Reaper 100% skinnable.)
I`ll second that. Has this subject been addressed in other treads?
Otherwise it might be worth starting a debate in the feature-requests forum.

...and thanks by the way.
__________________
iMac 27" 3.05 GHz/8 GB Ram, LaCie ex. FW400/800 HDīs, OS 10.6.8, Mackie 400F, Reaper, Logic 8.0.2 & Studio One
bluefonia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 06:44 AM   #6
arkima
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NZ
Posts: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
But I do vote for not using Windows GUI elements AT ALL, instead making Reaper 100% skinnable!
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluefonia View Post
I`ll second that. Has this subject been addressed in other treads?
Otherwise it might be worth starting a debate in the feature-requests forum.
YES!! I'll be down for that!

-a
arkima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 02:17 AM   #7
bluefonia
Human being with feelings
 
bluefonia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 176
Default

Just opened a tread on the subject in the feature request forum: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.p...d=1#post608519
__________________
iMac 27" 3.05 GHz/8 GB Ram, LaCie ex. FW400/800 HDīs, OS 10.6.8, Mackie 400F, Reaper, Logic 8.0.2 & Studio One
bluefonia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 05:05 PM   #8
droctopu5
Human being with feelings
 
droctopu5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 48
Default

So, two years later, and the FX window is not only not skinnable, but we still can't even adjust the background/foreground colors to something that isn't jarringly different than whatever beautiful theme we're using?

I find this weird. Or did I miss something? Can we alter the FX window somewhere?

Hey, I'm all about functionality over aesthetics, as far as Reaper team priorities go. But my eyeballs disagree.
droctopu5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 04:04 AM   #9
nPHYN1T3
Human being with feelings
 
nPHYN1T3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: White Hell
Posts: 63
Default indeed

back in version 3 the FX window adhered to the theme colors but now it's stark white. I run a dark UI and Reaper FX windows do NOT adhere to the system theme either, they have become (possibly inadvertently) hard coded grey frame white background, black text, brutal on the eyes!
nPHYN1T3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 02:09 PM   #10
Breeder
Human being with feelings
 
Breeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nPHYN1T3 View Post
back in version 3 the FX window adhered to the theme colors but now it's stark white. I run a dark UI and Reaper FX windows do NOT adhere to the system theme either, they have become (possibly inadvertently) hard coded grey frame white background, black text, brutal on the eyes!
That`s because now the background and foreground are not controlled by windows anymore.

They can be changed via reaper preferences under Theme Editor. When you edit it, don`t forget to save it
Breeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 02:50 PM   #11
droctopu5
Human being with feelings
 
droctopu5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Breeder View Post
That`s because now the background and foreground are not controlled by windows anymore.

They can be changed via reaper preferences under Theme Editor. When you edit it, don`t forget to save it
The I/O window has 3 color options, but the FX window does not, where FX chains are. Some of us spend a lot of time with this window open.

If you're referring to the settings for "Window list..." in the Theme Editor, those don't seem to have any affect on the FX window at all, and it is definitely the Windows them.

I've tried this in both XP and W7. Have you done this yourself? Am I missing something else in the Theme Editor?
droctopu5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 03:16 PM   #12
Breeder
Human being with feelings
 
Breeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by droctopu5 View Post
The I/O window has 3 color options, but the FX window does not, where FX chains are. Some of us spend a lot of time with this window open.

If you're referring to the settings for "Window list..." in the Theme Editor, those don't seem to have any affect on the FX window at all, and it is definitely the Windows them.

I've tried this in both XP and W7. Have you done this yourself? Am I missing something else in the Theme Editor?
That is correct, FX chains don`t have any custom colors yet, only FX browser. FX chain colors are still governed by windows.
Breeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 03:26 PM   #13
droctopu5
Human being with feelings
 
droctopu5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Breeder View Post
That is correct, FX chains don`t have any custom colors yet, only FX browser. FX chain colors are still governed by windows.
Ah okay. Well, I don't think many people spend much time with the I/O and FX browser windows open, so not sure why those got some love and the FX chain window gets none.

Maybe there's a technical issue with embedding plugin UIs into a customizable window that has them hung up on it, and they have to stick with the native version or it goes haywire?

That would be a damn shame, because it needs love badly, and I almost always have one open, monkeying with soft synths or a sampler.
droctopu5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 07:25 AM   #14
faun2500
Human being with feelings
 
faun2500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 1,003
Default

Can we change the windows colours IN reaper yet? Mine are still white and I can change windows theme to my satisfaction.
__________________
newloops.com - Crazy deals on audio samples and sound banks!

http://bit.ly/free-sample-packs- Totally Free High Quality Sample Packs
faun2500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2018, 02:05 PM   #15
occultron
Human being with feelings
 
occultron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 45
Default

Can anyone say whether the FX Chain window still isn't editable? Such an ugly window in the middle of otherwise very themed look.
occultron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2018, 04:01 PM   #16
estsunrecords
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 23
Default

and what about small views of plugins in fx? like in studio One??
estsunrecords is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2018, 09:13 AM   #17
occultron
Human being with feelings
 
occultron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 45
Default

It's kind of amazing this still hasn't been fixed, it's a very essential window.
occultron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.